Skip to main content

Electronic resources go mobile: Major databases

Introduce to users how to access to subscribed and free medical resources by using mobile devices

Index to Titles by Categories

AccessEmergency Medicine

AccessEmergencyMedicine

 

Allows users to quickly search the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency cases with videos, detailed emergency procedures, an extensive image library, and more than a dozen emergency medicine textbooks.


Platform: iPhone, Google’s Android, and BlackBerry Bold.


Access instructions:  You must get a personal profile first if you haven't setup one for AccessMedicine or AccessPharmacy. Follow the steps below:

1. Visit AccessEmergencyMedicine

at http://goo.gl/64nOv by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU. Uportal authorization will be required if you are outside the campus.

 

2. Click the "My AccessEM" link in the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal profile.

 

3. Once complete, visit AccessEmergencyMedicine Mobile

at http://goo.gl/90wfu on your mobile device and log in with the username and password you just created.

Back to TOP

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine

 

Provides access to more than 60 medical titles including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine and Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatement, frequently updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to mobile devices.


Platform: iPhone, Google’s Android, and BlackBerry Bold.


Access instructions:  You must get a personal profile first if you haven't setup one for AccessEmergency Medicine or AccessPharmacy. Follow the steps below:

1. Visit  AccessMedicine at http://goo.gl/mrYTs by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU. Uportal authorization will be required if you are outside the campus.


2. Click the "My AccessMedicine" link in the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal profile.


3. Once complete, visit AccessMedicine Mobile at http://goo.gl/8hOIX on your mobile device and log in with the username and password you just created.

Back to TOP

AccessPediatrics

AccessPediatrics

 

 

It is an integrated online resources that provides a broad range of content covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine.

Platform: iPhone, Google’s Android, and BlackBerry Bold.

Access instructions:  You must get a personal profile first if you haven't setup one for Access collection from McGraw Hill.

Follow the steps below:

1. Visit  AccessPediatrics at http://goo.gl/rn8ZWK  by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU. Uportal authorization will be required if you are outside the campus.

2. Click the "My AccessPeds" tab in the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal profile.

3. Once complete, visit http://m.accesspediatrics.com/ on your mobile device and log in with the username and password you just created.

Back to TOP

AccessPharmacy

AccessPharmacy

 

 

Allows selection by core curriculum topic, browsing by organ system, review of textbooks, or searching across leading pharmacy online references.


Platform: iPhone, Google’s Android, and BlackBerry Bold.


Access instructions:  You must get a person profile first if you haven't setup one for AccessEmergency Medicine or AccessMedicine. Follow the steps below:

 

1. Visit AccessPharmacy at http://goo.gl/PSkvt by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU. Uportal authorization will be required if you are outside the campus.

 

2. Click the "My AccessPharmacy" link in the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal profile.

 

3. Once complete, visit AccessPharmacy Mobile at http://goo.gl/Jdrkd on your mobile device and log in with the username and password you just created.

Back to TOP

Essential Evidence Plus

Essential Evidence Plus (EE+)

 

 

It delivers evidence-based clinical decision support for the point of care.


Platform: iPhoneTM, iPod Touch®, AndroidTM, Blackberry®, and other Smartphones.


Access instructions:  The EE+ website at http://goo.gl/ylqoz has been enhanced to fit your mobile screen and is included as part of our subscription.

Back to TOP

JamaEvidence

JamaEvidence

 

Includes full content from the second edition of Users’ Guides to the Medical Literature and Rational and Clinical Examination, as well as education guides, a glossary of EBM terms and definitions, calculators, worksheets, and other tools to aid in understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses.

Platform: iPhone, Google’s Android, and BlackBerry.

 

Access instructions:  You must get a personal profile first. Follow the steps below:

1. Visit JamaEvidenceat

http://goo.gl/cS1VM by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU. Uportal authorization will be required if you are outside the campus.

2. Click the "My JamaEvidence""link in the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal profile.


3. Once complete, visit JamaEvidence Mobile at http://goo.gl/Umr5q on your mobile device and log in with the username and password you just created.

Back to TOP

MD Consult

MD Consult

 

Full-text information for a broad range of medical specialties. The Core Collection consists of reference books, practice guidelines, journal articles, drug references, medical news, and patient education resources. Also includes “Clinical Topic Tours” and “Case of the Week” for medical students and residents.


Platform: iPhone, Google’s Android, and BlackBerry.  You must get a personal profile first.


Access instructions:  Follow the steps below:

1. Visit MD Consult at http://goo.gl/VRXC3 by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU. Uportal authorization will be required if you are outside the campus.

2. Click the "Create Account" link in the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal profile.


3. Once complete, visit MD Consult Mobile at http://m.mdconsult.com/ on your mobile device and log in with the username and password you just created.

Back to TOP

Springer Protocols

Springer Protocols

 

It includes more than 18,000 of tried and tested protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. The database is browsable in 15 broad subject collections.

Platform: iPhone, Google’s Android, and BlackBerry.

Access instructions:  You must get a personal account first.

Follow the steps below:

1. Visit  Springer protocols at http://goo.gl/ayJSQm by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU. Uportal authorization will be required if you are outside the campus.

2. Click the "My Account" link in the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal profile.

3. Once complete, visit Springer protocols at http://m.springerprotocols.com/ on your mobile device and log in with the username and password you just created. If you see "Logout" on the right upper corner, it means that you have successfully logged in.

Back to TOP

BMJ Best Practice

BMJ Best Practice App Store (HK store only)

at http://goo.gl/ami3b

 

This point of care resource combines the latest medical research, evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.


Platform: iPad, iPhone & iPod Touch.  


How to use the App: You must download the “Best Practice” app from the App Store and create a personal login.  To create your personal login,  follow the steps below:

1. Visit Best Practice at http://goo.gl/pAZhD by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU. Uportal authorization will be required if you are outside the campus.


2. Click the "Register" link in the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal profile. Registration is required every 6 months.


3. Once complete, open Best Practice App on your mobile device, click on ‘Settings’ (iPhone, iPod Touch) or ‘Subscriptions’ (iPad) to go to the 'Account' page


4. Login with your My Best Practice account username and password

5. ‘All topics’ will automatically begin to download. Downloading images is then recommended over a good WiFi connection.

Back to TOP

CINAHL Plus (via Ebscohost)

CINAHL Plus (via Ebscohost)

App Store at http://goo.gl/WJGhF

Covers the research literature in alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship, nursing, and 17 allied health disciplines. More than 3,000 journals in nursing and allied health are indexed, with citations from 1937 to the present.

 

Platform: iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, BlackBerry, Android Smartphones, Windows Smartphones, Dell Axim, Palm, Pocket PC.  You must obtain a serial number first. The validity of this serial number is 9 months. If you are an iphone or an Android user, follow the steps below. Other smartphone users please visit HERE at

http://www.ebscohost.com/schools/mobile-access

for more instructions.


How to use the App:

1. Visit Ebscohost at http://goo.gl/26UYf7

by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU

 

2. Click the "EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications" link on the bottom left, and follow instructions to email yourself the download instructions, access key and a link to the App store. The email address supplied must end with hku.hk

Back to TOP

DynaMed

DynaMed App Store http://goo.gl/xZPZD

It is a clinical tool that provides summaries for 3,000 disease and condition topics. Updated daily, it includes 800 drug summaries from AHFS, plus calculators for math, statistics, by specialty and more.


Platform: Android, BlackBerry, iPhone, iPad and iPod touch


How to use the App:

1. Obtain a DynaMed serial number first by sending an email to dynamedsupport@ebscohost.com using your HKU email address.  You will receive a the serial number ranging from 2 to 36 hours.


2. Create a Skyscape account on a computer before downloading DynaMed.


3. Steps to create a Skyscape account:

a. Go to Skyscape at http://goo.gl/PT13w

b. Click on “My Account” and then ""Create Account"" to complete the registration form.


4.Download the Skyscape App from the "App Store" or "Play Store" on your mobile device. BlackBerry users please visit HERE at

http://goo.gl/fjO4M

5.Launch Skyscape on your mobile device


6.Tap done


7.Tap "Tools" and then “Install Resources”.


8. Enter your Skyscape account username to the "E-mail Address" field and Skyscape password to the "Password" field. Type the DynaMed Serial Number on the "Skyscape Serial Number" field. Click continue. Make sure that DynaMed is checked. Click "Register and Download"


9.Download the DynaMed app.

Back to TOP

ebrary

ebrary App Store http://goo.gl/WCPN1

 

 

Ebrary contains over 70,000 e-books from many publishers and covers many disciplines including medicine, life sciences, social science, psychology, education, computers/IT and more.


Platform: iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch.


How to use the App:  You must setup an Ebrary and an Adobe Digital Editions account first. Follow the steps below:


1. Download Ebrary App from the App store

 

2. Visit ebrary at http://goo.gl/mSfwm

 

by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU

 

3. Follow the directions to create a personal profile

 

4. Create an Adobe Digital Editions account at http://goo.gl/BiCIG

5. Follw the directions to setup an account

6. Once complete, open the App and log in with the username and password you just created. A book can be checked out for 13 days 23 hours.

Back to TOP

App: First Consult

First Consult App Store

at http://goo.gl/zJhmC

 

First Consult is a point of care tool that covers most major internal medicine topics (over 700) as well as topics in related subspecialties. Each topic (disease/condition) includes background, diagnosis, treatment and management. It also includes a differential Dx section for each.


Platform: iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch. It allows the full content to be stored on your therefore, users do not need to have online computer access, Wi-Fi, or a 3G/4G data connection. A data connection is required for the initial content download and content updates, but is not required to use the app itself – making First Consult's contents available anytime, anywhere.


How to use the App:  You must get a person profile first. You can use your MD Consult account.  If you do not have any, please follow the steps below:


1. Visit First Consult at http://goo.gl/0lpx2 by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU.


2. Click the "Create Account" link on the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal profile.


3. Once complete, download “First Consult” from the App Store.


4. Launch the First Consult App on your mobile device.


5. Choose “I use First Consult and know my username”. Enter your account detail to access the licensed content.

Back to TOP

Informa

Informa

 

 

Access the full text of over 700 pharmaceutical and medical titles.


Platform: iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch and Android mobile devices. You must pair your mobile device wtih HKU's subscriptions in order to access full-text resources. iOS users please follow the steps below:


How to use the App:

1. Visit Informa at http://goo.gl/gzxQ7 on your Safari Browser.

 

2. Tap on the arrow icon (found either next to the URL at the top your screen or towards the bottom of your device).

 

3. Tap on the selection ‘Add to Home Screen’.

 

4. Tap the ‘Add’ button – The "IHC Mobile icon" will now appear on your desktop. Tapping this  icon will open the web app for future visits to Informa at http://goo.gl/pDyMH

 

5. Obtain a Passcode from your desktop PC at here at http://goo.gl/h0uHL

 

6. Tap the "IHC Mobile icon" on the desktop of your mobile device

 

7. Tap the "setting" icon

 

8. Choose "Device Pairing"

 

9. Input your obtained Passcode

 

10. The Passcode will also be linked with your institution's subscriptions for a period of 30 days, after which you will need to re-register your mobile device.

 

Note: Informahealth includes library's non-subscribed titles. Informa will ask you for "Pairing" again if you want to view the full text of these titles. You should check the library catalogue also because we may have a copy via other vendors.

 

Back to TOP

Medical Letter

Medical Letter App Store http://goo.gl/qyVdK

  

Includes access to Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter, Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, Drugs of Choice Handbook, and the Adverse Drug Interactions database from your mobile device.

Platform: iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch, Android, and Kindle Fire.

How to use the App:

You must setup a personal account with Medical Letter first. Follow the steps below:
1. Visit Medical letter at :http://goo.gl/yPGCS by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU

2. Click on the icon "Mobile Apps" on the left hand side of the page.

3. Complete the registation form to create a personal profile

A note to remember: the password must be 6 or more characters special characters, ($,&,#,+,*, etc.) will not be accepted

4. Dowload the App from App Store or Google Playstore on your device. After the App has been installed, log in with your newly created username and password.

Back to TOP

Micromedex (Drug)

 

Micromedex (Drug)

App Store (US only) at http://goo.gl/ZWcwL

 

 The MICROMEDEX® Healthcare Series provides web-based desktop access to full-text drug information. Its knowledge bases include DRUGDEX®, DRUG-REAX®, POISINDEX®, INDENTIDEX®, EMERGINDEX®, PDR®, Index Nominum, and many more drug and toxicology information systems.


Platform: iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Android Smartphones.


How to use the App: Micromedex Drug, Micromedex Drug Interaction and IV Incompatibility are free for HKU population.  However, Drug Interaction and IV Incompatibility can only be downloaded via the US App store. If you want to download this App, please enquire at the counter of the Medical Library in person.

Back to TOP

SpringerImages

 SpringerImages

It provides over 3 millions photos, graphs, histograms, tables, and videos from Springer's e-book collection and journals in the area of biomedicine, life sciences, medicine & public health, and pharmacy.

Platform: iPhone, iPod touch.


How to use the App:

You must setup a personal profile with SpringerImages first.

Follow the steps below:

1. Visit SpringerImages at http://goo.gl/xlwk7j by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU. Uportal authorization will be required if you are outside the campus.

2. Click the "REGISTER" tab on the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal account. You will receive an email confirmation after the registration is completed.


3. Download the App from the App Store on your device. After the App has been installed, start the App and click "Account" in the bottom right. Log in with your newly created username and password.

Back to TOP

VisualDx

VisualDx App store; Play store

It aids in the identification of dermatology, infectious, genetic, metabolic, nutritional and occupational diseases, benign and malignant growths, drug-induced conditions, and other injuries. The system allows physicians to search by diagnosis, build a patient specific differential, or look up drug-induced adverse reactions by medication.

Platform: iPad, iPhone and Android devices.

How to use the App:

You must setup a personal profile with VisualDx first.

Follow the steps below:

1.Visit VisualDx at : http://goo.gl/aObVo by using a non-mobile browser from within the IP range of HKU. Uportal authorization will be required if you are outside the campus.

2.Click on the icon "Get VisualDx Mobile" in the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal account.

3.Complete the registration form to create a personal profile.

4.Dowload the App from the "App Store" or "Play store" on your device. After the App has been installed, log in with your newly created username and password.

Back to TOP

Do you need help?