Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comparative and International Education

This guide highlights the library resources available in the field of Comparative and International Education.

Find Articles

The databases listed below can be used to find journal articles and other research sources related to different aspects of Comparative and International Education. You will often need to look in more than one database. The full list of databases can be accessed here.

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education

It is an international peer-reviewed journal which publishes papers and reports on all aspects of assessment and evaluation within higher education, particularly the contribution that these make to student learning and to course, staff and institutional development.
Comparative Education

It is an international peer-reviewed research journal which has significantly contributed to the growing importance of comparative perspectives in the analysis of educational issues in national, international, and global contexts at all levels/sectors.
Comparative Education Review

It investigates education throughout the world and the social, economic, and political forces that shape it.
Compare : a Journal of Comparative and International Education

It seeks scholarly and critical analyses of educational discourse, policy and practice from early childhood to the end of adult life.
Globalisation, Societies and Education

It aims to fill the gap between the study of education and broader social, economic and political forces by analysing the complexities of globalisation.
Harvard Educational Review

It is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in education that provides an interdisciplinary forum for discussion and debate about education's most vital issues.
Higher Education

It is an international journal on higher education studies that examines educational developments throughout the world in universities, polytechnics, colleges, and vocational and education institutions.
International Journal of Comparative Sociology

It publishes fully peer-reviewed articles from sociologists worldwide and encourages competing perspectives.
International Journal of Educational Development

It reports new insight and foster critical debate about the role that education plays in development.
International Journal of Multicultural Education

It is a peer-reviewed open-access journal which promotes educational equity for all, cross-cultural understanding, and global awareness in all levels of education including leadership and policies.
Journal of Studies in International Education

It publishes critical scholarly peer reviewed articles from researchers and practitioners in all regions of the world contributing new insights into current and emerging concepts, theories, research and practice in the internationalization of higher education.
Multicultural Education Review

It is a peer-reviewed journal for research about diversity and equity in education.
Studies in Higher Education

It is a leading international journal publishing research-based articles dealing with higher education issues from either a disciplinary or multi-disciplinary perspective.
Teaching in Higher Education

It publishes scholarly work that critically examines and interrogates the values and presuppositions underpinning teaching, introduces theoretical perspectives and insights drawn from different disciplinary and methodological frameworks.
The Chronicle of Higher Education

It provides source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
The Journal of Higher Education

It publishes original research reporting on the academic study of higher education.
The Review of Higher Education

It provides a forum for discussion of varied issues affecting higher education.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal