HKU Libraries Blog

Message from Michigan Publishing

Beginning at 6:00am HKT on Saturday March 2nd, the Fulcrum platform will be unavailable while scheduled maintenance takes place to upgrade our storage mounts to improve service resilience. The outage is expected to last approximately 3 hours, but if services are found to be available sooner, it is OK to use them.

This outage will affect the following restricted collections hosted on Fulcrum:

• ACLS Humanities Ebook (HEB)
• British Archaeological Reports Digital Collection (BAR)
• University of Michigan Ebook Collection (UMPEBC)

Thank you for your patience. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Message from Wolters Kluwer - Ovid

The British Library (BL) is now entering the third month of the outage following the cyberattack, and is in an active recovery phase for all of its electronic services. It is currently investigating an interim AMED service, and will provide more updates in the near future.

BL is publishing updates on its social media feeds including this blog: https://blogs.bl.uk/living-knowledge/, where it will post further information once it's available.

On behalf of the British Library, we want to thank you for your patience.

Dear Staff and Students,

You are cordially invited to join our zoom webinars organized on 14th March 2024 (Thursday) to learn more about research impact metrics and tools.

Identifying top talents in the sciences and social sciences - Highly Cited Researchers 2023

Each year, Clarivate identifies the world’s most influential researchers ─ Highly Cited Researchers (HCRs), they are the select few who have been recognized by their production of multiple highly-cited papers that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and year in the Web of Science™.

This session will cover the introduction of HCR methodology, and 2023 HCR analysis, as well as responsible use of metrics.

Date: 14 March 2024 (Thursday)

Time: 10:00 – 11:00am

Speaker: Dr. Weiping Yue (Senior Consultant, Clarivate)

Registration: https://hku.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_i9UIFpvVTfaJ51x8hwRvAw

Research Metrics 101: A Beginner’s Guide to Research Impact Indicators

The session will cover:

• An overview of how research impact is represented by various research metrics
• A brief introduction to research metrics databases subscribed by the Libraries, e.g., Web of Science, Scopus, and Altmetric Explorer
• A brief introduction to the available research metrics, e.g., number of citations, journal impact factor (JIF), CiteScore, h-index, altmetrics (alternative metrics)

Date: 14 March 2024 (Thursday)

Time: 11:30 am – 12:30 pm

Speaker: Ms. Fanny Liu (Engineering Librarian, HKU Libraries)

Register: https://hku.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_WyAzg2vMSZy57LCmNLLnNQ

If you have questions, please Ask-a-Librarian: https://lib.hku.hk/check_form/ask_a_librarian-form/ (To: Library Training).

Best regards,

Learning and Research Services

HKU Libraries

Message from Turnitin

Turnitin will take a 4 hour maintenance window from March 16 22:00 HKT to March 17 02:00 HKT with the following services being unavailable during these times:

• Originality (including all Integrations)
• SimCheck (including Integrations)
• Similarity (including Integrations)
• Turnitin Core API (including Integrations)
• Crossref Similarity Check
• Draft Coach
• Authorship
• iThenticate 2.0

The following will be available but may have disruptions in service during the maintenance:

• Turnitin and TurnitinUK (including all Integrations)
• Roster Sync through Turnitin.com
• Feedback Studio for iOS
• iThenticate
• iThenticate (via API)
• Canvas Plagiarism Framework
• Integrations through LTI 1.3

We regret any inconvenience this may cause.

Message from Asahi Shimbun

We will be performing our system maintenance on February 26 (Mon) from 18:00 to 19:00 (Hong Kong time).

During this period, the following service will be unavailable.

Articles 1985-Present　download of image

Digitized Archive 1879-1999 view the page image, "Crop Page" Function, download of image, print Asahi Graph 1923-1956 view the page image, download of image, print

Other services are available.

Message from Michigan Publishing

Beginning at 6:00am HKT on Saturday March 2nd, the Fulcrum platform will be unavailable while scheduled maintenance takes place to upgrade the storage mounts to improve service resilience. The outage is expected to last approximately 3 hours, but if services are found to be available sooner, it is OK to use them.

This outage will affect the following restricted collections hosted on Fulcrum:

• ACLS Humanities Ebook (HEB)
• British Archaeological Reports Digital Collection (BAR)
• University of Michigan Ebook Collection (UMPEBC)

Thank you for your patience. We apologize for any inconvenience.