This guide provides a starting point for research and study in this subject.
Last Updated: May 31, 2017
To view complete list of materials related to Earth Sciences, please select from below:
For federated search of multiple platforms:
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This database offers abstracts to the worldwide literature covering all aspects of the environmental sciences. It is comprised of twelve subfiles available individually through CSA. They are Agricultural & Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts, ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality, Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B), Ecology Abstracts, EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Human Population & Natural Resource Management, Health & S
is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. The database provides current coverage of over 1,800 journals and archival coverage of several thousand additional titles.
is the American Geological Institute's database of references and selected abstracts covering the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. It corresponds to the print publications: Bibliography of North American geology (including its earlier titles); Bibliography and index of geology exclusive of North America ; Geophysical abstracts (Washington, D.C.); and: Bibliography and index of geology.
- ISI Web of Knowledge
is a Web-based platform that integrates several databases: Derwent innovations index; ISI current contents connect; ISI essential science indicators; SI journal citation reports; ISI proceedings; ISI web of science and ISI highlycited.com. It extends and deepens the research coverage available through one resource by integrating journal, patent, proceedings, and life sciences literature with Web resources and other scholarly data. It also supports citation research via its Citation Index.
- ISI Web of Science
forms part of the ISI Web of Knowledge. It consists of: Science Citation Index Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
- Oceanic Abstracts
Oceanic Abstracts focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
- Water Resources Worldwide
Water Resources Worldwide, produced by NISC, combines databases on all facets of international and African water research. Included in the aggregation are six of the world's major water resource databases: WATERLIT, The Freshwater Biological Association Catalogue (FBA), The International Water Management Institute Database (IWMI), AQUAREF, AQUIRE, and Delft Hydro Database.
Web of Science
- Connect to the database Web of Knowledge
- Once you are in Web of Knowledge, click on the tab for "Web of Science"
- In the middle of the search template, you will see a hyperlink for "Author Finder". Please click on it. You will then need to go through several steps:
- Enter author name: E.g. enter "Ho" as last name, "J" as first initial and "CM" as middle initials. Click on the "Next" button.
- Select author variant, and then click on the "Next" button.
- Select subject category: If the author's publications might fall under different subject disciplines, select all. And then, click on the Next button.
- Select institution: Tick those institutions which the author is or have been affiliated with. And then click on the "Finish Now" button.
- Click on the "Create Citation Report" hyperlink. You will then get data such as number of publications, times cited and the h-index.
- Access Scopus
- Click on the "Author Search" tab.
- Enter the last name and the initials. E.g. "Ho" as last name, "J.C.M." as initial. Please also tick the checkbox for "Show exact matches".
- You may then see a list of authors with variant name formats. For the above example, you will find two author records. If you refer to the record which belongs to this author, and click on the "Details" link, you will find the citation analysis data, including the number of publications, times cited, h-index. E.g. For this author, there are 28 publications receiving 191 citations and the h-index is 9.
Note: As there may be publications by other authors with the same name, or variant forms of the same name, perhaps there are two things that you may wish to do at this stage:
- To make sure that entries under variant author names are included in the analysis: Click open "Find unmatched authors" and check if there are other forms of this name. If there are entries that refer to this author, tick the checkbox against the entry. Then, click on the "Group with author" button. These publications will then be added to perform an aggregate analysis.
- To make sure that all documents included have been written by this author and not by someone else under the same name: Click on the number against "Document". Go through the list and mark those which belong to this author. After this, click on the "Citation Tracker" button. A new analysis will be performed, and you will get a new figure for "Cited By' and h-index.
For more information, please contact your Faculty Librarian.
5/F, Main Library, University of Hong Kong,
Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong.
Phone: (852) 2219-4748Send Email