Skip to main content

Linguistics: Databases

Subject guide to Linguistics resources for study or research of the subject

Quick Links

To view complete list of materials related to Linguistics, please select from below:

Major Databases

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most relevant full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it is the leading source of peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. It includes more than 8800 full text journals.

Arts & humanities citation index Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature ofthe arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. It provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 forward.

Collins wordbanks online Collins WordbanksOnline is an online Internet service for accessing language data based on the Collins corpora of modern written and spoken text, Bank of English. It is a collection of samples of language held on computer for analysis of words, meanings, grammar and usages, on which Collins dictionaries is based.

ERIC WilsonWeb's ERIC database (The Education Resources Information Center) provides access to education literature and resources. The database lists citations and abstracts for over 1,000 comprehensively indexed educational and education-related journals, primarily American, along with some Canadian and British publications. The ERIC collection includes annotated bibliographic records, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 200,000 full-text documents from ERIC. WilsonWeb's ERIC database is unique in that when it is searched simultaneously with other renowned Wilson education databases like Education Full Text, the search results will be the most relevant and timely possible in the education field today.

Humanities index This database is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.

JSTOR Provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

Linguistics abstracts online Provides access via the World Wide Web to more than 31,000 abstracts from nearly 400 linguistics journals published since 1985.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

MLA international bibliography This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

Oxford bibliographies. Linguistics offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on linguistics. Bibliographies are browsable by subject and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Oxford English dictionary The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet. It also includes the Historical thesaurus of the OED, allowing users to discover when words with a related meaning entered the language.

Oxford reference online The database brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource.

Web of science Covers over 12,000 journals from 256 categories from 1900 and has direct links to full text and library holdings information. It also includes over 148,000 proceedings from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions worldwide.

To view a complete list of databases, please click here.