This is the "Books" page of the "Dentistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This subject guide covers resources in dentistry availabe at the HKU Libraries.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/dentistry Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Acquisitions List

New acquisitions list (up to 3 weeks ago) can be found here.

 

Black Classification No.

For materials in dentistry, they are classified according to the Black Classification Scheme. The major divisions are as follows: 

Black Class No. Subject

617.6

Dentistry in general

617.61

Basic sciences

617.62

Conservative dentistry

617.626

Endodontics

617.629

Pedodontics

617.63

Prosthetic dentistry

617.64

Orthodontics

617.65

Dental health and dental care

617.66

Oral pathology

617.67

Oral surgery

617.68

Dental practice and practice management

617.69

Dental anesthesia

 

Useful Links

Find@HKUL - provides one-stop search for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in HKU Libraries. The search can be extended to all 8 UGC-funded university libraries in Hong Kong through HKALL.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form (ILLiad) - request resources from local and overseas sources.

Book Recommendation Online - suggest new titles for inclusion in the Libraries' collections.

 

 

Reference Books

Concise encyclopedia of medical & dental materials / editor, David Williams ; executive editor, Robert W. Cahn ; senior advisory editor, Michael B. Bever.
Call Number: DR 617.6151 C7
ISBN: 0080361943
Publication Date: 1990

A dictionary of dentistry / Robert Ireland.
Click to view the book via Oxford reference online
ISBN: 9780199533015
Publication Date: 2010   

Drug information handbook for dentistry : including oral medicine for medically compromised patients & specific oral conditions / [senior editors], Richard L. Wynn, Timothy F. Meiller, Harold L. Crossley.
Call Number: DR 617.6691 W98 d
ISBN: 9781591953340
Publication Date: 2014   

Mosby's Dental drug reference/ Tommy W. Gage, Frieda Atherton Pickett.
Click to view the book via ClinicalKey
ISBN: 9780323228435
Publication Date: 2014

Stedman's dental dictionary : illustrated.
Call Number: DR 617.6032 S79
ISBN: 9781608311460
Publication Date: 2012
 

E-book Collection

To view the full list of Dentistry E-Book, please click here.

To view more E-Book, please try the following E-Book Collection

AccessMedicine

ebrary

ClinicalKey

SpringerLinK

 

Community Health Project

The Community Health Projects have been submitted by all final year students of the Faculty of Dentistry since 1984. Under the guidance of their instructors, the students have worked in groups to investigate and explore different oral health issues in the Hong Kong community. Some of the projects were actually presented in international conferences such as Asian-Pacific Dental Congress and International Association for Dental Research South-east Asian Division Meeting and furthermore, one of the projects won the first Asia Pacific Dental Student Research Competition in 1994.

To view a complete list of the Community Health Projects via the HKU Scholars Hub, please click here.

 

Selected E-books

Carranza's clinical periodontology  / [edited by] Michael G.Newman, Henry H. Takei, Perry R. Klokkevold ; editor emeritus, Fermin A. Carranza. 12th ed. 2015 

Cohen's pathways of the pulp / editors, Kenneth M. Hargreaves, Stephen Cohen. 10th ed.  c2011 

Craig's restorative dental materials / edited by Ronald L. Sakaguchi, John M. Powers. 13th ed. c2012 

An introduction to orthodontics / Laura Mitchell ; with contributions from Nigel E. Carter and Bridget Doubleday. 2nd ed. 2001 

Little and Falace's dental management of the medically compromised patient  / James W. Little ... [et al.]. 8th ed. 2013 

McDonald and Avery's dentistry for the child and adolescent / [edited by] Jeffrey A. Dean, David R. Avery, Ralph E. McDonald. 9th ed. 2011 

Netter's head and neck anatomy for dentistry / Neil S. Norton. 2nd ed. 2012 

Pickard's manual of operative dentistry / Edwina A.M. Kidd ... [et al.]. 8th Ed. 2003 

The principles of endodontics / Michael Manogue, Shanon Patel, Richard T. Walker. 2005

Paediatric dentistry / edited by Richard Welbury, Monty Duggal and Marie-Thérèse Hosey. 3rd ed. 2005

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip