Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dentistry: Databases

This subject guide covers resources in dentistry availabe at the HKU Libraries.

Google Scholar

Configure your Google Scholar settings to get full text from HKUL subscriptions:

1. Go to http://scholar.google.com
2. Click on “Settings”
3. Click on "Library Links" on the left
4. Enter "HKU" in search box
5. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"
6. “Save” the settings

Google Scholar Search

Core and Featured Databases

Cochrane library

 consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. The databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED).

 

EMBASE

 is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research. It contains over 22 million records spanning 1974-present, with over 1 million records added annually. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms, and codes; and 80% of all citations in Embase include author-written abstracts. The Embase journal collection is international with over 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals more than 90 countries.

 

InCites Journal citation reports

 is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 12,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

 

MEDLINE via Ovid

 contains the MEDLINE database of the National Library of Medicine from 1965 to present. Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.

 

The PsycINFO database

 is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1700s to the present. The sources include over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters. 

 

PubMed customized HKUL PubMed with Find@HKUL linking

 comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web.

 

Scopus

 is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Offers access to more than 16,500 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers.

 

Web of Science is a multidisciplinary citation database covering over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings covering over 120,000 conferences.

 

Dental Education in Video

 is a video encyclopedia of dentistry and dental technique, delivering instant online access to hundreds of high-definition videos featuring world-renowned clinicians and educators. It provides hundreds of hours of demonstrations from American Dental Association-approved content partners, together with interviews and lectures, for students and faculty in dental surgery, medicine, oral hygiene, assisting, and nursing.

 

 

Tips on accessing HKUL E-resources

Dental Librarian and Research Services Coordinator

Profile Photo
Nancy Chan
Contact:
Dental Library,
6/F Prince Philip Dental Hospital,
34 Hospital Road, Sai Ying Pun, Hong Kong.
2859-0336
Subjects: Dentistry