Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

STEM Education

This guide highlights the library resources available in the field of STEM Education.

Find Articles

The databases listed below are some suggested databases for finding articles pertaining to STEM EducationYou will often need to look in more than one database.The full list of databases can be accessed here.

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

Integrated STEM Education Conference

It is known for featuring cutting-edge research and experiences with integrated approaches to the study of science, math, and technology through experiences and activities based in engineering and other design disciplines.

 

International Journal of STEM Education

It is positioned to promote research and educational development in the rapidly evolving field of STEM education around the world.
Journal of STEM Education

It emphasizes real-world case studies that focus on issues that are relevant and important to STEM practitioners. These studies may showcase field research as well as secondary-sourced cases.
American Biology Teacher

It is an award-winning, peer-refereed professional journal designed to support the teaching of K-16 biology and life science.
American Journal of Physics

It publishes articles on the educational and cultural aspects of physics that are useful, interesting, and accessible to a diverse audience of physics students, educators, and researchers.
Astronomy Education Review

It is a journal that provides a meeting place for all who are engaged in astronomy and space science education, in either formal or informal settings.
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education

It is an international journal aimed to enhance teacher preparation and student learning in biochemistry, molecular biology, and related sciences such as biophysics and cell biology, by promoting the world-wide dissemination of educational materials.
Bioscene: Journal of College Biology Teaching

It provides a forum for sharing ideas, experiences, and educational research for the membership of ACUBE and anyone interested in teaching biology at the college and university level.
Canadian Journal of Science, Mathematics and Technology Education

It is an international forum for the publication of original articles written in a variety of styles, including research investigations using experimental, qualitative, ethnographic, historical, philosophical, or case study approaches.
CBE Life Sciences Education

It publishes peer-reviewed articles on life science education at the K–12, undergraduate, and graduate levels.
Chemistry Education Research and Practice

It provides research, and reviews of research in chemical education, effective practice in the teaching of chemistry and in depth analyses of issues of direct relevance to chemical education.
Cognition and Instruction

It is an education journal that study of foundational issues concerning the mental, socio-cultural, and mediational processes and conditions of learning and intellectual competence.
Cultural Studies of Science Education

It establishes bridges between science education and social studies of science, public understanding of science, science and human values, and science and literacy. It provides an interactive platform for researchers working in the multidisciplinary fields of cultural studies and science education.
Electronic Journal of Science Education

It publishes manuscripts relating to issues in science education and science teacher education from early childhood through the university level and informal science and environmental education.
International Journal of Cognitive Research in Science, Engineering and Education

It provides a platform for highlighting and discussing various cognitive science issues dealing with the problems of cognition (and its evolution) within some specific subject field - philosophical, psychological, linguistic, mathematical, psychogenetic, pedagogical, and ergonomic.
International Journal of Environmental and Science Education

It publishes original, double-blind peer-reviewed articles from throughout the world in the fields of social sciences, education, pedagogy, linguistics, sociology, anthropology, economics, engineering, and environmental science.
International Journal of Science and Mathematics Education

It publishes original, peer reviewed articles on a variety of topics and research methods in both science and mathematics education, and also the use of a variety of teaching and learning strategies in different cultural and cross-curricular contexts.
International Journal of Science Education

It comprises empirical research papers, papers on innovations and developments, position papers, theoretical papers and letters to the editors.
Journal of Biological Education

It establishes as the authoritative voice in the world of biological education. It aims to bridge the gap between research and practice, providing information, ideas and opinion, in addition to critical examinations of advances in biology research and teaching.
Journal of Chemical Education

It publishes peer-reviewed articles and related information as a resource to those in the field of chemical education and to those institutions that serve them.
Journal of College Science Teaching

It is a peer-reviewed journal published by the National Science Teachers Association.  It provides a forum for the exchange of ideas on and experiences with undergraduate science courses, particularly those for non-science majors.
Journal of Food Science Education

It serves as an international forum for scholarly and innovative development in all aspects of food science education for “teachers” (individuals who facilitate, mentor, or instruct) and “students” (individuals who are the focus of learning efforts).
Journal of Geoscience Education

It is National Association of Geoscience Teachers’ peer-reviewed publication for geoscience education research, and serves as an international forum for research concerning the pedagogy, assessment, and philosophy of teaching and learning about the geosciences and related domains.
Journal of Research in Science Teaching

It publishes reports for science education researchers and practitioners on issues of science teaching and learning and science education policy.
Journal of Science Education and Technology

It publishes a broad range of papers covering theory and practice in order to facilitate future efforts of individuals and groups involved in the field.
Journal of Science Teacher Education

It features pragmatic articles that offer ways to improve classroom teaching and learning, professional development, and teacher recruitment and retention at pre K-16 levels.
Physical Review: Physics Education Research

It covers the full array of experimental and theoretical research relating to the teaching and learning of physics and astronomy.
Physics Education

The articles reflect the needs and interests of secondary school teachers, teacher trainers and those involved with courses up to introductory undergraduate level.
Public Understanding of Science

It is a fully peer-reviewed international journal covering all aspects of the inter-relationships between science (including technology and medicine) and the public.
Research in Science & Technological Education

It is an original research journal publishing international perspectives on science and technological education.
Research in Science Education

It examines early childhood, primary, secondary, tertiary, workplace, and informal learning as they relate to science education.
Resonance: Journal of Science Education

It features articles on physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics, computer science, and engineering.
School Science and Mathematics

It is an international journal that publishes research on issues, concerns, and lessons within and between the disciplines of science and mathematics in the classroom.
Science & Education

It publishes research using historical, philosophical, and sociological approaches in order to improve teaching, learning, and curricula in science and mathematics.
Science Activities

It publishes innovative manuscripts that will provide teachers and educators with the best classroom-tested projects, experiments, and curriculum ideas that promote science, inquiry through active learning experiences.
Science and Children

It is an award-winning peer-reviewed practitioners’ journal with an audience of pre K–5 science teachers and those who provide them support, as well as instructors of teachers and preservice elementary students.
Science Communication

It is an international, interdisciplinary social science journal that examines such topics as the nature of scientific expertise as represented through communication and the processes or effects characterizing the communication of science in any context.
Science Education

It publishes original articles on the latest issues and trends occurring internationally in science curriculum, instruction, learning, policy and preparation of science teachers with the aim to advance our knowledge of science education theory and practice.
Science Education International

It provides a means for associations, institutions, and individuals concerned with science education to share perspectives, concerns, ideas, and information that will foster cooperative efforts to improve science education, and which will serve as a chronicle of the advancement of science education throughout the world.
Science Educator

It is an official journal of The National Science Education Leadership Association (NSELA). It is a refereed journal which seeks manuscripts dealing with topics and issues of interest to professionals involved in science education leadership across a variety of roles, institutions and agencies.
Science Scope

It is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal for grade 6–8 teachers, university faculty responsible for teacher preparation, and state and district science supervisors and leaders.
Studies in Science Education

It publishes review articles which provide analytical syntheses of research into key topics and issues in science education.
The FASEB Journal

It publishes international, transdisciplinary research covering all fields of biology at every level of organization: atomic, molecular, cell, tissue, organ, organismic and population.
The Physics Teacher

It publishes peer-reviewed papers on the teaching of introductory physics and on topics such as contemporary physics, applied physics, and the history of physics.
The Science Teacher

It is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal with an audience made up of high school science educators who provide support for teachers, instructors of teachers, and preservice secondary education students.
Thinking Skills and Creativity

It is an international journal, launched in 2006, identifies and details critical issues in the future of learning and teaching of creativity, as well as innovations in teaching for thinking.
Trends in Neuroscience and Education

It provides a forum for original translational research on using systems neuroscience findings to improve educational outcome, as well as for reviews on basic and applied research as relevant to education, project reports, best practice examples, and opinions regarding evidence based educational policies and related subjects.
Australasian Journal of Educational Technology

It aims to promote research and scholarship on the integration of technology in tertiary education, promote effective practice, and inform policy.
British Journal of Educational Technology

It is a primary source for academics and professionals in the fields of digital educational and training technology throughout the world.
Canadian Journal of Science, Mathematics and Technology Education

It is an international forum for the publication of original articles written in a variety of styles, including research investigations using experimental, qualitative, ethnographic, historical, philosophical, or case study approaches.
Computer Science Education

It publishes high-quality papers with a specific focus on teaching and learning within the computing discipline.
Computers & Education

It aims to increase knowledge and understanding of ways in which digital technology can enhance education, through the publication of high quality research, which extends theory and practice.
Contemporary Issues in Technology and Teacher Education

It is an online, open-access, peer-reviewed journal, established and jointly sponsored by five professional associations (AMTE, ASTE, NCSS-CUFA, CEE, and SITE). This is the only joint venture of this kind in the field of teacher education.
Design and Technology Education

It is a research journal that uniquely provides a broad and inclusive platform for all aspects of design and technology education, design education and technology education in primary, secondary and higher education sectors, initial teacher education and continuous professional development.
Educational Technology Research and Development

It is the only scholarly journal in the field focusing entirely on research and development in educational technology.
Interactive Technology and Smart Education

It is a multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal, which provides a distinct forum to specially promote innovation and participative research approaches.
International Journal of Technology and Design Education

It encourages research and scholarly writing covering all aspects of technology and design education.
International Journal on E-Learning

It advances in technology and the growth of e-learning to provide educators and trainers with unique opportunities to enhance learning and teaching in corporate, government, healthcare, and higher education.
Journal of Digital Learning in Teacher Education

It provides a forum to share information about using technology in teacher education among departments, schools and colleges of education. It is published quarterly.
Journal of Educational Multimedia and Hypermedia

It is designed to provide a multi-disciplinary forum to present and discuss research, development and applications of multimedia and hypermedia in education.
Journal of Information Technology Education: Research

It is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes scholarly articles on the use of information technology at all levels of education.
Journal of Interactive Learning Research

It publishes papers related to the underlying theory, design, implementation, effectiveness, and impact on education and training of the following interactive learning environments: authoring systems, cognitive tools for learning computer-assisted language learning computer-based assessment systems, etc.
Journal of Research on Technology in Education

It publishes original research, literature reviews and syntheses, and methodological reviews, policy analyses, and theoretical or conceptual positions that relate to the efficacy of instructional uses of educational technology.
Journal of Technology and Teacher Education

It covers pre-service and in-service teacher education, graduate programs in areas such as curriculum and instruction, educational administration, staff development instructional technology, and educational computing.
Journal of Technology Education

It provides a forum for scholarly discussion on topics relating to technology and engineering-related education. Manuscripts should focus on technology and engineering-related education research, philosophy, and theory.
Journal of Technology Studies

It welcomes original manuscripts from scholars worldwide, focused on the depth and breadth of technology as practiced and understood past, present, and future. It provides an open forum for the exchange of relevant ideas in the field of technology studies.
Performance Improvement Quarterly

It is a peer-reviewed research-based journal with the mission to stimulate professional discussion and advance the interdisciplinary field of performance improvement and human performance technology through the publication of scholarly works including literature reviews, experimental studies, survey research, and case studies.
Research in Learning Technology

It publishes articles in the following broad areas: technology enhanced learning, online learning, distance learning, mobile learning, flexible learning, wearable technologies, simulation, learning environments, learning spaces, pedagogy, open educational practice and social media.
Research in Science & Technological Education

It is an original research journal publishing international perspectives on science and technological education.
SIGCSE Bulletin

It provides a forum for university educators to discuss concerns about development, implementation, and evaluation of computer science programs and courses, as well as syllabi and problem sets.
Technological Horizons in Education Journal

It is an application of technology journal for educators and administrators in higher education, K-12 and industry training.
Technology & Learning

It is the leading publication in the education technology market. It continues to be the most valuable resource for K-12 educators.
Technology and Culture

It publishes the work of historians, engineers, scientists, museum curators, archivists, sociologists, anthropologists, and others, on topics ranging from agriculture to zippers.
Technology and Engineering Teacher

