https://d329ms1y997xa5.cloudfront.net/sites/11573/include/palatinolinotype_roman.ttf https://d329ms1y997xa5.cloudfront.net/sites/11573/include/palatinolinotype_roman.ttf

HKU Libraries Blog

Showing 9 of 9 Results

Scheduled Turnitin Maintenance on March 29, 2025
03/26/2025
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
No Subjects

Message from Turnitin

Turnitin will take a emergency 30-minute maintenance window on March 29 (Sat) from 23:00 HKT to 23:30 HKT with the following services potentially experiencing intermittent availability during these times:

  • Originality (including all Integrations)
  • SimCheck (including Integrations)
  • Similarity (including Integrations)
  • Turnitin Core API (including Integrations)
  • Crossref Similarity Check
  • Draft Coach
  • Authorship
  • Turnitin and TurnitinUK (including all Integrations)
  • Roster Sync
  • Feedback Studio for iOS
  • iThenticate 2.0
  • iThenticate
  • iThenticate (via API)
  • Canvas Plagiarism Framework
  • Integrations through LTI 1.3

 

We regret any inconvenience this may cause.

Possible Suspension of Wen Wei Po Web Edition Subscription
03/20/2025
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database news

HKU Libraries (HKUL) has been striving to maintain its subscription to the Wen Wei Po web edition (香港文匯報電子版資料庫) despite a significant price hike in 2025. Due to ongoing budgetary constraints, HKUL may not be able to renew the subscription to this database beyond 22 Apr 2025.

 

Users may alternatively access Wen Wei Po through other resources, such as:

- The Wen Wei Po website, which provides free access to the latest newspaper issues

- WisersOne, offering clippings of the Wen Wei Po from 2 Apr 1998 to the present

- Microfilm available at the Special Collections

 

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and greatly appreciate your understanding.

For enquiries, please Email-a-Librarian (To: Information Search)

HKU Libraries

JULAC Webinar Series: Elevate Your Legal Research Skills with Westlaw Asia [28 March 2025]
03/19/2025
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
No Subjects

JULAC Webinar Series: Elevate Your Legal Research Skills with Westlaw Asia [28 March 2025]

Dear Staff and Students,

You are cordially invited to attend the upcoming JULAC webinar series titled “Elevate Your Legal Research Skills with Westlaw Asia” organized by the Joint University Librarians Advisory Committee (JULAC):

Date: 28 March 2025 (Friday)
Time: 2:30 - 3:30 p.m. (HKT)
Speaker: Ms Iris Zhang, Customer Product Trainer, Thomson Reuters, Hong Kong
Venue: Online via Zoom
Registration: https://polyu.hk/hmNRx

This webinar will focus on Westlaw Asia resources and functionalities. It will help users of Westlaw Asia become familiar with all the features and get the most out of their use of it. Topics that will be covered in the session include:

  • Locating and accessing primary law including case law and legislation
  • Advanced searching and using Terms & Connectors
  • Navigating search results and using post-search filters
  • Searching and using commentary, journals, and current awareness
  • Tools and functionalities available on Westlaw Asia

Speaker Bio
lris is a Customer Product Trainer based in Hong Kong, providing training for customers in Mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan. She has ten years of experience in professional training areas in finance, FMCG, automobile and other sectors. She has been working with clients as a certified facilitator and learning consultant to improve the technical skills of their employees and help them with personal growth and development through learning. Iris is a passionate trainer and believes in the great value that effective learning can bring to people.

For enquiries, please Email-A-Librarian (To: Library Training).

Best regards, 
Learning and Research Services 
The University of Hong Kong Libraries
Publishers’ Training Events (March 2025) - Springer Nature Webinar Series for Hong Kong Researchers
03/19/2025
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
No Subjects
Publishers' Training Events - March

Dear Staff and Students,

Please find the webinar series by Springer Nature in March 2025 below:

Springer Nature Webinar Series for Hong Kong Researchers (Online via Zoom)

Registration

Academic journal publication process and tips for successful submission

Monday, 24 March 2025
4:30 - 5:15 PM (Hong Kong Time)

Register here

How to select a journal for your manuscript

Tuesday, 25 March 2025
4:30 - 5:15 PM (Hong Kong Time)

Register here

Research integrity

Wednesday, 26 March 2025
4:30 - 5:15 PM (Hong Kong Time)

Register here

Benefits of OA and Springer Nature author journey

Thursday, 27 March 2025
4:30 - 5:15 PM (Hong Kong Time)

Register here

AI and Open Science

Friday, 28 March 2025
4:30 - 5:30 PM (Hong Kong Time)

Register here

Publish open access with the article processing charge covered

The transformative agreement between HKU Libraries and Springer Nature allows affiliated authors to publish open access (OA), in over 1,900 eligible Springer hybrid journals, with the article processing charge covered. Discover more about the agreement here.

For enquiries, please directly contact the respective publisher(s).

Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries

 

Disclaimers:

The training session(s) or event(s) is/are organised by the corresponding publisher(s). Any enquiries should be directly addressed to the corresponding publisher(s) respectively.
Information collected by the publisher(s) for training session(s) or event(s) is NOT subject to the Privacy Policy of the HKU Libraries.
The HKU Libraries shall not be held responsible for any dispute, loss or damage which may arise as a result of using the information provided on this page.
Publishers’ Training Events (March 2025) : 華藝數位(Airiti) 線上課程
03/08/2025
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
No Subjects

華藝數位(Airiti) 將推出線上課程—「資料蒐集入門課：從零開始掌握資料庫與AI工具」。

 

此課程由華藝數位策畫，並結合華藝線上圖書館、華藝電子書、是科探索、是科外文電子書、SYMSKAN文獻相似度檢索服務、DOI比對器等多項資源，搭配生成式AI工具，旨在引導大家掌握報告撰寫、論文研究及資料蒐集過程中所需的各種工具與技能。

 

課程採YOUTUBE線上進行，無需報名，點擊連結即可觀看，完成五堂課後可申請課程證明，申請期間為：2025/03/14至2025/05/31止。課程安排如下：

l   3/10（週一）15:00-15:40 如何從海量資料中蒐集與篩選資料？

l   3/11（週二）15:00-15:40 找文獻時的那些AI詠唱術

l   3/12（週三）15:00-15:40 寫一篇原創性論文須注意的三件事

l   3/13（週四）15:00-15:20 圖書館電子書與學習資源大補帖

l   3/14（週五）15:00-15:40 引文資料庫進階應用 

 

詳細介紹，請參見活動頁面：https://airiti.pse.is/726gue

 

如有查詢，請直接聯絡華藝數位 (Airiti)。

 

Learning and Research Services 
HKU Libraries 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Disclaimers:  

The training session(s) or event(s) is/are organised by the corresponding publisher(s). Any enquiries should be directly addressed to the corresponding publisher(s) respectively. 

Information collected by the publisher(s) for training session(s) or event(s) is NOT subject to the Privacy Policy of the HKU Libraries.  

The HKU Libraries shall not be held responsible for any dispute, loss or damage which may arise as a result of using the information provided on this page. 

 

Scheduled Fulcrum Maintenance: March 9, 12:00pm - 3:00pm HKT
03/07/2025
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
Database news

Message from Michigan Publishing

The network firewall at our data center will be undergoing maintenance beginning this Sunday March 9 at 12:00pm HKT, with the scheduled maintenance window lasting 4 hours. While an outage is not anticipated, brief service interruptions are possible during this window. Potentially affected collections hosted on Fulcrum include:

  • ACLS Humanities Ebook (HEB)
  • British Archaeological Reports Digital Collection (BAR)
  • University of Michigan Ebook Collection (UMPEBC)
  • Big Ten Open Books

Thank you for your patience. We apologize for any inconvenience.

[Join us!] Library Database Training (March & April 2025)
03/07/2025
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
No Subjects

Dear Staff and Students,

Are you looking to enhance your learning and research skills in the fields of art, education, medical, scientific and news information search?

We understand the importance of accessing reliable information and tools to support your academic success, which is why we are excited to announce the upcoming library database training workshops.

These interactive sessions will provide you with essential knowledge and hands-on experiences to leverage useful databases for smarter learning and research. Below are the sessions to be held in March and April 2025:

Workshop

Date and Time

Empowering Future Physicians:
Leveraging ClinicalKey and Complete Anatomy for Smarter Learning and  Research

What You Will Learn:

  • Mastering searching in ClinicalKey for foundational textbooks, procedural videos, and cutting-edge clinical practices
  • Explore Complete Anatomy to discover a comprehensive human 3D model featuring over 17,000 structures

18 March 2025 (Tue)
12:30 - 13:30

Speaker:
Dr. Yiqin Guo MD
(Clinical Solution Expert, Elsevier)


