Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sources of Hong Kong Law: Basic Law

Readings

Basic Law materials can be found in several locations in the Libraries. The Law Library holds a Basic Law collection, located on the 2nd floor of the Cheng Yu Tung Tower; some unique primary materials can also be found in the Special Collections, located on the 1st floor, New Wing of the Main Library.

To search for resources from HKU Libraries, check Find@HKUL > Advanced Search > Set Field = Subject

 

Type "Hong Kong", "Basic Law" to display a list of relevant copies.

Basic Law official website 基本法網站

Chinese version & English version of the Basic Law full text can be downloaded from this official site, http://www.basiclaw.gov.hk  which also contains useful downloadable reference materials, press release, speeches, multimedia resources and the Interpretation on the Basic Law and Decisions by the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress related to Basic Law.

Basic Law Drafting History Online (BLDHO) 香港基本法草擬過程資料庫

The Libraries’ digital initiative Basic Law Drafting History Online (BLDHO) is an online resource providing information and materials from the drafting history of Hong Kong's constitution, The Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. BLDHO is a joint project of the Centre for Comparative and Public Law and the HKU Libraries.

How to access BLDHO?

  1. Begin from the Libraries Homepage > HKUL Digital Initiatives > Basic Law Drafting History Online
  2. You can search either by keywords, title, author or BLDHO serial no.; alternatively, first-time users may find it easier to browse by author, date, draft text or official body.

Four databases are currently available for free public access, they are:

 

Basic Law Library 基本法圖書館

The Basic Law Library located at the 5/F of City Hall Public Library. It is basically a reference library aiming to serve the general public. The Basic Law Library stocks materials such as books, journals, multimedia information, CD-ROMs, online databases and newspaper clippings. It now has a collection of about 17,600 items of reference materials.

Searching Basic Law Collection via the Library's Online Public Access Catalogue,