It is peer-reviewed and is a useful, interesting tool for technology education professionals from elementary teachers to junior high, middle, and high school classroom teachers as well as teacher educators.
Advances in Engineering Education

It publishes articles on a wide variety of topics related to documented advances in engineering education practice, especially those that are best presented through the creative use of multimedia.
ASEE Prism

It is American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE)’s award winning flagship publication and the most popular magazine that covers engineering higher education in the United States.
Australasian Journal of Engineering Education

It is offered as a means of exchanging current work and ideas, predominately from Australasian engineering education faculties and as a resource for Continuing Professional Development for our community.
Chemical Engineering Education

It serves the needs of the international community of educators in chemical engineering.
Computer Applications in Engineering Education

It provides a forum for publishing peer-reviewed timely information on the innovative uses of computers, Internet, and software tools in engineering education.
Education for Chemical Engineers

It is targeted at chemical engineering academics and educators, discussing the ongoing changes and development in chemical engineering education.
Engineering Science and Education Journal

It was published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) between 1992 and 2002. It was a bimonthly journal that was designed to deal comprehensively with science, education, environmental and energy issues facing industry, business, commerce, government and educational establishments.
European Journal of Engineering Education

It provides an essential forum for dialogue between researchers and specialists in the field of engineering education, at European and worldwide levels.
IEEE Transactions on Education

It publishes significant and original scholarly contributions to education in electrical and electronics engineering, computer engineering, computer science, and other fields within the scope of interest of IEEE.
International Conference on Engineering Education

It emphasizes the dissemination of information on state-of-the-art advances in education and research, especially innovative approaches that link the two activities in addressing the education goals of new engineers of the 21st century.
International Journal for Service Learning in Engineering

It welcomes manuscripts based on original work of students and researchers with a specific focus or implication for service learning in engineering, engineering entrepreneurship in service, or related service learning pedagogy.
International Journal of Cognitive Research in Science, Engineering and Education

It provides a platform for highlighting and discussing various cognitive science issues dealing with the problems of cognition (and its evolution) within some specific subject field - philosophical, psychological, linguistic, mathematical, psychogenetic, pedagogical, and ergonomic.
International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education

It provides a showcase for international developments in the undergraduate teaching of electrical engineering and electronics, from power systems to nanotechnology.
International Journal of Engineering Education

It is an independent, peer-reviewed journal. It has been serving as an international archival forum of scholarly research related to engineering education for over thirty years.
International Journal of Engineering Pedagogy

It is an independent, peer-reviewed online journal. It serves as an international forum related to engineering education. Teachers, educators and researchers as well as schools and institutions are invited to discuss their research, experiences, ideas and perspectives in the field of engineering pedagogy at a worldwide level.
International Journal of Mechanical Engineering Education

It publishes peer-reviewed articles about new experimental methods, and laboratory techniques, and includes book reviews and highlights of recent articles in this field.
International Journal of Online Engineering

It publishes and discusses fundamentals, applications and experiences in the field of remote engineering, cyber-physical systems, virtual instrumentation and online simulations.
Journal of Engineering Studies and Research

It contains the most recent theoretical and experimental studies concerning the topical and perspective problems in the conception and manufacturing fields of the technological plants and equipments.
Journal of Engineering Technology

It is an international scholarly refereed research journal to promote the theory and practice of engineering, technology, and implementation.
Journal of Pre-college Engineering Education Research

It aims to create an engineering‐literate society through preeminence in P­‐12 engineering education research and scholarship.
Online Journal for Global Engineering Education

It serves as a unique peer-reviewed research outlet for the cross-disciplinary and corporate constituencies involved in creating, maintaining, and growing global engineering education programs.
Proceedings: Conference on Software Engineering Education and Training

It is an international peer-reviewed conference, sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society. It publishes papers in all areas related to software engineering education, training and professionalism.
Proceedings: Frontiers in Education Conference

It aims to promote and advance engineering and computing education to ensure that all students receive the best possible education.
Requirements Engineering Education and Training

It discusses among professionals and students, academics, industrial personnel, and consultants, about how best to prepare students and practitioners to effectively engage in the activities that comprise Requirements Engineering.
Technology and Engineering Teacher

