Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Urban Planning: Journals and Databases

Top Journals in Urban Studies

Journal of planning education and research The Journal of urban technology.
Rank  Journal Title Impact
Factor
1 Journal of Planning Education and Research 7.217
2 Landscape and urban planning 6.142
3 Cities 5.835
4 Journal of Urban Technology 5.465
5 Habitat International 5.369
6 Urban Geography 4.732
7 Urban Studies 4.663
8 Journal of Planning Literature 4.621
9 Urban Forestry & Urban Greening 4.537
10 European Urban and Regional Studies 4.490
11 Urban Education 4.382
12 International Journal of Urban and Regional Research 4.364
13 Planning Theory & Practice 3.962
14 Housing Theory & Society 3.744
15 Journal of Urban Economics 3.637
16 Environment & planning. B, Urban Analytics and City Science. 3.619
17 International Journal of Housing Policy 3.612
18 Housing Studies 3.516
19 Real Estate Economics 3.418
20 Journal of Urban Affairs 3.377
21 European Planning Studies 3.269
22 Environment and Urbanization 3.200
23 Urban Affairs Review 3.032
24 Journal of the American Planning Association 2.830
25 Regional Science and Urban Economics 2.613
26 Local Environment 2.496
27 International Regional Science Review 2.477
28 Urban Policy and Research 2.448
29 Journal of Housing and the Built Environment 2.414
30 Urban Research & Practice 2.400
31 Housing Policy Debate 2.360
32 International Journal of Urban Sciences 2.242
33 Journal of Urban Planning and Development 2.000
34 City & Community 1.722
35 Journal of Housing Economics 1.705
36 Economic Development Quarterly 1.696
37 Urban Design International 1.564
38 Journal of Contemporary Ethnography 1.547
39 Journal of Real Estate Finance and Economics 1.479
40 Eure-Revista Latinoamericana de Estudios Urbano Regionales 1.222
41 Education and Urban Society 1.207
42 Journal of Urban History 0.518
43 Open House International 0.283

Source: Extracted from InCites Journal Citation Reports, 2020 JCR Social Science Edition

Core Databases

Avery index to architectural periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.

Construction & building abstracts provides premier source of civil engineering and building journal abstracts on the web. It contains over 115 top worldwide journals covering a wide range of subjects including: civil, structural, mechanical and electrical engineering; architecture; planning; building and the built environment; materials and energy. The total number of articles indexed is over 100,000, dating back to 1985.

Geobase is a bibliographic database for physical and human geography, ecology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. It provides invaluable coverage from over 2,000 primary journals in addition to books, monographs, reports, theses and it also includes unique records published in Elsevier's Geographical abstracts (both physical and human), Geological abstracts, Ecological abstracts and International development abstracts. Oceanographic literature review has been recently added to the database.

GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

ICONDA : the CIB international construction database is a bibliographic database of the International Council for Building Research, Studies, and Documentation (CIB). It covers the worldwide literature on all areas of building construction, civil engineering, architecture, and town planning.

ScienceDirect contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

中国城市规划知识仓库 covers journals articles, newspaper articles and theses extracted from various CNKI databases which are related to city planning.

To view a complete list of databases, please click here.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most relevant full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it is the leading source of peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. It includes more than 8800 full text journals.

JSTOR Provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

ProQuest includes periodicals and newspapers articles from over 5,000 publications in various subject disciplines, with many in full text.

Web of science covers over 12,000 journals from 256 categories from 1900 and has direct links to full text and library holdings information. It also includes over 148,000 proceedings from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions worldwide.

中國期刊全文數據庫 contains more than 10000 Chinese journals with full text. They are categorized into 10 subsets.

Related Databases

LandScan global population database Updated annually, LandScan is a population dataset developed by the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. It uses spatial data and imagery analysis technologies and a multi-variable dasymetric modeling approach to disaggregate census counts within an administrative boundary. It is the finest resolution global population distribution data available and represents an ambient population (average over 24 hours).

OECDiLibrary The publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of three sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, and Statistics. OECD, based in Paris, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres.

Web CEIC data manager Contains macro economic data. Includes national accounts, production and productivity, sales, orders, inventories and shipments, construction and properties, government finance and debt, labour market, consumer, inflation, monetary, interest rates and FOREX, investment, price, tourism, economic surveys, transport and telecommunication, financial and capital market etc. Times-series can be directly retrieved from the database and imported into Excel for quick analysis.

E-News Databases

Factiva provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.

Hong Kong newspaper clippings online provides full-text image from the original set of newspaper clippings compiled for the Department of Political Science by Dr. Norman Miners. The database comprises more than 150,000 images covering the early 1970s to 1994. Most of the topics are related to politics and government in Hong Kong and materials were primarily gathered from the South China Morning Post and the Hong Kong Standard.

WiseNews is a database of full-text newspaper clippings with search capabilities. Hong Kong newspapers cover 1998 onwards. China, Taiwan and Macau's newspapers cover from 2000.