Course Reserve & Past Papers
DatabasesDissertations & ThesesElectronic BooksElectronic JournalsReference Materials
EndNote & TurnitinStyle & Writing GuidesPublishing
This is the "Useful Links" page of the "Biological Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biological Sciences   Tags: biological sciences, life science, science  

This guide provides a starting point for research or study in this subject.
Last Updated: May 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/bio Print Guide RSS Updates

Useful Links Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar

 

Data repositories

Life Science Data Repositories: (See also here for more data repositories)

Data Repository

Data Content

Dryad

evolutionary biology, ecology

Ensembl

genome data

GenBank (NCBI)

nucleotide sequences

Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO, NCBI)

microarray and high throughput gene expression data

HapMap

genetic variants (alleles) for four human populations

Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes (KEGG)

metabolic pathways, genomes, genes, disease and drug information

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

repository of numerous life science data collections

National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEAS)

ecological studies

Protein Data Bank (PDB)

3D structure data for macromolecules (proteins and nucleic acids)

PubChem (NCBI)

bioactivity data, medical and toxicological information for small molecules

 

 

Internet Resources

Biodiversity hotspots A website created as a vehicle for distributing data on critically threatened ecosystems i.e. hotspots, particularly trends in biodiversity and threats, to a wider audience. It categorizes and prioritizes areas on all continents where biodiversity is at greatest risk and provides information about them for the purposes of planning and decision-making.
 
BiologyBrowser Produced by BIOSIS offering resources such as the nomenclature glossary for zoology, the zoological record thesaurus, current science news stories, and relevant web sites for life sciences information community.
 
Bioresearch BioResearch is created by a core team of information specialists and subject experts based at the University of Nottingham Greenfield Medical Library and is funded by the Joint Information Systems Committee (JISC) through the Resource Discovery Network (RDN). The site offers free access to a searchable catalogue of Internet sites covering the biological and biomedical sciences, including genetics, biotechnology, virology, biochemistry and molecular biology.
 
BioTech life science dictionary An online life science dictionary developed at the Indiana Institute for Molecular and Cellular Biology at Indiana University. The dictionary defines terms dealing with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cell biology, and genetics. Provides a search engine and search hints.
 
Botanical Society of America online image collection A collection of educational images for instructional use. There are various sub-collection of images such as Plant Morphology, Plant Defense Mechanisms, Plant Anatomy, and Cellular Communication Channels.
 
Earthtrends: the environmental information portal An environmental information portal for researching global topics such as water resources, climate and atmosphere, population and health, energy resources, or agriculture and food. Information from the searchable database includes data tables, country profiles, or maps with global, regional, and country-level environmental information. One-time, free registration required to access some data.
 
FishBase FishBase is an information system with key data on the biology of all important fishes; an electronic encyclopedia which covers over 50% of all extant fish species.
 
Food and Nutrition Information Center Includes information about publications and databases of the FNIC on general nutrition, nutrition education, food service, and other items. Provides details about the USDA/Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Foodborne Illness Education Information Center and the Healthy School Meals Resource System.
 
Hong Kong Herbarium The Hong Kong Plant Database provides information and images about the plants of Hong Kong (including the native and exotic species that have been recorded in Hong Kong). A searchable database includes colour photographs and species information.
 
iHOP : Information Hyperlinked over Proteins provides a network of concurring genes and proteins extends through the scientific literature touching on phenotypes, pathologies and gene function as a natural way of accessing millions of PubMed abstracts.
 
Systematic Mycology and Microbiology Offers access to nomenclature, specimens, literature, and fungus-host distributions databases from the Agricultural Research Service of the US Department of Agriculture (USDA). Includes the Saccardo Index and the Index of Fungi.

Research Relevant Links

All that JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources

A registry of Web resources that lists or provides access to the full title of journal abbreviations.

Bibliometrics (H-index)

The link will illustrate "How to get the H-index from two specific resources, ISI Web of Science and Scopus" according to your needs.

ePrints.org

Self-Archiving and Open Access (OA) Eprint Archives.

HKU Plagiarism

Give credit where credit is due. By properly citing the sources you use in your writings, you are both identifying the resources that you used to complete your work and you are formally acknowledging the authors or creators of those resources. Please read the handbook on plagiarism.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip