Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Studies: Databases

Country analysis

EBSCOhost research databases includes databases available from EBSCOhost, such as Academic Search premier, ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials, Business Source Complete, CIHAHL Plus, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MAS Ultra-School Edition, Primary search, ERIC, Serials directory, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and EBSCO Animals.

Europa world: the Europa world year book online presents political and economic information on countries and territories as well as international organizations. Features statistical data and directories.

OECDiLibrary is the publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of three sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, and Statistics. OECD, based in Paris, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres.

Web CEIC data manager contains macro economic data. The database includes national accounts, production and productivity, sales, orders, inventories and shipments, construction and properties, government finance and debt, labour market, consumer, inflation, monetary, interest rates and FOREX, investment, price, tourism, economic surveys, transport and telecommunication, financial and capital market etc. Times-series can be directly retrieved from the database and imported into Excel for quick analysis.

E-News Databases

AllAfrica.com posts over 1000 stories daily in English and French, as well offering a 900,000-article searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). This database aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources.

Factiva provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. 

ProQuest newspapers. International newsstand provides a collection of more than 700 of the world's top newspapers and wire feeds.

To view a complete list of E-News Collection, please click here.

E-video Databases

Alexander Street video brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles, including VAST: Academic Video Online, along with individual discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women's studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage becoming a collection of 22,000 full-length videos by 2013.

Ethnographic video online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior - more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles. A core collection for use across the curriculum - from introductory anthropology and sociology courses to advanced interdisciplinary courses in women's studies, economics, and international studies.

Subject Specific Databases

20th century African-American poetry contains works by more than 100 poets, including Audre Lorde, Langston Hughes, Rita Dove, and emerging poets. Biographical profiles accompany each poet's work.

African-American poetry provides full text of almost 3,000 poems written between 1760 and 1900.

African writers series was established in 1962, with the aim of publishing works by black African authors for a general readership in newly independent African nations. It went on to become the principal publishing outlet for new African writing, covering mainly fiction, but also non-fiction, poetry and drama; all the major African authors of the post-independence period were published in the AWS, alongside new editions of classic earlier texts, important political writings, and new works by generations of young authors from the 1960s to the early 21st century.

Art full text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes adatabase-specific thesaurus.

ARTstor contains digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. It covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

Empire online. Section V, Race, class, imperialism and colonialism, 1607-2007 is part of Empire online, the electronic collection of material reproduced from manuscripts and printed sources reflecting the development of the British Empire. The material in this section reflects the shift in attitudes from the early colonial period to decolonisation, including attitudes towards and of indigenous cultures.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports 1941-1996 is the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence"--Readex

JSTOR provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

Nineteenth century collections online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location. The archives of Europe and Africa: commerce, Christianity, civilization and conquest provides an in-depth look into the motivations, activities, and results of the European conquest of Africa in the nineteenth century.

Oxford bibliographies. African studies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Slavery, abolition and social justice, 1490-2007 documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

South Africa: the making of U.S. Policy, 1962-1989 is one of the sub unit inside the Digital National Security Archive database. These documents provides a contemporary record of changing U.S. responses to historical events in South Africa from 1962 to 1989, spanning from the arrest of Nelson Mandela to his release.