Selected Bibliography on Dispute ResolutionSelected Sources of PRC Law
Key DatabasesDatabases by JurisdictionIndexes & Abstracts DatabasesE-BooksDissertations Databases
Bibliographic management toolsLegal Citation StylesLegal Research and Writing
Westlaw Student Representatives (WSR)
This is the "Legal Research and Writing" page of the "Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law   Tags: law, legal citations, lexis, westlaw  

Guide to legal research materials at HKU Libraries
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/law Print Guide RSS Updates

Legal Research and Writing Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Legal research

Cover Art
Dane & Thomas, how to use a law library: an introduction to legal skills - Thomas, Philip A.
Call Number: KL155 D1
ISBN: 0421744103
4th ed. 2001
The book summarizes the steps to be taken when consulting reference works, and includes flow charts to highlight the key steps. It explains the latest developments in electronic research techniques and guides the reader on appropriate use of both paper or electronic sources.

Cover Art
Learning legal rules : a students' guide to legal method and reasoning - Holland, James A.
Call Number: KA55 H73
ISBN: 0199557748
7th ed. 2010
Bringing together the theory, structure, and practice of legal reasoning in an accessible style, this book explains how to uncover and exploit the mysteries of legal materials. It draws the student into the techniques of legal analysis and argument and the operation of precedent and statutory interpretation.

Cover Art
Legal information [electronic resource]: what it is and where to find it - Clinch, Peter.
Call Number: View the book via ebrary/eBooks on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 0851424457
2nd ed. 2000
The guide shows how to source legal information, and how to deal with legal databases and the need-it-now demands of the marketplace.

Cover Art
Legal research : a practitioner's handbook - Clinch, Peter, 1945-
Call Number: KL155 C64 l4
ISBN: 0854900640
2010
Provides practical advice on every aspect of effective legal research: problem analysis, selecting and finding the best sources, and presenting results effectively.

Cover Art
Thinking like a lawyer: how to thrive in law school and beyond - Zhou, Mi.
Call Number: KL131 Z63
ISBN: 9789626617403
Publication Date: 2015
An essential guide for those starting out on their study of law. Drawing on a wealth of sources, it shares key tips on how to stay afloat in an ocean of legal texts. The volume answers the crucial questions facing first and second-year law students: What is close reading? What does thinking critically mean? How can you analyse a problem efficiently and effectively? It takes you step-by-step through the process of acquiring the skills you will need to get the most out of your law studies. The book also contains a handy Short Guide to Survival, which contains crucial advice for new law students.

Cover Art
Using a law library: a student's guide to legal research skills - Clinch, Peter.
Call Number: KL155 C64
ISBN: 1841740292
2nd ed. 2001
This book gives advice on researching the law of England, Wales and Scotland; it includes information about electronic sources.

Cover Art
Writing law dissertations : an introduction and guide to the conduct of legal research - Salter, Michael, 1957-
Call Number: KL155 S17
ISBN: 0582894352
2007
This book shows the reader how to research and write a dissertation, covering the various stages -- planning, identifying key issues, utilising the appropriate research methods, time management issues, and managing one's supervision. This book covers legal dissertation level research, embracing both LL.B. (undergraduate) and the specific demands of LL.M. dissertations.

Cover Art
Writing law dissertations [electronic resource]: an introduction and guide to the conduct of legal research - Salter, Michael, 1957-
Call Number: View the book via MyLibrary
ISBN: 0582894352
2007
This book shows the reader how to research and write a dissertation, covering the various stages -- planning, identifying key issues, utilising the appropriate research methods, time management issues, and managing one's supervision. This book covers legal dissertation level research, embracing both LL.B. (undergraduate) and the specific demands of LL.M. dissertations.

 

Legal writing

Cover Art
Academic legal writing : law review articles, student notes, seminar papers, and getting on law review - Volokh, Eugene.
Call Number: K101 V92
ISBN: 1599417502
4th ed. 2010
Designed to help law students write and publish articles, this text provides detailed instructions for every aspect of the law school writing, research, and publication process.

Cover Art
Advanced legal writing and oral advocacy: trials, appeals, and moot court - Murray, Michael D.
Call Number: K101 M98 a
ISBN: 1599413973
2009
This book is designed for advanced writing courses involving advocacy and oral argument at the trial and appellate levels and in moot court competitions.

Cover Art
English for law students - Van der Walt, Christa.
Call Number: KR4266 V22
ISBN: 0702182176
3rd ed. 2009

Cover Art
Foundations of legal research and writing - Bast, Carol M.
Call Number: 340.072 B3
ISBN: 1435413385
4th ed. 2010
Real life examples, and sample documents serve as a resource for anyone who has to perform legal research or draft legal documents. A complete chapter is devoted to computer-assisted legal research written by an expert in the field.

Cover Art
How to cite legal authorities - French, Derek.
Call Number: R K114 F87
ISBN: 1854313150
1996
This book deals with a simple problem that affects all lawyers, whether practising or in training. This book claims to show how to write the citation. It features a dictionary of law reports and legal periodicals, giving their preferred abbreviations. There are also recommendations for typography and punctuation of citations with many alternatives given from which a personal style can be devised.

Cover Art
How to write law essays and exams - Strong, Stacie.
Call Number: K101 S92
ISBN: 0199533571
3rd ed. 2010
This practical guide includes cases and worked examples, enabling students at all levels to adopt good essay writing techniques and methods of analysing exam questions. It provides a framework for analysing legal problems that should continue to be useful in the workplace.

Cover Art
Index to legal citations and abbreviations - Raistrick, Donald.
Call Number: R K112 R15
ISBN: 184703604X
3rd ed. 2008
"A now-classic "index", The Index to Legal Citations and Abbreviations reveals the meaning of over 34,000 legal acronyms in usage. The acronyms range from the approximately 9,000 most up-to-date additions to this edition to those in use for centuries, and cover the legal literature of the UK, the Commonwealth, Europe and the USA. It also includes abbreviations from areas frequently encountered by lawyers - government and public administration, police and probation services." "This book is an essential reference tool for anyone looking to identify an abbreviated reference or references."

Cover Art
Legal analysis and writing - Putman, William H.
Call Number: LB 808.06634 P99
ISBN: 1418080926
3rd ed. 2009
Legal Analysis and Writing, third edition, provides the student with in-depth knowledge of the fundamentals of legal analysis and writing, the operation of the elements of the fundamentals in the analysis and writing process, and the manner in which the process guides and assists the student in the production of a finished product, such as an interoffice research memorandum. The text is national in scope and designed for students who have completed introductory legal assistant courses. The focus of the text is on the legal analysis and writing process.

Cover Art
Legal writing and analysis - Murray, Michael D.
Call Number: K101 M98
ISBN: 1599413957
2009

Cover Art
Legal writing in a nutshell - Bahrych, Lynn.
Call Number: 808.06634 B15
ISBN: 0314906916
4th ed. 2009
This product provides the keys to organizing legal memoranda and briefs, crafting clear and concise sentences, using legal language accurately, using grammar and punctuation properly, and writing persuasively using classical rhetorical techniques. It describes a method for analyzing an individual writing style and improving it and includes a sample analysis. It includes new material on using plain English and new samples of legal memoranda and briefs to illustrate effective writing techniques.

Cover Art
Opinion writing - Boyle, Matthew, Barrister.
Call Number: K101 O6
ISBN: 0199568545
2009-2010 ed. 2009
Opinion Writing guides students through all aspects of the opinion writing process, from analysis of the case, and deciding upon the appropriate advice, to writing the opinion to a high professional standard. Sample opinions written by practising barristers are contained throughout, providing a realistic and valuable learning resource for students.

Cover Art
Opinion writing and case preparation - The City Law School
Call Number: K101 O61 C
ISBN: 9780199657353
2nd ed. 2012
This manual illustrates the essential stages of opinion writing, from analysis of the case and determining appropriate advice to writing the opinion, and provides a number of sample opinions written by practising barristers.

Cover Art
Plain language for lawyers - Asprey, Michele M.
Call Number: K100 A84
ISBN: 1862877750
4th ed. 2010

Cover Art
Students' guide to legal writing, law exams, and self assessment - Campbell, Enid Mona.
Call Number: K101 C18
ISBN: 1862877556
3rd ed. 2010
Offers law students succinct but essential practical advice on to how to prepare well researched and written work required for assessment in law courses and the strategies for effective preparation and sitting of law exams. The third edition contains a fully revised section dealing with the use of electronic resources, including guidance on using search tools such as Google, and a discussion of the need for a critical and careful approach to reliance upon internet sources.

Cover Art
Style guide - The Economist
Call Number: R K100 E19
ISBN: 1846681758
10th ed. 2010

Cover Art
Successful legal analysis and writing : the fundamentals - Clary, Bradley G.
Call Number: K101 C61
ISBN: 0314908048
3rd ed. 2010
This work is a practical legal analysis and writing handbook. Designed for first-year students, it is also a valuable refresher text for more advanced students and for practitioners. The book features fundamental advice, a problem-solving perspective, illustrative examples and templates, and an easy-to-read approach. The third edition includes additional examples and models and a chapter on oral argument.


Cover Art
You can write better English - Kalb, Barry.
Call Number: 428.24951 K14
ISBN: 9789881946010
2010

 

  Quick Links

Legal Research & Writing at BrowZine

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip