Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learning legal rules : a students' guide to legal method and reasoning by
Call Number: KA55 H73
Publication Date: 7th ed. 2010
Bringing together the theory, structure, and practice of legal reasoning in an accessible style, this book explains how to uncover and exploit the mysteries of legal materials. It draws the student into the techniques of legal analysis and argument and the operation of precedent and statutory interpretation.
Legal research : a practitioner's handbook by
Call Number: KL155 C64 l4
Publication Date: 2010
Provides practical advice on every aspect of effective legal research: problem analysis, selecting and finding the best sources, and presenting results effectively.
Thinking like a lawyer: how to thrive in law school and beyond by
Call Number: KL131 Z63
Publication Date: 2015
An essential guide for those starting out on their study of law. Drawing on a wealth of sources, it shares key tips on how to stay afloat in an ocean of legal texts. The volume answers the crucial questions facing first and second-year law students: What is close reading? What does thinking critically mean? How can you analyse a problem efficiently and effectively? It takes you step-by-step through the process of acquiring the skills you will need to get the most out of your law studies. The book also contains a handy Short Guide to Survival, which contains crucial advice for new law students.
Writing law dissertations : an introduction and guide to the conduct of legal research by
Call Number: KL155 S17
Publication Date: 2007
This book shows the reader how to research and write a dissertation, covering the various stages -- planning, identifying key issues, utilising the appropriate research methods, time management issues, and managing one's supervision. This book covers legal dissertation level research, embracing both LL.B. (undergraduate) and the specific demands of LL.M. dissertations.
Foundations of legal research and writing by
Call Number: 340.072 B3
Publication Date: 4th ed. 2010
Real life examples, and sample documents serve as a resource for anyone who has to perform legal research or draft legal documents. A complete chapter is devoted to computer-assisted legal research written by an expert in the field.
How to cite legal authorities by
Call Number: R K114 F87
Publication Date: 1996
This book deals with a simple problem that affects all lawyers, whether practising or in training. This book claims to show how to write the citation. It features a dictionary of law reports and legal periodicals, giving their preferred abbreviations. There are also recommendations for typography and punctuation of citations with many alternatives given from which a personal style can be devised.
How to write law essays and exams by
Call Number: K101 S92
Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2010
This practical guide includes cases and worked examples, enabling students at all levels to adopt good essay writing techniques and methods of analysing exam questions. It provides a framework for analysing legal problems that should continue to be useful in the workplace.
Index to legal citations and abbreviations by
Call Number: R K112 R15
Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2008
"A now-classic "index", The Index to Legal Citations and Abbreviations reveals the meaning of over 34,000 legal acronyms in usage. The acronyms range from the approximately 9,000 most up-to-date additions to this edition to those in use for centuries, and cover the legal literature of the UK, the Commonwealth, Europe and the USA. It also includes abbreviations from areas frequently encountered by lawyers - government and public administration, police and probation services." "This book is an essential reference tool for anyone looking to identify an abbreviated reference or references."
Legal analysis and writing by
Call Number: LB 808.06634 P99
Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2009
Legal Analysis and Writing, third edition, provides the student with in-depth knowledge of the fundamentals of legal analysis and writing, the operation of the elements of the fundamentals in the analysis and writing process, and the manner in which the process guides and assists the student in the production of a finished product, such as an interoffice research memorandum. The text is national in scope and designed for students who have completed introductory legal assistant courses. The focus of the text is on the legal analysis and writing process.
Legal writing and analysis by
Call Number: K101 M98
Publication Date: 2009
This book is designed for a typical first semester Legal Research and Writing program that focuses on legal research, objective legal writing, and legal analysis.
Legal writing in a nutshell by
Call Number: 808.06634 B15
Publication Date: 4th ed. 2009
This product provides the keys to organizing legal memoranda and briefs, crafting clear and concise sentences, using legal language accurately, using grammar and punctuation properly, and writing persuasively using classical rhetorical techniques. It describes a method for analyzing an individual writing style and improving it and includes a sample analysis. It includes new material on using plain English and new samples of legal memoranda and briefs to illustrate effective writing techniques.
Opinion writing by
Call Number: K101 O6
Publication Date: 2009-2010 ed. 2009
Opinion Writing guides students through all aspects of the opinion writing process, from analysis of the case, and deciding upon the appropriate advice, to writing the opinion to a high professional standard. Sample opinions written by practising barristers are contained throughout, providing a realistic and valuable learning resource for students.
Opinion writing and case preparation by
Call Number: K101 O61 C
Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2012
This manual illustrates the essential stages of opinion writing, from analysis of the case and determining appropriate advice to writing the opinion, and provides a number of sample opinions written by practising barristers.
Students' guide to legal writing, law exams, and self assessment by
Call Number: K101 C18
Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2010
Offers law students succinct but essential practical advice on to how to prepare well researched and written work required for assessment in law courses and the strategies for effective preparation and sitting of law exams. The third edition contains a fully revised section dealing with the use of electronic resources, including guidance on using search tools such as Google, and a discussion of the need for a critical and careful approach to reliance upon internet sources.
Style guide by
Call Number: R K100 E19
Publication Date: 10th ed. 2010
Successful legal analysis and writing : the fundamentals by
Call Number: K101 C61
Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2010
This work is a practical legal analysis and writing handbook. Designed for first-year students, it is also a valuable refresher text for more advanced students and for practitioners. The book features fundamental advice, a problem-solving perspective, illustrative examples and templates, and an easy-to-read approach. The third edition includes additional examples and models and a chapter on oral argument.
Legal Research & Writing at BrowZine