HKU Libraries Blog

FYE@HKUL

A series of fun activities exclusively for undergraduates – Library Essentials for Undergraduate Students, Virtual Tours & Quiz Competition and Library Expert Challenge. Don’t miss any of them:

https://lib-instruction-events.hku.hk/fye_hkul/

Library Online Courses

More online courses are available for your self-learning anytime, anywhere. Gain a certificate in some of the courses at:

https://learning.hku.hk/catalog/author/hkul/instructing-courses/

Upgraded Find@HKUL

Our library catalogue was upgraded in July 2022. Learn the new features for conducting an effective search!

https://libguides.lib.hku.hk/c.php?g=766319&p=6912605

Digital Transformation of Tin Ka Ping Education Library

Tin Ka Ping Education Library will be transformed into a next-generation collaborative space with more digital services in September 2022. Books have been relocated to Main Library 4/F Old Wing. Check here for more details:

https://lib.hku.hk/edulib/transformation.html

DataHub

Deposit the research data of your publications and individual projects to the DataHub for showcase, sharing, reuse, and to increase your research exposure!

https://datahub.hku.hk/

Researcher Connect

A blog bringing HKU community members the latest news and trends in research support services, as well as the updates of scholarly communication support initiatives and events available at the Libraries. Subscribe now:

https://blog-sc.hku.hk/

Digital Scholarship Service

Our Digital Scholarship Team offers advice on all aspects of project development from proposal to production. Contact us if you wish to turn your collection into a reproducible and sustainable digital project:

https://dss.lib.hku.hk/

GLAM Lab

The Gallery, Library, Archive and Museum (GLAM) Lab is a new approach of using new, existing and emerging digital technologies to make cultural heritage collections available in innovative and engaging ways. Team up with the GLAM Lab to elevate your virtual teaching and learning experiences in HKU:

https://lib.hku.hk/glamlab/index.html

Merged Service Counter

The Level 3 Information Counter has been merged with the Service Counter on the 2/F Main Library to provide integrated inquiry services in the virtual environment since January 2022. Refer to this page for a list of enquiry channels:

https://lib.hku.hk/newsblog/?p=1884

Updated Service Hours

Finally, note the latest update on the opening hours of different libraries and service points:

https://lib.hku.hk/general/hours/index.html

Please be advised that we will be performing system maintenance on Wednesday, August 31st.
As a result, the following services will be unavailable during this time:

Kikuzo II Visual: Wed., August 31st, from 16:00 to 18:00 (Hong Kong Time)

Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search: Wed., August 31st, from 16:00 to 23:00 (Hong Kong Time)

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at dna-support@asahi.com

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about law.

Westlaw Asia

(http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=alma991019368849703414) is an online legal research service which provides legal and regulatory information. You can search across Hong Kong, UK, Australia, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines and Singapore materials in one single platform. The database includes access to Case Law, Legislation, Commentary, Journals, Current Awareness and News. It is a useful research tool for different areas of law and comparative law.

Click here to view the past database of the month.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Extra:

Interested in an annotated bibliography to guide you through various subjects including law? Check out the video below:

• Oxford Bibliographies and Oxford Handbooks Online: Your Best Research Starts Here

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

Learning and Research Services

HKU Libraries