Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Audiology

This guide highlights the library resources available in the field of Audiology.

Find Articles

The databases listed below can be used to find journal articles and other research sources related to different aspects of Audiology. You will often need to look in more than one database. The full list of databases can be accessed here.

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

American Journal of Audiology

It is an international outlet for research on clinical research pertaining to screening, diagnosis, management and outcomes of hearing and balance disorders as well as the etiologies and characteristics of these disorders.
Audiology & Neurotology

It provides a forum for the publication of the most-advanced and rigorous scientific research related to the basic science and clinical aspects of the auditory and vestibular system and diseases of the ear.
Cochlear Implants International

It is the only interdisciplinary journal devoted entirely to cochlear implants and other implantable electronic hearing devices.  It is a peer-reviewed journal which was founded in response to the growing number of publications in the field of cochlear implants.
Ear and Hearing

It consolidates the various factors that contribute to identification, remediation, and audiologic rehabilitation.
Hearing Research

It provides a forum for papers concerned with basic peripheral and central auditory mechanisms.
International Journal of Audiology

It was created by the merger of Audiology, British Journal of Audiology and Scandinavian Audiology and is an international journal dealing with the needs of the developed and developing world.

JARO- Journal of the Association for Research in Otolaryngology

It is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes research findings from disciplines related to otolaryngology and communications sciences, including hearing and balance.
Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education 

It is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal integrating and coordinating basic and applied research relating to individuals who are deaf, including cultural, developmental, linguistic, and educational topics.
Journal of Speech, Language and Hearing Research

It publishes peer-reviewed research and other scholarly articles on the normal and disordered processes in speech, language, hearing, and related areas such as cognition, oral-motor function, and swallowing.
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America

It is the leading source of theoretical and experimental research results in the broad interdisciplinary subject of sound.
Journal of the American Academy of Audiology

It publishes articles and clinical reports in all areas of audiology, including audiological assessment, amplification, aural habilitation and rehabilitation, auditory electrophysiology, vestibular assessment, and hearing science.
Journal of Voice

It is widely regarded as the world's premiere journal for voice medicine and research.
Language, Speech and Hearing Services in Schools

It publishes peer-reviewed research and other scholarly articles pertaining to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology in the schools, focusing on children and adolescents.
Noise and Health

It provides a forum for presentation of novel research material on a broad range of topics associated with noise pollution, its control and its detrimental effects on hearing and health.
Trends in Hearing

It is an open access journal completely dedicated to publishing original research and reviews focusing on human hearing, hearing loss, hearing aids, auditory implants, and aural rehabilitation.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal