Scheduled Fulcrum Outage
Beginning on 26 January 2023, Thursday, 7:00 PM (Hong Kong Time), the Fulcrum platform will be unavailable while scheduled maintenance takes place. The outage is expected to last until approximately 9:00 PM (Hong Kong Time), but if services are found to be available sooner, it is OK to use them.
The outage will affect the following restricted collections hosted on Fulcrum:
Thank you for your patience. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Message from Asahi Shimbun
Asahi Shimbun will perform the system maintenance on 11 January 2023 (Wednesday) from 13:00 to 18:00 (Hong Kong time).
During this period, the following service will be unavailable:
Other services are available.
Learning and Research Services HKUL
Dear colleagues and students, Welcome (back) to the HKU Libraries! Follow the quick guide to get prepared together for the new semester! 
Learn about the Libraries' facilities to support your learning and research.
Learn how to use the library smartly and discover library resources. Join the online course designed for you!
Uphold academic honesty and avoid plagiarism.
Save time and effort! Manage references and cite them efficiently with the EndNote software.
More library training sessions are coming soon to help you make the best of the Libraries. Take a step forward!
Follow the guide, step-by-step; Achieve academic success in the coming semester, together with us!
For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.
Best regards, |
Learning and Research Services HKUL
Message from ProQuest
ProQuest will be taking up two maintenance windows beginning Sunday, 8 January 2023 (Hong Kong Time) to upgrade infrastructure, enhance security, and maintain reliability on many ProQuest products. Details for each window are listed as follows.
#1 - Maintenance window at Sterling, VA – DC4 Data Center The window will run from 11:00 am to 9:00 pm, Sunday, 8 January 2023 (Hong Kong Time), a total of 10 hours, for the products listed below. See the times for this maintenance in your region
Resources for College Libraries
#2 - Maintenance window on AWS affecting EBooks Products
The window will run from 11:00 am to 4:00 pm, Sunday, 8 January 2023 (Hong Kong Time), a total of 5 hours, for the products listed as follows.
See the times for this maintenance in your region
|
The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about a digitized collection on architectural drawings. Palmer & Turner Collection @ Digital Repository (https://digitalrepository.lib.hku.hk/pnt)The Palmer & Turner (P&T) Group was established in 1868 in Hong Kong and this Collection comprises more than 15,000 individual documents and objects dated between 1932 and 2012. This Collection primarily contains architectural drawings relating to more than 500 construction and urban planning projects proposed, designed, and/or completed by the P&T Group in South-East Asia; including Hong Kong, Macau, mainland China, and Taiwan as well as Singapore, Indonesia, Thailand, and Vietnam. Some institutional records, such as contracts and legal documents concerning the constructions and architectural practices, are also included. This online database presents these projects through an interactive map of Hong Kong which helps researchers with navigating their original locations, while the digitized materials and the information on the history, architectural, and materials specifications are categorized by projects and accessible (subject to copyright) by using UIDs through this very link https://digitalrepository.lib.hku.hk/pnt. P&T Group also donated part of their collections to M+ Museum, West Kowloon Cultural District of Hong Kong.
Click here to view the past database of the month. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.
Learning and Research Services HKU Libraries |
Message from the Asahi Shimbun
Asahi Shimbun (朝日新聞) will perform the system maintenance on 6 February 2023 (Monday) from 16:00 to 18:00 (Hong Kong Time). You can still access Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search during the maintenance, but the system might temporarily be unstable.