The HKU Scholars Hub: The ResearcherPage (RP)

  Email-a-Librarian 

(Select To: "Scholars Hub, RIMS (Research Output)" on the form)

   2241-5841

Get Infographic

ResearcherPage

A ResearchPage showcases the research outputs and activities of each HKU researcher.  Every month the Hub receives from HKU Registry a list of new staff.  The Hub Team creates a ResearcherPage for each staff with a UGC Grade A ~ I.   Researchers will be informed once the page is ready for review and further updates.

Login

1. Click on “HKU Login” on the top menu
2. Login with your HKU Portal ID and PIN. 
3. Click on the orange menu “Edit Researcher Page” on the upper right side.

Asking someone to edit your ResearcherPage

If you have a ResearcherPage and wish to ask one of your staff, for example your executive officer (EO), to make changes for you, you may set up the special password below.  After you do this, you will have 2 login methods, the existing one using the LOGIN button on the top of the page, with your HKU Portal ID. And, a new one, “Guest Login” (also at top of page). To set up this Guest Login for your EO:

1. Please go to https://hub.hku.hk/password-login.
2. Input the email address, but DO NOT enter Password or click on “Log In”.  Rather, please click on “Have you forgotten your password”.  (Note: If your RP shows 2 addresses, use the first one.)
3. The owner of the RP will receive email from the Hub with a link to define a new password. This new password should be different from the one used in HKU Portal login.
4. Please give the email address you used in this process, and the new password to your EO.
5. The EO can now click on “Guest Login” at the top of the page, login, and edit your ResearcherPage.

For problems with this process, please write to, hub@lib.hku.hk.

Manage and enrich your ResearcherPage

1.  Update the ResearcherPage

(a) Researcher can edit the following sections:

1. Profile: User may change/ add/ delete/ hide data for these elements. 

• Title(s)
• HKU Contact Details
• Variant Name(s)
• Research Interest(s)
• Curriculum Vitae
• My URL(s)
• Professional Qualifications
• Picture
• Biography (Input a URL pointing to your CV or upload the CV.  Data in your CV will not merge with the publication lists in the Hub.)

2. Selected Publications:  Choose research outputs to be placed under Selected Publications.  These will be displayed as the first item under Publications.

Once done, please click the Save Changes button.

(b)  Submit a request for changes to the original sources: 

Data in other boxes are harvested from external sources as outlined in the table below.  Researchers can hide or unhide entries.  But, to make changes, please submit a request to the original sources.  There is a green text message in every box giving instructions on how changes can be made.  An overview of these data elements is listed below:

• Data Source: Registry

Data include: Name, Honorific, Department, Telephone number, and Email  (Note: Hub Team supplements information from other sources such as Departmental web pages.)

• Data Source: HKU Portal

Data include: research outputs, grants, community service, professional societies, and knowledge exchange activities (To update, please go to HKU Portal > Self-service.  For more details, please refer to the table below.)

•  Data Source: Others

Data include HKU Committee appointments, media contact, patents, teaching list, supervision of Research Postgraduate Students, and Bibliometrics. (Please approach the respective departments in the table below.)

2.  Add pre-HKU publications

Researchers can add research outputs prior to joining HKU to the ResearcherPage.  This will showcase a comprehensive profile of their research career in the Scholars Hub.  Send the list to the Hub Team (Email: hub@lib.hku.hk).  We accept RIS format, which can be exported from databases, such as SCOPUS, Web of Science; or from reference management software, such as Endnote.  If you have questions on how to export the list, please Ask-a-Librarian. 

3.  Add full text to research outputs

Online availability of research outputs will help enhance research visibility.  There are two major types of full text:

(a) Publisher’s version:  Few publishers would allow this version to be made freely available on the web.  To facilitate access, the Hub Team will link each publication to the published version, where available.  Full-text access may require a subscription.  HKUL staff and students can use Reload via HKUL to check if the Libraries carry a subscription to that resource.

(b) Postprint:   Many publishers will allow free access to “accepted manuscripts” (or, postprint).  If you have the full text (postprint) of the item, and you know that the publisher allows us to re-post, then please send this to hub@lib.hku.hk (mailto:hub@lib.hku.hk), with a short note saying you allow it to re-appear in the Hub.  Alternatively, when you enter details of your research outputs into HKU Research Output System, please attach the files and tick the box giving the Hub permission to include them in the Hub.  The files will be uploaded to the Hub. Please refer to “Publisher Policies” and “Open Access” for more details.

Bibliometrics

1.  Publications

If an article in the Hub is tracked by SCOPUS, Web of Science, or Almetrics, the times cited or mentions will be displayed under “Supplementary” information on the left-hand column.  Please see the example with the screenshot below.

• SCOPUS is an international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. SCOPUS covers more than 24,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine, and social sciences from over 4,000 international publishers. The SCOPUS Citation Tracker records citation data year by year for a specific author or topic.
• Web of Science is a global citation database covering over 21,000 journals across 254 subject disciplines.  It includes four major citation indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
• Altmetrics are metrics and qualitative data that are complementary to traditional, citation-based metrics, like SCOPUS and Web of Science.  Some examples could include references on Wikipedia or in public policy documents; mentions in the news, blogs, and on Twitter discussions; bookmarks on reference managers like Mendeley.  These could shed light on the attention received or the influence of a publication.

2.  Author

Similar to publications, the Hub also tracks the bibliometrics of individual authors.  In the example below, you will see the times cited in SCOPUS and Web of Science for Professor Guochun Zhao.  Please refer to Author IDs to know more about how to maintain the author IDs.

Data source: HKU Portal

The following data displayed in the ResearcherPage should be updated from the HKU Portal. 

Note: The Hub Team receives daily updates from Research Information Management System (RIMS).  Data will be reviewed and updated, where appropriate.

Data Sources: Others