Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Korean Studies: Journals and Databases

Selected Journals

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most relevant full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it is the leading source of peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. It includes more than 8800 full text journals.

Bibliography of Asian studies contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present... In addition to entries compiled since 1997, the online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997)... Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as WorldCat.

Historical abstracts contains annotated bibliographic references to books, articles, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes the world's literature in history and the related topics, social sciences and humanities. Also includes in-process English-language article entries prior to their completion and inclusion in the print and CD-ROM versions.

JSTOR provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

MLA international bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

Project Muse provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.

Web of science covers over 12,000 journals from 256 categories from 1900 and has direct links to full text and library holdings information. It also includes over 148,000 proceedings from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions worldwide.

Core Databases

朝鮮王朝實錄 Annals of the Choson dynasty  is a database of annals of the Chosŏn dynasty, which comprise 1,893 books covering 472 years (1392-1863) of the history of the Chosŏn Dynasty.

DBpia* is a full text database including over 1800 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories such as economics, engineering, education, medicine, etc.Also available in English interface.

Digital National Security Archive* contains more than 35,000 of the most important declassified documents that led to policy decisions. There are 15 collections : Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis 1958-1962, Cuban Missile Crisis, El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Intelligence Community, Iran Revolution, Military Uses of Space, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation, Philippines, and South Africa. The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

East Asia Digital Library (EADL) is a portal site focusing on East Asian cultural and scientific resources. The National Library of Korea and the National Diet Library, Japan develop and operate the site collaboratively. Some resouces with scanned images, others have bibliographic data only.

KISS한국 의 핵심 지식 정보 자원* is a full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published since 1945 by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. The database includes 800,000 full-text articles and covers most of the subject areas including the Humanities, Social Science, Language and Literature.

한국의술지 인용색인 KCI (Korea citation index) provides citation information, bibliographic information and statistical data on domestic journals in Korea. It can be used for analysing the quality of journals in different subject areas.

Korean database 한국의지식콘텐츠* provides access to a collection of 267 databases of primary source materials in 11 subject categories. These include historical records, classical materials, original texts of literary works, and multimedia resources of Korean culture and fine arts. Full-text collection of Korean classical books including: history, literature, folk literature, natural history, oriental medicine, religion, myth, and other classical works.

Korean history on-line 한국역사정보통합시스템 provides integrated search services on historical materials stored at information centers in Korea. All the lists found in Korean history on-line are linked to other history websites.

*HKU only

Country Analysis

Britannica academic consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database; articles not yet in the print Britannica; Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary (tenth edition); and: the Britannica book of the year.

Economist Intelligence Unit on the Internet is a gateway to current information, analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in many countries. It contains a full-text database of subscribed EIU publications as well as an archive of weekly articles on world news and events. It also provides links to other EIU databases and information services.

EMIS (Emergin markets Internet Securities) provides full-text news and financial information sources from emerging market countries. News sources, including daily newspapers, journals, newsletters and company reports are in original languages with full English translation. Statistical data includes macroeconomic analyzes and market and currency reports.

OECDiLibrary is the publications portal of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of three sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, and Statistics. 

Passport contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for more than 210 countries worldwide.

E-News Databases

Factiva provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.

Lexis Advance Hong Kong is an online legal research platform which includes a large selection of Hong Kong, and international legal sources, news, and business information products and solutions for professionals and students.

Statistics

KOSIS (Korean Statistical Information System) is Korea's extensive national statistical database. Presents national and international statistics arranged by subject or source, and are searchable by keyword or subject. Includes information on population, agriculture, crime, transportation, and more. Includes comparative economic and social indicators of South and North Korea, online publications of statistical data, alphabetical and subject glossary, news about recent publications, and links to other institutions' statistical databases. Some information in English.

PACAP databases* tracks capital markets data for eight Pacific-Basin countries on a continuous and systematic basis. The eight countries are Hong Kong, Indonesia, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand and Taiwan. It contains extensive information on all listed companies from each country's major stock exchange including: daily security prices and returns, capital distributions, financial statements, market indices and returns, and economic statistics. The PACAP Databases are a compilation of historical data beginning in 1975 and continuing through to the present.

Statistics Korea provides national statistical service for Korea. The information is on provincial level.

*HKU only