Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture, General Subject Guides: Stephen Garmey Book Collection

Stephen Garmey and his collection

Stephen Garmey

Find books

About the collection

This collection of books is primarily focused on Russian constructivist art and architecture of the twentieth century. It has been assembled over the past forty years by Stephen Garmey (1933-2012), an episcopal vicar and a noted collector of Russian books, periodicals and constructivist works on paper. The collection of Russian avant-garde works is the main subject of the exhibition at the Wallach Art Gallery in Columbia in 2005 and the book Architecture in Print: Design and Debate in the Soviet Union, 1919-1935. Selections from the collection of Stephen Garmey (2005); and heavily drawn upon for the exhibition, Lost Vanguard: Soviet Modernist Architecture, 1922-32, at the Museum of Modern Art in 2007.

Consisting of approximately 1,000 books, the collection of mostly rare and out-of-print books offers a concentration of original art and architectural documentary material including monographs covering 1920s and 1930s Russia, as well as complementary critical studies and scholarly interpretations. The addition of the Stephen Garmey Book Collection offers a rich source of knowledge on the intellectual and creative production during a historical moment in Russia, their transmission, exchanges and their impact on contemporary art, design and architectural practices. It provides a valuable platform for a unique cultural exchange between HKU, the art and architectural community in Hong Kong, the Asian region and beyond.

(By Dr Eunice Seng, Faculty of Architecture)

How can I access this collection

Individual item of the collection can be found in FIND@HKUL by doing a title search. To bring up all entries for the materials in this collection, enter Stephen Garmey Book Collection in the search box with the scope Books+.

Since the collection covers various subject disciplines including art, architecture, history and the others, materials are interfiled in the collections of the Libraries. The following table will help to find out the location of an item when call number is in hand.

Books

Location Name Includes Prefix Class No. Floor
Western Language Materials
Main Books Books





-
001 - 299 4/F Old Wing
300 - 399 4/F New Wing
400 - 599 1/F Old Wing
600 - 699 G/F New Wing
700 - 799 1/F Old Wing
800 - 899 G/F New Wing
900 - 999 2/F Old Wing
Main Large Books Large Books LB 001 - 999 G/F New Wing
East Asian Language Materials
FPS Books Fung Ping Shan Library Books [中] A - DS740 5/F Old Wing
DS741 - Z 6/F Old Wing

Music Scores

Location Name Includes Prefix Class No. Floor
Music Scores Music Reference Scores, 
Music Scores
MuR, Music 001 - 999
A - Z
Music Library

Reference Collection

Location Name Includes Prefix Class No. Floor
Western Language Materials
Main Reference,
Main Reference Pamphlet
Reference Books, 
Pamphlets
R,
RP
001 - 399 4/F New Wing
400 - 599 1/F New Wing
(AV Collection)
600 - 699 G/F New Wing
700 - 799 1/F Old Wing
800 - 899 G/F New Wing
900 - 999 2/F Old Wing

Serials

Location Name Includes Prefix Class No. Floor
Western Language Materials





Main Serials,
Main Large Serials




Current Serials and Large Serials, Bound Serials and Large Bound Serials





S, LS
001 - 399 4/F New Wing
400 - 599 1/F New Wing
(AV Collection)
600 - 699 G/F New Wing
700 - 799 1/F Old Wing
800 - 899 G/F New Wing
900 - 999 2/F Old Wing

 

Storage

Location Name Includes Prefix Class No. Floor
Storage Old Editions of Books, Pamphlets, Maps X, P,
SL
001 - 999
A - Z
OFF CAMPUS Please submit an online request through Find@HKUL.

Popular titles of the Collection