Register (Onsite)
Register (Online)

Introducing the NEW CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform

What You Will Learn:

  • Access a range of analytical methods for pharmaceutical, food, water, and other analyses
  • Learn to compare formulations and evaluate ingredients for pharmaceutical, cosmetic, and agrochemical applications
  • Discover how to find pharmacology, ADME, and toxicity data for ligands and targets to support drug discovery research

25 March 2025 (Tue)
12:30 - 13:30

Speaker:
Ms. Pamela Oon (Manager, Customer Success Specialist (APAC),  ACS International, Ltd. – Representing CAS)

Register (Online)

News Information from ProQuest and Factiva

What You Will Learn:

  • Mastering searching for news content on the ProQuest and Factiva platform
  • Explore the new Factiva interface

26 March 2025 (Wed)
12:30 - 13:30

Speaker:
Mr. Gary Man
(Customer Success Manager, Clarivate)

Register (Online)

From Censorship of 18th Century Theatre to the Colonial Past: Archives for Research and Teaching

What You Will Learn:

  • Overview some of the rare and rich content with a focus on collections for world history, gender studies, cultural studies and more
  • Learn from case studies of how these sources have been used in research and in the classroom

1 April 2025 (Tue)
13:00 – 14:00

Speaker:
Dr. Laura Blomvall
(Engagement Manager, Adam Matthew Digital Ltd)

Register (Online)

Unlocking the Power of EBSCO Databases for Education and Research

What You Will Learn:

  • How to effectively navigate and utilize EBSCO's comprehensive resources, including ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), Education Full Text and Academic Search Ultimate
  • Guide you through practical search techniques and strategies to help you find the information you need quickly and efficiently

10 April 2025 (Thu)
14:30 – 15:30

Speaker:
Mr. Evan Shih
(Senior Training Specialist, EBSCO Information Services)

Register (Online)

Don't miss this opportunity to make your academic life easier! Join our workshops to discover how databases can support your learning and research.

We look forward to seeing you at the workshops!

For enquiries, please Email-A-Librarian: https://lib.hku.hk/check_form/ask_a_librarian-form/ (To: Library Training).

Best regards,
Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries

Publishers’ Training Events (Cambridge University Press)
03/05/2025
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
No Subjects


 

Dear Staff and Students,  

Please find the training session(s) by Cambridge University Press in March 2025 below: 

Cambridge University Press Publishing Open Access for Authors 

Selecting the Right Journal for Submission 

For enquiries, please directly contact the respective publisher(s). 

Learning and Research Services 
HKU Libraries 

 

Disclaimers:  

The training session(s) or event(s) is/are organised by the corresponding publisher(s). Any enquiries should be directly addressed to the corresponding publisher(s) respectively. 

Information collected by the publisher(s) for training session(s) or event(s) is NOT subject to the Privacy Policy of the HKU Libraries.  

The HKU Libraries shall not be held responsible for any dispute, loss or damage which may arise as a result of using the information provided on this page. 

Database on Trial - O'Reilly for Higher Education (expires on 25-Apr-2025)
03/03/2025
profile-icon Learning and Research Services HKUL
No Subjects

 

Dear Staff and Students,

 

The Libraries has set-up a trial on the following database. We invite you to explore this new resource and share your feedback. Your feedback will be crucial in determining whether we should subscribe to this resource, alongside other factors such as budget considerations and availability of similar resources.

 

Please share your comments with us via Ask-a-Librarian: https://lib.hku.hk/check_form/ask_a_librarian-form/ (To: Information Search)

 

Database on Trial

O'Reilly for Higher Education

Expiry date

25-Apr-2025

Description

O’Reilly for Higher Education aims to prepare users for future careers and encourage lifelong learning with access to over 42,000 ebooks and 30,000 hours of videos/tutorials in a wide range of topics in business and technology. It also covers case studies from companies such as Uber, Netflix and Microsoft to prepare students for real-life scenarios once employed.

This trial is opened to users whose institution email address is "@hku.hk" & "@connect.hku.hk" only. The steps to create a new account are:

- Click on "Institution not listed."

- Enter an email address with the institution domain

- Click "Let's Go."

Access

https://libguides.lib.hku.hk/az.php?t=36737

 

Best regards,

Learning and Research Services

University Libraries

Field is required.
https://d329ms1y997xa5.cloudfront.net/sites/11573/include/palatinolinotype_roman.ttf