Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Primary Sources: Loewe, Carl 1796-1869

Loewe: Heinrich der Vogler Op. 56 no. 1


Loewe, Carl. 1860. Drei Balladen, op. 56, nr. 1 : Herr Heinrich sitzt am Vogelheerd. Leipzig: Gustav Heinze.

Call no. : UP 783.442 L82 b1 h4

Oblong folio. Unbound. 

First published in Dresden in 1836.

"Loewe's predilection for the narrative poem resulted in a body of work distinctive in its character and appeal... He achieved unity in the diverse scenes and dialogues of his narratives by purely musical means..." TNG 11 p. 17.

Image and descriptions provided by J & J Lubrano Music Antiquarians



Further reading Carl Loewe (The Oxford Companion to Music)