For details, click here.
Interdisciplinary
Below are non music-specific databases where you’ll also find relevant music materials in other disciplines.
JSTOR features well-known scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, research areas include music in China, Japan, Korea and Southeast Asian countries. The latest 5 years published issues are not available.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It also offers full text for over 1,000 journals with many dating back to1990.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. General searches can be conducted by subject term, author, journal’s title or author affiliation. It also supports Cited Reference Search that allows us to know the detailed information of cited authors or cited works. For instance, what articles have cited a person’s work? It provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 forward.
Project MUSE contains full-text journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, specific areas like film studies, cultural studies, and gender as well.
CINAHL Plus (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) features the latest scholarly writings of music therapy and autism.
MEDLINE includes musculoskeletal disorders (pain of various body parts found in musicians) and performance anxiety.
ERIC provides scholarly articles of pedagogy in musical instruments (e.g. piano pedagogy or Suzuki method) and music education.
Lexis advance Hong Kong finds court cases in music e.g. licensing, artist rights, music piracy.