https://d329ms1y997xa5.cloudfront.net/sites/11573/include/palatinolinotype_roman.ttf https://d329ms1y997xa5.cloudfront.net/sites/11573/include/palatinolinotype_roman.ttf

HKU Libraries Blog

Showing 10 of 25 Results

Database of the month – Palmer & Turner Collection @ Digital Repository (January 2023)
01/03/2023
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database of the month

Database of the month_mail.png

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about a digitized collection on architectural drawings.

Palmer & Turner Collection @ Digital Repository

(https://digitalrepository.lib.hku.hk/pnt)The Palmer & Turner (P&T) Group was established in 1868 in Hong Kong and this Collection comprises more than 15,000 individual documents and objects dated between 1932 and 2012. This Collection primarily contains architectural drawings relating to more than 500 construction and urban planning projects proposed, designed, and/or completed by the P&T Group in South-East Asia; including Hong Kong, Macau, mainland China, and Taiwan as well as Singapore, Indonesia, Thailand, and Vietnam. Some institutional records, such as contracts and legal documents concerning the constructions and architectural practices, are also included. This online database presents these projects through an interactive map of Hong Kong which helps researchers with navigating their original locations, while the digitized materials and the information on the history, architectural, and materials specifications are categorized by projects and accessible (subject to copyright) by using UIDs through this very link https://digitalrepository.lib.hku.hk/pnt. P&T Group also donated part of their collections to M+ Museum, West Kowloon Cultural District of Hong Kong.

 Palmer_Turner_Collection_roller banner

 

Click here to view the past database of the month.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

 

Learning and Research Services

HKU Libraries
Database of the month – ExamBase (December 2022)
11/24/2022
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database of the month

Database of the month_mail.png

Looking for HKU past examination papers?

ExamBase contains examination papers from all faculties at the University of Hong Kong. It provides easy access to selective full-text of past examination papers for all HKU students.

Access ExamBase and check out this video guide to start your preparation now.

If your desired papers are under restricted access, please try to contact your faculty/department office or lecturers for assistance.

Click here to view the past database of the month.

For enquiries, please contact the Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

 

Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries

 ExamBase
Database of the month - SAGE knowledge (November 2022)
11/01/2022
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database of the month

Database of the month_mail.png

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about Social Sciences.

SAGE knowledge

(http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=alma991003438289703414) is a premier social sciences research platform providing access to different types of up-to-date materials on different Social Sciences subjects. It includes books, handbooks, reference works and videos. It would be a good start for students and researchers to learn about foundational knowledge in different core areas.

 SAGE knowledge_roller banner

 

Click here to view the past database of the month.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Extra:

Want to learn about other key social science databases? Check out the videos below:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

 

Learning and Research Services

HKU Libraries
Database of the month - WorldSciNet (October 2022)
10/01/2022
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database of the month

Database of the month

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about Science and other disciplines.

WorldSciNet (http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=alma991035290869703414) provides online access to some journals in full text published by World Scientific in subject areas such as: Asian Studies, Business & Management, Computer Science, Economics & Finance, Engineering, Mathematics, Nanotechnology, Physics, and more. Selected books and major reference works can also be accessed in the platform.

WorldSciNet

Click here to view the past database of the month.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Extra:

Interested in more key science databases? Check out the video below:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

 

Learning and Research Services

HKU Libraries

 

Database of the month - Global Health (September 2022)
09/01/2022
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database of the month

Database of the month

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about public health. 

Global Health

(http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=HKU_IZ61526440140003414 ) is a public health database covers over 1.2 million scientific records from 1973 onward about preventing diseases, promoting health and prolonging life through habits, hygiene, nutrition, policies and more in society.

Click here to view the past database of the month.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Extra:

Learn about MEDLINE (Ovid), JBI Connect, Lippincott advisor, and other medical databases. Check out the video below:

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

 

Learning and Research Services

HKU Libraries
Database of the month - Westlaw Asia (August 2022)
08/01/2022
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database of the month

Database of the month

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about law.

Westlaw Asia

(http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=alma991019368849703414) is an online legal research service which provides legal and regulatory information. You can search across Hong Kong, UK, Australia, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines and Singapore materials in one single platform. The database includes access to Case Law, Legislation, Commentary, Journals, Current Awareness and News. It is a useful research tool for different areas of law and comparative law.

Westlaw Asia

Click here to view the past database of the month.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Extra:

Interested in an annotated bibliography to guide you through various subjects including law? Check out the video below:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

 

Learning and Research Services

HKU Libraries
Database of the month – SciTech Premium Collection (July 2022)
07/04/2022
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database of the month

Database of the month

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about science and technology.

Try SciTech Premium Collection (http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=HKU_IZ61543250870003414) to discover comprehensive scholarly research and technical literature in science and technology subjects.

The SciTech Premium Collection in ProQuest databases includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases. It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.

Click here to view the past database of the month.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Extra:

Learn the tips and tricks for using other key engineering databases. Check out the videos below:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

Learning and Research Services

HKU Libraries

 

Database of the month - SAGE Research Methods (June 2022)
06/01/2022
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database of the month

Database of the month

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is a research tool for various disciplines.

SAGE Research Methods

(http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=HKU_IZ61567239360003414) is a tool to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. It links to SAGE's renowned books, journals and reference content, you can get a quick dictionary definition or watch the research in action through a video tutorial. Since it focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, education, psychology, and other subject areas. The “Project Planner” guides you in every stage of your research. You can choose a methodology in the “Methods Map” and launch it into your research.

 Sage Research Methods

 

Click here to view the past database of the month.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Extra:

Want to learn about how to get your research published and noticed? Check out the videos below:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

 

Learning and Research Services

HKU Libraries
Database of the month - ExamBase
04/21/2022
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database of the month

Database of the month

Looking for HKU past examination papers?

ExamBase contains examination papers from all faculties at the University of Hong Kong. It provides easy access to selective full-text of past examination papers for all HKU students.

Access ExamBase and check out this video guide to start your preparation now.

If your desired papers are under restricted access, please try to contact your faculty/department office or lecturers for assistance.

Click here to view the past database of the month. 

For enquiries, please contact the Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

 

Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries

 

Database of the month - Adam Matthew Digital (April 2022)
04/01/2022
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database of the month

Database of the month

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about arts.

Adam Matthew Digital

(http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=HKU_IZ61503425900003414) is a digital primary source database covering a broad range of historical topics such as American history, China studies, 18th century drama and gender studies, etc. Foreign Office Files for China, Japan, India and the Middle East are also available for your research and learning.

For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries

 

Field is required.
https://d329ms1y997xa5.cloudfront.net/sites/11573/include/palatinolinotype_roman.ttf