It is peer-reviewed and is a useful, interesting tool for technology education professionals from elementary teachers to junior high, middle, and high school classroom teachers as well as teacher educators.
Canadian Journal of Science, Mathematics and Technology Education

It is an international forum for the publication of original articles written in a variety of styles, including research investigations using experimental, qualitative, ethnographic, historical, philosophical, or case study approaches.
Educational Studies in Mathematics

It presents new ideas and developments of major importance to those working in the field of mathematical education.
For the Learning of Mathematics

It aims to stimulate reflection on mathematics education at all levels, and promote study of its practices and its theories: to generate productive discussion; to encourage enquiry and research; to promote criticism and evaluation of ideas and procedures current in the field.
International Journal for Mathematics Teaching and Learning

It is published only in electronic form. It focuses on mathematics teaching and learning for all ages up to university through relevant articles and reviews from around the world.
International Journal of Mathematical Education in Science and Technology

It provides a medium by which a wide range of experience in mathematical education can be presented, assimilated and eventually adapted to everyday needs in schools, colleges, polytechnics, universities, industry and commerce.
International Journal of Science and Mathematics Education

It publishes original, peer reviewed articles on a variety of topics and research methods in both science and mathematics education, and also the use of a variety of teaching and learning strategies in different cultural and cross-curricular contexts.
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education

It is the official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) and provides a forum for disciplined inquiry into the teaching and learning of mathematics.
Journal of Mathematical Behavior

It solicits original research on the learning and teaching of mathematics.
Journal of Mathematics Education at Teachers College

It is intended to provide dissemination opportunities for writers of practice-based or research contributions to the general field of Mathematics Education.
Journal of Mathematics Teacher Education

It is devoted to research that seeks to improve the education of mathematics teachers and develop teaching methods that better enable mathematics students to learn.
Journal of Statistics Education

It disseminates knowledge for the improvement of statistics education at all levels, including elementary, secondary, post-secondary, post-graduate, continuing, and workplace education.
Journal of Urban Mathematics Education

It aims to foster a transformative global academic space in mathematics that embraces critical research, emancipatory pedagogy, and scholarship of engagement in urban communities.
Mathematical Thinking and Learning

It is directed at researchers interested in mathematics education from any of these perspectives, with a particular focus on mathematical thinking, reasoning, and learning.
Mathematics and Computer Education

It is a peer-reviewed academic journal that provides evaluation and distribution of articles on mathematics and computer education.
Mathematics Education Research Journal

It provides a forum for publication of research in the teaching and learning of mathematics across all levels.
Mathematics Education Trends and Research

It is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original papers of high scientific value in all areas of mathematics and education and its related fields.
Mathematics Teaching

It aim to publish articles that will be of interest to the breadth of their membership, from the Foundation Stage to Higher and Further Education; as well as a balance between those derived from research and from practical experience.
Research in Mathematics Education

It is an international English language journal, publishing original refereed articles on all aspects of mathematics education.
School Science and Mathematics

It is an international journal that publishes research on issues, concerns, and lessons within and between the disciplines of science and mathematics in the classroom.
Statistics Education Research Journal

It aims to advance research-based knowledge that can help to improve the teaching, learning, and understanding of statistics or probability at all educational levels and in both formal and informal contexts.
Teaching Children Mathematics

It focuses on intuitive, exploratory investigations that use informal reasoning to help students develop a strong conceptual basis that leads to greater mathematical abstraction.
Teaching Mathematics and its Applications

It provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and experiences which contribute to the improvement of mathematics teaching and learning for students from upper secondary/high school level through to university first degree level.
The American Statistician

It publishes general-interest articles about current national and international statistical problems and programs, interesting and fun articles of a general nature about statistics and its applications, and the teaching of statistics.
The International Journal for Technology in Mathematics Education

It provides a medium through which a wide range of experiences in the use of technology in mathematics education can be shared.
The Mathematics Educator

It aims to promote the interchange of ideas among the mathematics education community, locally, nationally, and internationally and to present a variety of viewpoints on a broad spectrum of issues related to mathematics education.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal