Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Primary Sources: Beethoven, Ludwig van 1770-1827

Beethoven: Symphony No. 5


Beethoven, Ludwig van. 1830. Cinquième symphonie à grand orchestre. Leipzig: Chez Breitkopf & Härtel. 

Call no. : U 784.2184 B41 s9 no.5 B8               

“Modern blue half cloth with marbled boards, original dark yellow printed wrappers bound in. 1f. (title), 182 pp. Engraved. First Edition, later issue, printed from the original plates, but with a new engraved title and the addition of the printed note to p. 108. The printed note on p. 108 refers to volume 48 of Allgemeine musikalische Zeitung (1846); the note in German strikingly contrasts to the title page in French, testifying to the emerging status of the German language as a musical lingua franca of the later nineteenth century.”

Image and descriptions provided by J & J Lubrano Music Antiquarians




Modern versions available in the Music Library

Symphonie Nr. 5 c moll, Opus 67.

Leipzig: Edition Peters. [19--].

Call no.: Music 784.2184 B41 s9 no.5 E  score

Miniature full score


Symphonie V, C moll, op. 67 = C minor = Do mineur.

Wien: Universal Edition. [19--].

Call no.: Music 785.1 B41 no5  score  

Miniature full score


Symphony no. 5 in C minor: an authoritative score, the sketches, historical background, analysis, views and comments.

New York: Norton. 1971. 

Call no.: Music 785.1 B41 no5 +F  score

Fünfte Symphonie, c-Moll, Opus 67: Faksimile nach dem Autograph in der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin Preussischer  Kulturbesitz.

 Laaber: Laaber-Verlag. 2002.

 Call no.: MuR 784.2184 B41 no.5 M  score  


 Symphonien III.

  München: G. Henle Verlag. 2013.

  Call no.: MuR 780.81 B41 H5 vI/3 score     



Beethoven: String Quartet Op.130


Beethoven, Ludwig van. [Op. 130]. Troisième Quatuor pour 2 Violons, Alte & Violoncelle...; dediés a Son Altesse Monseigneur le Prince Nicolas de Galitzin. [Set of parts]. Vienne: Maths.. 

Call no. : U785.7194 B41 q1s op.130M     


First Edition. 

This, the third of the quartets dedicated to Prince Galitzin, was composed in 1825. 

"It is hard to resist the conviction, dangerous as superlatives must always be, that as a masterpiece of the sonata type of construction, the opening movement of this last and most mature of the Galitzin Quartets is unrivalled and unique, not only in Beethoven but possibly in all quartet literature." Mason: The Quartets of Beethoven, p. 208.

"The event that was personally important to Beethoven at this time was the first performance of his Quartet in B-flat, his "Leibquartett" as it [was] once called in the Conversation Books... The performance took place on March 21, 1826... [Matthias Artaria] had purchased the publishing rights of the Quartett and after the performance he went to Beethoven with the suggestion that he write a new finale and that the fugue be published as an independent piece... Beethoven complied, and the original finale was subsequently published as Op. 133." Thayer-Forbes: Beethoven, pp. 974-975. 

Image and descriptions provided by J & J Lubrano Music Antiquarians



Modern version available in the Music Library

Streichquartett, B dur, op. 130/op. 133.

Wien : Wiener Philharmonischer Verlag. [1946]

Call no.: Music 785.7194 B41 q1s op.130 score

Miniature full score

Beethoven: String Quartets Op. 132 & 135


Beethoven, Ludwig van. [Op. 132 and 135]. Quatuor pour 2 Violons Alto & Violoncelle Composé & Dédié à Son Altesse Monseigneur le Prince Nicolas de Galitzin Lieutenant Colonel de la Garde de Sa Majeste Impérial de toutes les Russies... Partition. Oeuvre posthume. Oeuv. 132. No. 12 des Quatuors. Berlin.

Call no. : U 785.7194 B41 q1s op. 132 A           

Contemporary marbled boards.

First Edition. 

Bound with:BEETHOVEN. Quatuor pour 2 Violons, Alto & Violoncelle Composé & Dédié à son ami Jean Wolfmeier... Partition. Oeuvre posthume. Oeuv. 135. No. 17 des Quatuors. [Full score]. Berlin: Ad. Mt. Schlesinger... Paris: Maurice Schlesinger [PN] 1448, [after 1827]. 1f. (title), 3-34, [ii] (blank) pp. Engraved. Price: "1 Rthl." No PN to pp. 32-33. With presentation inscription to head of title: "Herrn Concertmeister Edm. Singer der Verleger." Handstamp to lower left corner: "Schlesingersche Buch- u. Musikhandlung." 

Edmund (originally Ödön) Singer (1830-1912) was a Hungarian violinist. He became concertmaster in Pest (1846), Weimar (1854), and finally Stuttgart (1861), where he also took a teaching position at the conservatory and evolved into a leading figure in the city's music life. In 1872, Richard Wagner selected him as concertmaster for the concert on the occasion of the laying of the cornerstone of the Bayreuth Festival Theater (Beethoven's Ninth symphony). See Ehrlich, ed., Berühmte Geiger der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, pp. 214-18. Singer died in Stuttgart. 

The date of the dedication (probably not before 1854) is unknown, as is the identity of the signer. According to "Musikverlagswiki" (Musikdrucke website) maintained by the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Leipzig, Heinrich Schlesinger was the sole owner of the company from 1844 until 1865, when the company was sold to Robert Lienau. However, the signature is unlikely to read either "Schlesinger" or "Lienau."

Image and descriptions provided by J & J Lubrano Music Antiquarians



Modern versions available in the Music Library

Streichquartett a-Moll, Opus 132 = String quartet in A minor, op. 132.

München : G. Henle. c2002.

Call no.:  Music 785.7194 B41 q1s op.132  score  

Streichquartett F-dur, Opus 135 = String quartet in F major, op. 135 

München : G. Henle Verlag. c2004.

Call no.:  Music 785.7194 B41 q1s op.135  score