Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Early Childhood Education

This guide highlights the library resources available in the field of Early Childhood Education.

Find Articles

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

Child Development

It publishes articles, essays, reviews, and tutorials on various topics in the field of child development.
Children and Youth Services Review

It is an interdisciplinary forum for critical scholarship regarding service programs for children and youth. 
Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review

It provides an international, interdisciplinary forum for new developments and in-depth reviews on current thought and practices.
Early Childhood Education Journal

It analyzes issues, trends, policies, and practices for early childhood education from birth through age eight.
Early Childhood Research Quarterly

It publishes research on early childhood education and development from birth through 8 years of age.
Early Education and Development

It is a publication established as a continuing forum for research and general policy articles in the rapidly growing area of early education services for the preschool child.
Early Years: An International Research Journal

It publishes research papers and scholarly critiques on all issues associated with early childhood education and care.
International Journal of Early Childhood

The coverage spans a range of topics such as multicultural issues, children’s learning and sustainable development, recent issues in early childhood education and care and curriculum questions.
Journal of Early Childhood Research

It reflects international growth in research on young children’s learning and development and the impact of this on provision.
Journal of Early Childhood Teacher Education

It provides a forum for consideration of issues and for exchange of information and ideas about research and practice in early childhood teacher education.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal