Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Buddhist Studies: Databases

Find Articles

Academic Search Complete* offers an enormous collection of the most relevant full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it is the leading source of peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. It includes more than 8,800 full text journals.

Bibliography of Asian studies* contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present... In addition to entries compiled since 1997, the online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997)... Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as WorldCat." --About page.

Humanities Index* is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.

INBUDS is constructed for searching information and keywords of articles, books and journals on Indian studies and Buddhist studies mainly published in Japan.

JSTOR* provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks. 

Oxford Bibliographies. Buddhism* offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Buddhism as a diverse field which combines religion, philosophy, history, art history, philology and textual studies, as well as informing a variety of comparative studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Oxford Scholarship* contains the full text of over 1,150 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.

Project Muse* provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.

The PsycINFO Database* is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed. Includes more than 2 million records. This database is useful for searching scholarly publications on topics related to Buddhist counselling.

Web of Science* covers over 12,000 journals from 256 categories from 1900 and has direct links to full text and library holdings information. It also includes over 148,000 proceedings from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions worldwide.

*HKU only

Access electronic resources directly from a non-HKUL website, such as a publisher’s website, would not trigger the HKUL login page.  You may be asked to pay for access. By installing the browser extension or bookmarklet according to the browser you are using, you would be able to access HKUL subscribed e-resources from the publisher's website. The following videos and texts will walk you through the procedures.

A. HKUL Search Assistant (For Chrome, Firefox and Microsoft Edge)

  1. Install the extension in your web browser.
Chrome Firefox Microsoft Edge
  1. When accessing a resource from a publisher's website, click on the browser extension  and then click on 
  2. This will trigger the HKUL authentication page for login.

How to access electronic resources via HKUL authentication

B. Reload via HKUL bookmarklet (For IE and Safari)

  1. Install the bookmarklet on your web browser.  Drag this button Reload via HKUL up to your bookmarks toolbar (or right-click to save it to your favorites toolbar). 
  2. A new button appears in your toolbar, like this: 
  3. When accessing a resource from a publisher's website, click on the Reload via HKUL bookmarklet in your toolbar.  You will be prompted to authenticate with your HKU Portal/ library account.

Note: Access is only granted for HKUL subscribed resources and to eligible patrons only.

Access electronic resources directly from a non-HKUL website, such as Google Scholar, would not trigger the HKUL login page.  You may be asked to pay for access. By configuring the settings of Google Scholar, you will be able to access the HKUL subscribed e-resources. Below are the steps:

Configure settings

  1. Go to http://scholar.google.com
  2. Click on “Settings”
  3. Click on "Library Links" on the left
  4. Enter "HKU" in search box
  5. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"
  6. “Save” the settings

Search and get full text 

  1. Search Google Scholar
  2. Click "View It@HKUL" to get full text. 
     

        Note:

  • "View It@HKUL" could sometimes be hidden under “More”.  
  • Do not click on the title link.  This might take you to a website which HKUL has not taken out a subscription and, therefore, you will be asked to pay.

 

Find Images

ARTstor* is a searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

*HKU only