Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Educational and Psychological Testing

This guide highlights the library resources available for Educational and Psychological Tests & Measures, and Assessment and Evaluation in Education.

Find Articles

It includes information about tests. Limit results to test by selecting "Tests/Questionnaires" under Publication Type.

A database that provides access to or descriptions of published, un-published, and commercially used psychological tests, measurements, and instruments measures.

It covers literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, neuroscience, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.Use Advanced Search to locate test and measurements by Classification or Test & Measure.

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

Applied Measurement in Education

It publishes original research studies, innovative strategies for solving educational measurement problems, and integrative reviews of current approaches to contemporary measurement issues.
Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education

It is an international peer-reviewed journal which publishes papers and reports on all aspects of assessment and evaluation within higher education, particularly the contribution that these make to student learning and to course, staff and institutional development.
Educational Assessment

It publishes original research on the design, analysis and use of assessment to deepen understanding of the performance and quality of individuals, groups, and programs in educational settings.
Journal of Educational Measurement

It publishes original measurement research reflecting current issues and innovations within education broadly conceived.
Journal of Psychoeducational Assessment

It publishes contemporary and important information focusing on psychological and educational assessment research and evidence-based practices as well as assessment instrumentation.
Journal of Psychopathology and Behavioral Assessment

It publishes articles on research investigations that enhance understanding of psychopathology and mental disorders applicable to all ages, deviant or abnormal behaviors, including those related to medical conditions and trauma, and constructs descriptive of personality.
Journal of Research on Educational Effectiveness

It publishes original articles from the multidisciplinary community of researchers who are committed to applying principles of scientific inquiry to the study of educational problems.
Studies in Educational Evaluation

It publishes the empirical evaluation studies representing evaluation practice in educational systems, and the theoretical reflections and empirical studies related to issues involved in the evaluation of educational programs, educational institutions, educational personnel and student assessment.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal