Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Primary Sources: Shostakovich, Dmitri 1906-1975

Shostakovich: 24 prel︠i︡udii i fugi, Op.87


Shostakovich, Dmitriĭ. 1952. [Op. 87]. 24 Preliudii i fugi dlia fortepiano Tom I (Nos. 1-12)... Tom II (NoNo 13-24) [Op. 87. Twenty-four preludes and fugues for piano. Vol. I (nos. 1-12)... Vol. II (nos. 13-24)]. Moskva [Cyrillic]: Gosudarstvennoe muzykal'noe izdatel'stvo [State Music Publishers].

Call no. : Music 786.21872 S55 p9 op.87 v.1-2

Two volumes. Folio. Original publisher's dark brown cloth-backed paper-covered boards with titling printed in sepia, gilt titling to spine. 

First Edition of the complete cycle. 

"Shostakovich habitually turned to contrapuntal composition when he experienced a creative block... Part of his rehabilitation strategy after his fall from grace in 1936 had a Bachian aspect, evident in three of the five movements of the Piano Quintet and the opening movement of the Sixth Symphony. With the cycle of 24 Preludes and Fugues for piano of 1950–51 he confirmed his second return to creative life [after the 1948 resolution of the Soviet Composers' Union] in the most monumental of his Bachian homages... The purity of the C major Prelude and Fugue suggests a tabula rasa, a new beginning from untainted sources. Like the Third Symphony, this work quarries out all sorts of musical gestures and motifs which would sustain him in his following works... The last Prelude and Fugue, in D minor, not only makes an impressively defiant culmination to the cycle; it also adumbrates motifs and textures crucial to the first movement of the [Tenth] symphony." David Fanning in Grove online

Image and descriptions provided by J & J Lubrano Music Antiquarians


Modern versions available in the Music Library



24 prel︠i︡udii i fugi, soch. 87.

Moskva : Izdatel′stvo "DSCH,". 2015.

MuR 780.81 S55 v.113 score


Vierundzwanzig Praludien und Fugen fur Klavier, opus 87.

Leipzig : Edition Peters.

Music 786.42 S55 p9 Bd II score  


     24 preludes et fugues pour piano, op. 87.

     Paris : Les Editions du Chant du Monde. c2006.

     Music 786.2187 S55 p9  score