HKU Libraries Blog

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about examination papers.

ExamBase (http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=HKU_IZ61512022570003414) contains examination papers from all faculties at the University of Hong Kong. It provides easy access to selective full-text of past examination papers for all HKU students.

If your desired papers are under restricted access, please try to contact your faculty/department office or lecturers for assistance.

For enquiries, please contact the Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk

Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries

scite helps researchers better discover and evaluate scientific articles through Smart Citations. In addition to assessing research articles by citation count, the Smart Citations also display the citation context from the citation article which help researchers better understand and assess how research articles have been cited beyond citation count. The research articles are classified by a Deep Learning model to identify if the citation provides supporting or disputing evidence, or simply mentions it.

Smart Citation Badge
scite launches the extension that allows users to get access to the scite data in the form of scite badges on search results, references, citations and more.

The extension inserts Smart Citation Badge on many popular academic literature databases and publishers websites. It currently supports Wikipedia, Pubmed, Pubmed Central, ScienceDirect, eLife, Nature, Google, Google Scholar, PLOS, ORCID, AGS, Springer, MDPI, Sage, Taylor & Francis Online, SPIE, Wiley, Karger biorxiv, medrxiv, Science, Web of Science, Scopus. PNAS and Europe PMC.

If you want to see the badge automatically around the webpages, install the scite browser extensions on Chrome and/or Firefox that support hundreds of sites. Or, click on the “Install extension!” button on scite website to install the extension.

For more details about the scite badge, click here.

Context of cited references
Smart Citations provide the context of cited references. For example,

(Source: https://scite.ai/)

Features that help discover and evaluate the references
scite provides the following features that help researchers find and evaluate references:

Reference Check: to check the reliability of your references. You can upload your paper to scite and see if any of your references have been retracted and contrasted or to see how others reference the same studies.

Search: to discover supporting and contrasting evidence.

Visualization of the research: to discover and evaluate how articles cite each other through interactive scite Visualizations.

Creating dashboard: to create custom dashboards to better evaluate and keep tract of groups of articles or your reference manager library.

Setting up topic notifications: to allow you to set an email alert on authors, journals, institutions, publications and more. By setting an alert you receive email whenever new citation is made to a set of publications.

Journal & institution metrics: to explore journal and institutional dashboards to find their publications, compare rankings, and to see changes in their yearly scite index.

Sign up for scite on trial
Sign up and gain access to scite on trial. The trial is available until 7 July 2021.

Videos
Learn more about scite by watching the videos of (1) How to ensure your references are reliable; and (2) How to see if a scientific paper has been supported or disputed using the scite browser extension.

How to ensure your references are reliable

How to see if a scientific paper has been supported or disputed using the scite browser extension

Feedback and comments
You are encouraged to use scite during the trial period until 7 July 2021. Please send your feedback and comments to <libis@hku.hk>.

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about music.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library
(http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=HKU_IZ61605864520003414) is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.

Music Library has created an instructional video to introduce the new database. Please watch it at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7YMYETpFX70.

For enquiries, please contact the Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries