Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Urban Design: Research Resources

This guide is created to support the Master of Urban Design programme

Find Books

Find@HKUL provides one-stop search for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in HKU Libraries.

E-book Collection

Below is a list of e-book collections that you can find urban design titles:

 

Journals

Find Audio-visuals

Alexander Street video brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles, including VAST: Academic Video Online, along with individual discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women's studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage becoming a collection of 22,000 full-length videos by 2013. Videos in many languages, with the majority in English; those not in English have subtitles in English. Transcripts in English.

Pidgeon digital is the online version of the Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. This continuing archive, to which new talks are being added regularly, is a unique library of contemporary attitudes. Started in 1979 by Monica Pidgeon.

Find Images

Search Tips

Find Articles

Avery index to architectural periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.

Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most relevant full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it is the leading source of peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. It includes more than 8800 full text journals.

ICONDA includes the worldwide literature in all fields of building construction, construction engineering, architecture and town planning. Most citations include abstracts.

JSTOR provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

Sage journals online is a searchable database for abstracts and table of contents of all Sage published journals. Also provide full text access to the subscribed titles.

ScienceDirect contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Taylor and Francis Online contains more than 1,300 titles in humanities, social sciences and applied sciences.

Wiley online library is an online service from John Wiley & Sons containing over 300 scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals.

中国城市规划知识仓库 contains journals articles, newspaper articles and theses extracted from various CNKI databases which related to city planning.

 

To view a complete list of databases on architecture, please click here.

Find Theses

Digital dissertation consortium 數位化論文典藏聯盟 contains more than 35,000 dissertation from the ProQuest dissertations and theses subscribed by the consortium.

HKU theses online - As of 30 Jun. 2011, The Hong Kong University Theses Collection holds 18,973 titles of theses and dissertations submitted for higher degrees to the University of Hong Kong since 1941. The first recorded thesis was dated 1928, though all theses prior to 1941 were lost during the occupation of WWII. HKUTO includes works in the arts, humanities, education and the social, medical and natural sciences. Many of them deal entirely with or focus on subjects relating to Hong Kong. The collection is primarily in English, with some in English and Chinese, and others in Chinese only. Almost all HKU theses are included in HKUTO. Missing ones might be located in HKU departmental libraries. HKUTO now includes 18,758 fulltext electronic theses.

ProQuest dissertations and theses A&I is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

Citing Information