Message from Michigan Publishing
The Fulcrum platform experienced an unexpected outage caused by an issue with internet services on 29 Aug 2023. As a result, the following restricted collection hosted on Fulcrum was affected:
- ACLS humanities e-book
Updates on 31 Aug 2023: Service to Fulcrum has been initially restored.
Starting from 2 Aug 2023 (Wed), CNKI will be conducting maintenance on the servers and platform. During this period, some functions may be affected.
If the selected CNKI databases (e.g. 中國學術期刊全文數據庫) do not recognize your affiliation with HKU when accessing through an HKUL authentication login,
please follow the steps below to resolve the issue:
1. Search articles via: https://tra-oversea-cnki-net.eproxy.lib.hku.hk/index/ or click on the database icon at the top left corner of the webpage.
2. The name of HKU will be displayed at the top right corner as evidence that the user has successfully logged into the CNKI database.
3. You can now access the full-text papers or download articles in the CNKI database.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. For enquiries, please contact us via Email-a-Librarian (To: Information Search).
Message from JapanKnowledge
The schedule of JapanKnowledge service suspension due to its system maintenance is as follows:
Schedule: 8:00-12:00 on Saturday, 26 August 2023 (Hong Kong Time)
Suspended service: All JapanKnowledge Services (JapanKnowledge Lib, Select contents and JKBooks)
Welcome to the exciting world of learning and exploration at HKU! The Welcome Week 2023 @HKU Libraries is here to introduce you to the wealth of resources, services, and opportunities our libraries offer. Whether you are a new student embarking on your academic journey or a returning student seeking to enhance your research skills, this week-long event will empower you with the tools you need to succeed.
Event Highlights:
1. Come & Chat!
Date & Time: 5 and 7 September 2023, 10:30 AM – 3:30 PM
Location: Lobby, 2/F, Main Library
You are warmly invited to chat with our librarians at the Main Library and discover upcoming learning events for September. Also, you can redeem a plushie with any certificate awarded in the library online courses Library Essentials for Undergraduate Students (for undergraduate students only) or Library Essentials for Postgraduate Students (for postgraduate students only) (1 gift per person, first come, first served). Join our "Come & Chat!" without hesitation for an enriching experience!
2. Library Tours
Sessions:
Location: Main Library
Quota: 20 per session
Get familiar with our library learning spaces, equipment, and resources through guided tours. Librarians will be on hand to introduce you to key features, such as study zones, research and learning collections, and other resources in the Main Library.
Registration: https://lib.hku.hk/cgi-bin/course/list_gp_m.cgi?category=16
3. Explore Law Library (quiz game with gifts)
Date: 4-9 September 2023
Location: Lui Che Woo Law Library
Discovering collection, facilities, learning spaces and other facilities in the Law Library through a simple quiz game. Come and explore with a gift!
For detailed event schedules and more information, please visit our official website: https://lib.hku.hk/.
For enquiries, please Email-A-Librarian: https://lib.hku.hk/check_form/ask_a_librarian-form/ (To: Library Training).
Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries