Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Educational Psychology

This guide highlights the library resources available for Educational Psychology.

Find Articles

The databases listed below can be used to find journal articles and other research sources related to different aspects of Educational Psychology. You will often need to look in more than one database. The full list of databases can be accessed here.

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

Australian Journal of Educational and Developmental Psychology

A double blind peer reviewed online journal, publishing research and scholarly reports from the broad areas of educational and developmental psychology.

 

Contemporary Educational Psychology

It publishes articles that involve the application of psychological theory and science to the educational process.
Educational and Psychological Measurement

It publishes referred scholarly work from all academic disciplines interested in the study of measurement theory, problems, and issues.

Educational Psychologist

It provides scholarly essays, reviews, critiques and articles of a theoretical/conceptual nature representing all aspects of educational psychology.
Educational Psychology Review

It provides breadth of coverage appropriate to a wide readership in educational psychology and sufficient depth to inform the most learned specialists in the discipline.
European Journal of Psychology of Education

It addresses the relevant psychological aspects of educational processes embedded in different institutional, social, and cultural contexts, and which focus on diversity in terms of the participants, their educational trajectories and their socio-cultural contexts.
Journal of Educational Psychology

It publishes original, primary psychological research pertaining to education across all ages and educational levels.
Journal of School Psychology

It publishes original empirical articles and critical reviews of the literature on research and practices relevant to psychological and behavioral processes in school settings.
School Psychology Quarterly

It publishes empirical studies and literature reviews of the psychology of education and services for children in school settings.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal