Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Buddhist Studies: Reference Materials

Dictionaries

Chinese Japanese Korean and Vietnamese English Dictionary (CJKV-English Dictionary) (Open Access) is a Dictionary-Database of CJKV Characters and Compounds Related to East Asian Cultural, Political, and Intellectual History. Users may do 10 searches in a 24 hour period with no charge. To search Sanskrit and other terms containing diacritics, type in the term in simple ascii.
     User ID: guest (case-sensitive)
     Password: (leaving it blank)

A Dictionary of Chinese Buddhist Terms (Print*/ Open Access) was edited by William Edward Soothill and Lewis Hodous. All the entries are in classical Chinese and the explanation is in English.

Dictionary of Pali Proper Names (Print*/ Open Access) is extremely useful for the study of Early Buddhism.

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (Open Access) was edited by Charles Muller. This is an internet based dictionary similar to Dictionary of Chinese Buddhist Terms by Soothill and Hodous, but has much more entries. If you know the Chinese Buddhist technical terms, but do not know how to translate it into English, please visit Muller’s DDB website. Users may do 10 searches in a 24 hour period with no charge. To search Sanskrit and other terms containing diacritics, type in the term in simple ascii.
     User ID: guest (case-sensitive)
     Password: (leaving it blank)

The Korean Buddhist Canon: A Descriptive Catalogue (Print*/ Open Access) was compiled by Lewis R. Lancaster in collaboration with Sung-bae Park, published in Berkeley by University of California Press in 1979. This is a catalogue of Mahayana Buddhist Sutras in Sanskrit together with Tibetan and Chinese translation. It also lists the translators and date of Chinese translation. If you know the title of a sutra in Chinese, but you don’t know how to translate it into Sanskrit, then you can find it in this catalogue.

Pali English dictionary (Print*/ Open Access) is the only largest Pali English Dictionary so far.

The Soka Gakkai Dictionary of Buddhism (Print*/ Open Access). The open access is an online version of The Soka Gakkai Dictionary of Buddhism that was published in 2002. There are more than 2,700 entries, including cross references. The dictionary does not aim to cover the entire Buddhist lexicon. Rather, it is meant as a guide for readers of Nichiren' works.

Fo guang da ci dian《佛光大辭典》(Print*/ Open Access) can be used for searching Chinese Buddhist Terms explained in traditional Chinese.

*HKU only

Find Reference Materials

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of Buddhism (Online*) was edited by Robert E. Buswell, Jr. and published in New York by Macmillan Reference USA. This encyclopedia consists of 2 volumes, describing the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. 

Encyclopaedia of Religion (Online*) was edited by Lindsay Jones (2nd ed.) and published in Detroit by Macmillan Reference USA in 2005. This Encyclopedia consists of 15 volumes.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online (Online*) consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database; articles not yet in the print Britannica; Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary (tenth edition); and: the Britannica book of the year. 

Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy (Print*) edited by Antonio S. Cua., published in London by Routledge in 2003. Serving as a gateway to Chinese thought, this resource introduces the significant historical periods of Chinese philosophy ancient and modern. All the major schools of thought are covered and their proponents, followers and critics discussed. 

Encyclopedia of religion and ethics (Print*) was edited by James Hastings, with the assistance of John A. Selbie and other scholars. Published in Edinburgh by T. & T. Clark in 1908-21. It consists of 12 volumes. 

The Internet Encyclopaedia of Philosophy (Open Access) contains a large number of papers in Buddhist and Confucian studies. 

Routledge Encyclopaedia of philosophy (Print*/ Online*) was edited by Edward Craig and published in London by Routledge. It contains over 2,000 state-of-the-art articles, covering a broad range of topics in the philosophical canon, as well as philosophy from all continents and all periods. Includes fast and flexible searching capability, over 25,000 cross-reference hyperlinks and other features.

RoutledgeCurzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism (Print*) consists of 2 volumes, edited by Yao, Xinzhong, published in London and New York by RoutledgeCurzon in 2003. 

Stanford Encyclopaedia of Philosophy (Open Access) contains a large number of papers in Buddhist and Confucian studies. 

*HKU only

Glossary

Glossary of Buddhist Terms