Class PageCourse Reserve MaterialsPast Exam Papers
DatabasesElectronic BooksElectronic JournalsReference MaterialsTheses
Citation StylesEndnote
This is the "Databases" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English  

Subject guide to English resources for study or research of the subject
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/english Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links

To view complete list of materials related to English, please select from below:

 

Major Databases

Early English Books Online This database reproduces works listed in : Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection. Additionally, the Early English Books Tract Supplement provides an exceptional perspective on many aspects of 16th and 17th-century British life. It is useful for most research requirements of graduate scholars in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts.

Essay and general literature index  Essay and General Literature Index is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Essay and General Literature Index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

Evans early American imprint collection The University of Michigan, NewsBank/Readex Co., and the American Antiquarian Society are cooperating in a Text Creation Partnership to create 6,000 accurately keyed and fully searchable SGML/XML text editions from among the 40,000 titles available in the Evans Early American Imprints Collection.

ISI web of science Citation indexes covering all disciplines in the arts and humanities.

Literature online A searchable database of more than 260,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources. Offers a number of search methods, including searching by authors, works or keywords, browsing by authors and works, and searching secondary sources.

Literature resource center Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series. Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 full-text titles.

MLA international bibliography MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

ProQuest The database includes periodicals and newspapers articles from over 5,000 publications, with many in full text. It comprises of various databases: ABI/Inform complete, Academic research library, Accounting & tax, Banking information source, Career and technical education, ERIC PlusText, GenderWatch, Pharmaceutical news index, ProQuest Asian business, ProQuest computing, ProQuest education journals, ProQuest European business, ProQuest medical library, ProQuest newspapers, ProQuest telecommunications, ProQuest religion, Research library newspapers, ProQuest research library, ProQuest science journals, ProQuest science journals, ProQuest social science journals, ProQuest telecommunications, U.S. national newspaper abstracts.

To view a complete list of databases, please click here.

Arts and Architecture Faculties Librarian

Profile Image
Diana Tsui
Contact Info
5/F, Main Library, University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong
Tel: (852) 2219-4747
Fax: (852) 2549-0405
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip