Skip to main content

Conservation: Research resources

Research resources to support courses offered by Division of Architectural Conservation Programme

Find Books

Find@HKUL provides one-stop search for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in HKU Libraries.

Find Journals

Find Audio-visuals

Alexander Street video brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles, including VAST: Academic Video Online, along with individual discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women's studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage becoming a collection of 22,000 full-length videos by 2013. Videos in many languages, with the majority in English; those not in English have subtitles in English. Transcripts in English.

e-Video is a project by HKU Libraries which is to send digitized streaming video to the desktop. Permission from the Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK) and Asia Television Ltd. (ATV) has been granted to digitize their programmes within HKU campus. Various HKU departments, faculties, units and centres have kindly permitted HKU Libraries to video-take and to digitize their lectures, seminars and conferences through this website.

Pidgeon digital is the online version of the Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. This continuing archive, to which new talks are being added regularly, is a unique library of contemporary attitudes. Started in 1979 by Monica Pidgeon.

Find Images

Resources on Hong Kong

Search Tips

Find Articles

Avery index to architectural periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.

International bibliography of art (IBA) covers history of art, decorative arts, museum studies, conservation - journal articles, monographs, exhibition catalogues and more.

JSTOR provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

中国建筑知识仓库 contains journals articles, newspaper articles and theses extracted from various CNKI databases which related to architecture.

To view a complete list of databases on architecture, please click here.

Click here to view a complete list of databases on all subjects.

Find Newspapers

Factiva Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.

Hong Kong newspaper clippings online provides full-text image from the original set of newspaper clippings compiled for the Department of Political Science by Dr. Norman Miners. The database comprises more than 150,000 images covering the early 1970s to 1994. Most of the topics are related to politics and government in Hong Kong and materials were primarily gathered from the South China Morning Post and the Hong Kong Standard.

Old Hong Kong Newspapers (MMIS) is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.

ProQuest historical newspapers. South China Morning Post provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

WiseNews is a database of full-text newspaper clippings with search capabilities. Hong Kong newspapers cover 1998 onwards. China, Taiwan and Macau's newspapers cover from 2000.

Find Theses

HKU theses online - As of 30 Jun. 2011, The Hong Kong University Theses Collection holds 18,973 titles of theses and dissertations submitted for higher degrees to the University of Hong Kong since 1941. The first recorded thesis was dated 1928, though all theses prior to 1941 were lost during the occupation of WWII. HKUTO includes works in the arts, humanities, education and the social, medical and natural sciences. Many of them deal entirely with or focus on subjects relating to Hong Kong. The collection is primarily in English, with some in English and Chinese, and others in Chinese only. Almost all HKU theses are included in HKUTO. Missing ones might be located in HKU departmental libraries. HKUTO now includes 18,758 fulltext electronic theses.

ProQuest dissertations and theses A&I is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

Citing Information