Class PageCourse Reserve MaterialsPast Exam Papers
DatabasesElectronic BooksElectronic JournalsReference MaterialsTheses
Citation StylesEndnote
This is the "Databases" page of the "American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Studies  

Subject guide to American Studies resources for study or research of the subject
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/americanstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links

To view complete list of materials related to American Studies, please select from below:

 

Major Databases

Academic Search Premier provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more. Also offers full text for over 1,000 journals with many dating back to1990. Includes coverage of over 1,700 peer-reviewed journals.

America : history and life Covers writings about history and culture of United States and Canada from prehistory through the recent past. Provides brief summaries of journal articles and book articles, as well as listings for book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations. Also provides links to full text for selected journal articles.

American broadsides and ephemera. Series I Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection. American Broadsides and Ephemera offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The remarkably diverse subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.

American state papers, 1789-1838 Search or browse U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.

Early American imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800) Collection of digitized text and images from 17th and 18th century America based on the renowned American bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American bibliography. Users may search and browse various types of documents on topics related to government, history, politics, health, philosophy, labor, economics and trade, languages, military, literature, law and crime, people, science, theology, and society, customs, and manners.

Early American imprints. Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. Based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items. Offers fully searchable text and a browse feature with topical indexes. Bibliographic records created by the AAS are integrated into the database, providing additional access points.

Early American newspapers digital (1690-1875) Based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers,1690-1820, Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 is a unique, webbased archive of Americana that provides a fascinating glimpse into the nation's past. Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 features the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications, perfectly complementing the Early American Imprints series.

ISI web of science Citation indexes covering all disciplines in the arts and humanities.

JSTOR Provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

OmniFile full text mega Contains abstracts and indexes over 1,600 periodicals and provides the full text of some 594 periodicals. Coverage includes science, the humanities, the social sciences, general interest topics, as well as business. 

U.S. Congressional serial set 1817-1980 The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history.

To view a complete list of databases, please click here.

Arts and Architecture Faculties Librarian

Profile Image
Diana Tsui
Contact Info
5/F, Main Library, University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong
Tel: (852) 2219-4747
Fax: (852) 2549-0405
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip