Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guide for MBA Students

Welcome to HKU Libraries! This guide provides MBA students access to information resources and services available from the HKU Libraries and other free resources.

Subscribed Electronic Resources

The resources are subscribed by the HKU Libraries and can be accessed by your HKU Portal UID and PIN.

1. Country Analysis User guide

Business source complete

(After login to the database, search by country and limit to Country Reports)

EBSCO training videos
The Economist Intelligence Unit on the Internet (selected countries)  EIU tutorials
EMIS Emerging markets Internet securities User guide
IMD World Competitiveness Online  
OECDiLibrary User guide
Oxford Economics  
Web CEIC Data Manager  Start guide
CNKI 中國年鑑全文數據庫   
搜数 Soshoo : 中国统计数据专家  

For more resources on Country information, please look at: Country Information

 

2. Industry/ Market Information on a product or service User guide
Business source complete EBSCO training videos
BCC Research: Market research reports and technical publications  
EMIS Emerging markets Internet securities User guide
Gartner   
IBISWorld China (China reports only) Help center
Oriana User guide
Passport User guide
SPEEDA (M&A data) (Obtain username and password) FAQ
中國資訊行 China InfoBank  Online guide

 

3. Company Information User guide

Capital IQ (Obtain username and password)

Individual login can be arranged for full-time teaching/research staff and students of Faculty of Business and Economics, please contact the Social Sciences, Business and Economics Librarian (ckitman@hku.hk) for further details. Unauthorized use (such as for commercial purposes), access will be terminated without further notice.

Help
D&B Hoovers D&B Hoovers Learning Center

Business source complete

(After login to the database, click 'Company Information' on the top toolbar for searching)

EBSCO training videos
Company Profiles from Business source complete (by MarketLine)  
ESG manager on campus Online help
Oriana User guide
Passport User guide

For resources on Company annual reports, please look at: Company Annual Reports

 

4. Trade Statistics

User guide
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database  
WTO iLibrary User Guide

 

5. News Articles

User guide
Factiva (International newspapers) User guide
WiseNews (Chinese newspapers) WiseSearch User guide
Regional business news EBSCOhost online tutorials
SIRS knowledge source User guide
Taiwan news smart web User guide
中國資訊行 China InfoBank Online guide
The Economist historical archive (Year 1843-2015)  
Financial times historical archive (Year 1888-2010)  

For resources on Newspapers, please look at: Newspapers

 

6. Articles (magazines, trade journals, academic journals)

User guide
EconLit EBSCOhost online tutorials
Business source complete EBSCO training videos
ProQuest  User guide
Emerald Insight User guide

 

7. Financial Information User guide

Capital IQ (Obtain username and password)

Individual login can be arranged for full-time teaching/research staff and students of Faculty of Business and Economics, please contact the Social Sciences, Business and Economics Librarian (ckitman@hku.hk) for further details. Unauthorized use (such as for commercial purposes), access will be terminated without further notice.

Help
CSMAR國泰安數據庫 (selected datasets)
Genius Finance 巨灵财经金融服务平台 (previous title: GTIOne) Help Center
Datastream at PC83 Level 3, Main Library  
I/B/E/S guidance   
International financing review: IFR (Obtain username and password)  
International offshore financial centres  
Orbis Bank Focus  Guide
Risk.net  
SDC Platinum at PC82 Level 3, Main Library (Access to three databases: Global New Issues, Mergers & Acquisitions and Joint Ventures)
SNL Financial (Obtain username and password)  
Refinitiv Eikon (Obtain username and password)
Wharton Research Data Services WRDS (HKU Faculty, research assistants and higher degree students can register to apply for a personal account at WRDS login page; Please note we do not subscribe to all datasets that are available from WRDS)
WIND Financial Terminal at PC84 Level 3, Main Library  

Bloomberg Terminal at Bloomberg Lab (Only for current staff and students of HKU Business School)

 

 

8. Case Study

User  guide
Emerald emerging markets case studies User guide
Business source complete
(After login to the database, search by Case Study and Limit to Full text)
EBSCO training videos

 

9.  Research Papers/ Conference Papers

User  guide
SSRN: Economics research network  FAQ
SSRN: Financial economics network FAQ
SSRN: Management research network  FAQ
SSRN: Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) Research Paper Series (open access)  
CEPR Discussion Papers (Centre for Economic Policy Research (Great Britain))  
NBER working paper series (National Bureau of Economic Research (fulltext embargo: 3 years))  

For more electronic resources, please check HKUL Electronic Resources page: