Biological Sciences: Databases

One-stop search for books, articles, digital media, and more in HKU Libraries.

Suggest a purchase of print / electronic books and audio-visual materials

Recommend databases (For Academic Staff only)

Recommend print / electronic journals (For Academic Staff only)

Provides informative abstracts in English of current research reported in the biological and medical literature.

provides more than 350 journals and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

is a Life Sciences reference database that combines the journal reference content from Biological Abstracts with the references to meetings, reviews, books, and monographs from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). BIOSIS Previews provides current life science information, covering fields such as Biology, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Botany, Pre-Clinical and Experimental Medicine, Pharmacology, Zoology, Veterinary Sciences, and Agricultural Sciences.

Includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Includes the AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

is an electronic version of ASFA 1: Biological sciences & living resources; ASFA 2: Ocean technology, policy & non-living resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic pollution & environmental quality; ASFA marine biotechnology abstracts; ASFA aquaculture abstracts. Subject areas include: aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, brackish water environments, conservation, environmental quality, fisheries, freshwater environments, limnology, marine biotechnology, marine environments, meteorology, oceanography.

Provides informative abstracts in English of current research reported in the biological and medical literature.

Provides citations and abstracts to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. The citations describe journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.

Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. Available with up to 18 million records to 1926.

is an international agriculture research database which indexes literature in agriculture, forestry, human and animal nutrition, animal health, natural resource management and conservation, and related aspects of human health. Focal areas are animal and plant science, crop protection, parasitology, soil science, rural development, economics, horticulture, and agricultural engineering. Its geographic scope is global, with emphasis on African and Latin American studies.

The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has features such as discussion forums and personal folders. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made ... CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.

Is a revolutionary post-publication peer review service that comprehensively and systematically highlights and recommends the most interesting articles published in the biomedical sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of 5,000 of the world's leading scientists and clinical researchers (called "Faculty Members"), plus 5,000 associates who work with them (called "Associate Faculty Members").

from BioMed Central, is an online research service that highlights and reviews papers published in the biological sciences, based on recommendations of over 1000 selected researchers.

Comprehensive coverage of the food sciences, food products, and food processing from 1969 to the present including the relevant basic sciences: biotechnology, biochemistry, chemistry, physics, microbiology, engineering,and toxicology as well as economics and legislation.

Offers access to botanical resources from dozens of herbaria, libraries, museums and other research institutions. The database includes plant type specimens from herbaria around the world, scientific research articles and correspondence dating back hundreds of years, and full-text books and reference works on botany.

Market research reports that aid students, professors, and technology transfer professionals in conducting research projects.

contains more than 29 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.

Monitors worldwide product innovation and new product activity in consumer packaged goods markets. Covers food, drink, household, beauty & personal care, healthcare, and pet sectors across key global markets.

Oceanic Abstracts focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.

provides access to the PubMed database of bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. PubMed also includes all articles from from participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE. In addition, PubMed provides access to the molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system.

Provides a comprehensive resource for the scientific community working with Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant. TAIR consists of a searchable relational database, which includes many different datatypes. Data can be viewed using a interactive MapViewer, and analyzed with our tools. Datasets can be downloaded. In addition, pages on news, information on the Arabidopsis Genome Initiative (AGI), Arabidopsis lab protocols, and useful links are provided.

Covers over 12,000 journals from 256 categories from 1900 and has direct links to full text and library holdings information. It also includes over 148,000 proceedings from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions worldwide.

Zoological record online provides worldwide coverage of zoological literature, including entomology, herpetology, ichthyology, mammalogy, ornithology, paleontology, protozoology, and others. Covers biochemistry, biometrics, disease, evolution, genetics, habitat, life cycle and development, morphological variation, nomenclature, physiology, taxonomy, and zoogeography.

This site provides open access to more than 700 full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in all subjects and languages.

Contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of Elsevier articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, and health sciences.

Contains full text of subscribed Springer electronic journals.

Access to over 300 scientific, technical, medical, and professional Wiley journals.

ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) standards
Covering ASCE/SEI 7: Minimum Design Loads for Buildings and Other Structures (ASCE 7-22, ASCE 7-16, ASCE 7-10)

ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers) standards and guidelines

ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) standards

ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) standards

British Standards, plus BS equivalent ISO Standards and BS equivalent EN Standards

IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) standards

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) standards

RICS (Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors) standards

NFPA (National Fire Protection Association) codes, standards, recommended practices and guides

China national knowledge infrastructure. HKU Libraries' subscription covers 國家標準 and 行業標準 only.