Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education: Policy, Administration and Leadership

This guide highlights the library resources available in the field of Education : Policy, Administration and Leadership.

Find Articles

The databases listed below can be used to find journal articles and other research sources related to different aspects of Education : Policy, Administration and Leadership. You will often need to look in more than one database.The full list of databases can be accessed here.

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

Academic Leader

It is the monthly newsletter from Magna Publications, covers the trends, challenges, and best practices for academic leaders in higher education to help you balance these ever-evolving demands and privileges.
Academy of Management Learning & Education

It examines pressing issues in the fields of management learning and education by presenting theory, models, research, critiques, dialogues and retrospectives that address the learning process and the practice of management education.
Asia & the Pacific Policy Studies

It is a peer-reviewed journal that targets research in policy studies in Australia, Asia and the Pacific, across a discipline focus that includes economics, political science, governance, development and the environment.
Educational Administration Quarterly

It presents prominent empirical and conceptual articles focused on timely and critical leadership and policy issues facing educational organizations.
Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis

It publishes scholarly articles concerned with important issues in the formulation, implementation, and evaluation of education policy.
Educational Leadership

It publishes the articles that present a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.
Educational Management, Administration & Leadership

It is an international peer-reviewed journal which publishes original and significant contributions on educational administration, management and leadership, in its widest sense, from all over the world.
Educational Policy

It blends the best of educational research with the world of practice, making it valuable resource for educators, policy makers, administrators, researchers, teachers, and graduate students.
Educational Research for Policy and Practice

It presents research that has generated a substantive result of importance for educational policy and practice, and promotes the contribution of educational research to system-wide reforms and policy making, and to resolving specific problems facing teachers and learners at a particular level of education in the Asia-Pacific region on the other.
International Journal of Leadership in Education

It is a forum for theoretical and practical discussions of educational leadership and presents cutting-edge writing on educational leadership.
Journal of Education Policy

It publishes original, critically and theoretically informed research that discusses, analyses and debates policymaking, policy implementation and the impact of policy at all levels and in all facets of formal and informal education.
Journal of Educational Administration

It publishes research on educational administration conducted across diverse political, economic and socio-cultural contexts.
Journal of Educational Administration and History

It publishes papers that contribute to and historicise debates on educational administration, leadership, management and policy in a range of settings.
Journal of School Leadership

It is interested in manuscripts that focus on administrative leadership in schools and school districts, and inquire about teacher, student, parent, and community leadership.
Language Policy

It contains detailed accounts of promoting and managing language policy and research papers on the development, implementation and effects of language policy in all regions of the world and under different conditions.
Leadership and Policy in Schools

It provide a high-quality forum for educational researchers, practitioners and policymakers to publish analyses and research about how school leaders and educational policies utilize fiscal, material, and human resources to bring about change in education and effectiveness in schools.
Management in Education

It provides a forum for debate and discussion covering all aspects of educational management.
School Effectiveness and School Improvement

It presents information on educational effectiveness, practice and policy-making across primary, secondary and higher education.
School Leadership & Management

It is fundamentally concerned with issues of leadership and management in classrooms, schools, and school systems.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal