Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Orientation for HKU SPACE International College & Community College Students: In-depth Search

Getting Started Guide for HKU SPACE International College and Community College students

Databases for HKU SPACE Students

Electronic Resources HKU SPACE

  • To find subject-specific information, you are recommended to use subject-specific databases.
  • HKU SPACE students holding a Library Borrower Card can remote access to a selected collection of electronic resources.
  • The list of electronic resources is available here.

NOTE: Access to these resources may be changed by the University Libraries without prior notice.

In-depth Search

Example:

Find research articles from a multi-disciplinary database

Topic:

Heat waves

1. Devise search statement

 

Social media

Marketing

Related terms

Hot weather
High temperature
Thermal extremes

Global warming
Climate extremes
Temperature effects
Weather extremes

Search statement: ("heat waves" or "high temperature") AND ("global warming" or "temperature extremes")

2. Access a multi-disciplinary database

HKUL hompage > Electronic Resources > Key databases > ProQuest  > Advanced Search

3. Search

(a) Enter search terms.

(b) Select boolean operator.

(c) Select a search field.

(d) Click the Search button.

4. Refine results

You can filter your search results with the facets to the left. The results can be refined by a specific category (e.g. Peer-viewed, Scholarly journals, Source type, Publication date, Publication title etc.)

In this example, try to refine by:

  • Peer reviewed
  • Publication date: starting year 2010
  • Publication title: Climatic Change
  • Select: Changes in weather and climate extremes: phenomenology and empirical approaches

5. Evaluate results

Is this article relevant?

(a) Click "Abstract/Details" to evaluate the article.

(b) Check below fields to evaluate the articles:

(i) Subject: describe the subject matter of the article

(ii) Abstract: provides a short summary of the article

6. Get articles

(a) If the full text is available, click "Full text-PDF" to view the article.

(b) If there is no full text available, click "FIND@HKUL" icon for a full text match. It will direct you to check library holdings.

Back to TOP

Four easy ways to find related results

Select a relevant record from your results list

1. References: A bibliography listing all the works the author has made use of.  A source for additional background reading.

2. Cited by: Works that have cited the article. Important works in general are cited more often.

3. Documents with shared references: Works that have cited the same sources. The more shared references, the more likely they are relevant.

4. Subject heading: Focus your results on the relevant subject(s) to find other highly relevant works, e.g. "Meteorology".

Back to TOP

Search Tips

Booleans

  • And -- combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms.

e.g., travel and Europe finds results that contain both travel and Europe.

  • Or -- combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms.

e.g., college or university finds results that contain either college or university.

  • Not  -- excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it.

e.g., television not cable finds results that contain television but not cable.

Wildcard 

  • Wildcard (?) or (#) -- Replace each unknown character within a word

e.g., ne?t to find all resuls containing neat, nest or next.

Truncation

  • Truncation(*) -- Find all forms of ending of a word

e.g. comput* to find the words computer or computing.

Back to TOP