Using API or any other means to perform bulk download on library-subscribed resources are strictly prohibited.
If you need a large number of articles, please contact us and we will refer your request to database vendors and they may be able to provide analytics options and pricing. Some vendors also provide one-time academic text mining license. Please contact us for more details.
Below resources are subscribed by the HKU Libraries and can be accessed by your HKU Portal UID and PIN.
| 1. Country Analysis | User guide |
|---|---|
|
(After login to the database, search by country and limit to Country Reports) |
EBSCO training videos |
|
EIU viewpoint (selected countries)
|
EIU viewpoint Excel Add-in: User guide |
| EMIS Emerging markets Internet securities | User guide |
| IMD World Competitiveness Online | |
| OECDiLibrary | User guide |
| Web CEIC Data Manager | |
| 中國經濟社會大數據研究平台 (formerly CNKI 中國統計年鑒數據庫) | |
| 搜数 Soshoo : 中国统计数据专家 |
For more resources on Country information, please look at: Country Information
| 2. Industry/ Market Information on a product or service | User guide |
| Business source complete | EBSCO training videos |
| BCC Research: Market research reports and technical publications (HKU VPN only, VPN setup guide) | |
| EMIS Emerging markets Internet securities | User guide |
| IBISWorld China (China reports only) | Help center |
| Mintel Global New Product Database | |
| Oriana (Orbis Asia Pacific) | |
| Passport | |
| SPEEDA (M&A data) (Obtain username and password) | FAQ |
| 中國資訊行 China InfoBank | Online guide |
| 3. Company Information | User guide |
|
Capital IQ (Obtain username and password) Individual login can be arranged for full-time teaching/research staff and students of Business School, please complete the application form HERE or contact the Social Sciences, Business and Economics Librarian (ckitman@hku.hk) for further details. Unauthorized use (such as for commercial purposes), access will be terminated without prior notice. |
Help |
|
(After login to the database, click 'Company Information' on the top toolbar for searching) |
EBSCO training videos |
| Company Profiles from Business source complete (by MarketLine) | |
| ESG manager on campus | Online help |
| Oriana (Orbis Asia Pacific) | |
| Passport |
For resources on Company annual reports, please look at: Company Annual Reports
|
4. ESG (Environmental, Social, Governance) |
User guide |
| ESG manager on campus | Online help |
|
Wharton Research Data Services WRDS datasets
HKU Faculty, research assistants and students can register to apply for a personal account at WRDS login page; Please note we do not subscribe to all datasets that are available from WRDS. As of December 2022, WRDS is upgrading account security by utilizing Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) by Duo Security. How to Log In to WRDS Using Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) |
|
|
Self registration required, please refer to Libguide ESG data is available at individual company record page |
Libguide |
|
5. Trade Statistics |
User guide |
| United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database | |
| WTO iLibrary | User Guide |
|
6. News Articles |
User guide |
| Factiva (International newspapers) | User guide |
| WisersOne (Chinese newspapers) | WiseSearch User guide |
| Regional business news | EBSCOhost online tutorials |
| SIRS knowledge source | |
| Taiwan news smart web | User guide |
| 中國資訊行 China InfoBank | Online guide |
| The Economist historical archive (Year 1843-2015) | |
| Financial times historical archive (Year 1888-2010) |
For resources on newspapers and magazines, please look at: Newspapers, Popular Business Magazines
|
7. Articles (magazines, trade journals, academic journals) |
User guide |
| EconLit | EBSCOhost online tutorials |
| Business source complete | EBSCO training videos |
| ProQuest | User guide |
| Emerald Insight |
| 8. Financial Information | User guide |
|
Capital IQ (Obtain username and password) Individual login can be arranged for full-time teaching/research staff and students of Business School, please complete the application form HERE or contact the Social Sciences, Business and Economics Librarian (ckitman@hku.hk) for further details. Unauthorized use (such as for commercial purposes), access will be terminated without prior notice. |
Help |
|
CSMAR 國泰安數據庫:
|
|
| Genius Finance 巨灵财经金融服务平台 (previous title: GTIOne) | Help Center |
| International offshore financial centres | |
| Orbis Bank Focus | |
|
Self registration required, please refer to Libguide |
Libguide |
|
SDC Platinum at PC82 Level 3, Main Library (Access to three databases: Global New Issues, Mergers & Acquisitions and Joint Ventures) Refinitiv has notified us that the SDC Platinum desktop application will be retired at the end of 2023. For accessing to SDC Mergers & Acquisition and New Issues, please use Wharton Research Data Services (HKU Faculty, research assistants and students can register to apply for a personal account at WRDS login page) |
|
| Capital IQ Pro (previous title: SNL Financial) (Obtain username and password) | |
|
Wharton Research Data Services WRDS (HKU Faculty, research assistants and students can register to apply for a personal account at WRDS login page; Please note we do not subscribe to all datasets that are available from WRDS) As of December 2022, WRDS is upgrading account security by utilizing Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) by Duo Security. How to Log In to WRDS Using Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)
|
|
|
WIND Financial Terminal at PC83, 86, 87 and 88 Level 3, Main Library (There are other WIND terminals available at Business School's Computer Lab, KK1104 and they are exclusively for current staff and students of HKU Business School) |
|
|
Bloomberg Terminal at Bloomberg Lab (Only for current staff and students of HKU Business School) |
|
9. Case Study |
User guide |
| Emerald emerging markets case studies | |
| Business source complete (After login to the database, search by Case Study and Limit to Full text) |
EBSCO training videos |
|
10. Research Papers/ Conference Papers / Preprints |
User guide |
| SSRN: Economics research network | FAQ |
| SSRN: Financial economics network | FAQ |
| SSRN: Management research network | FAQ |
| SSRN: Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) Research Paper Series (open access) | |
| CEPR Discussion Papers (Centre for Economic Policy Research (Great Britain)) | |
| NBER working paper series (National Bureau of Economic Research (fulltext embargo: 3 years)) |
|
11. Major e-book collections |
|
|
Elgaronline : the online content platform for Edward Elgar Publishing |
For more electronic resources, please check HKUL Electronic Resources page.