Course Reserve & Past Papers
DatabasesDissertations & ThesesElectronic BooksElectronic JournalsReference MaterialsStandards & Patent
EndNote & TurnitinStyle & Writing GuidesPublishing
This is the "Databases" page of the "Electrical & Electronics Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Electrical & Electronics Engineering   Tags: eee, electrical engineering, electronic engineering, engineering  

Subject guide to Engineering resources for study or research of the subject
Last Updated: May 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/eee Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links

To view complete list of materials related to Electrical & Electronics Engineering, please select from below:

For federated search of multiple platforms:

Major Databases

  • ACM Digital Library
    Full text of all articles from 1991 to date published in 21 ACM journals and transactions, as well as tables of contents of conference proceedings, are available at this site. A search engine allows the user to find relevant information from all sources.
  • ANTE: abstracts in new technologies and engineering
    (formerly Current Technology Database), is an abstracting and indexing service monitoring approximately 350 academic and trade publications from the U.K. and the U.S. Coverage includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas.
  • Engineering Village 2
    includes 5 independently searchable databases: Compendex for journal abstracts and links to full-text, Website Abstracts for evaluated Web sites. Remote databases: US Patent Office for patent information, CRC Press Handbooks for technical engineering information (the database is known as ENGnetBase), and Industry Specs and Standards from Techstreet Standards.
  • INSPEC
    produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, is an excellent database for information in physics, electrical engineering, computers and control engineering, and information technology. INSPEC indexes 3,500 journals and 1,500 conferences.
  • MathSciNet
    Reviews and abstracts of research in mathematics, computer science, and statistics.
  • IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL)
    Combines a subset of the INSPEC database of abstracts and indexing to IEEE and IEE publications, full images of matching documents, and powerful search and retrieval software. Contains over 2,000 publications of the IEEE and IEE since 1988, including technical journals and magazines, standards and conference proceedings.
  • ISI Web of Science
    Online version of the 5 separate ISI indexes: Arts & humanities citation index; Science citation index; Social sciences citation index; Current chemical reactions and Index chemicus. Allows citation research and the search of impact factors of journals.
 

Get Citations

Web of Science

  • Connect to the database Web of Knowledge
  • Once you are in Web of Knowledge, click on the tab for "Web of Science"
  • In the middle of the search template, you will see a hyperlink for "Author Finder". Please click on it. You will then need to go through several steps:
  1. Enter author name: E.g. enter "Ho" as last name, "J" as first initial and "CM" as middle initials. Click on the "Next" button.
  2. Select author variant, and then click on the "Next" button.
  3. Select subject category: If the author's publications might fall under different subject disciplines, select all. And then, click on the Next button.
  4. Select institution: Tick those institutions which the author is or have been affiliated with. And then click on the "Finish Now" button.
  • Click on the "Create Citation Report" hyperlink. You will then get data such as number of publications, times cited and the h-index.

 

Scopus 

  1. Access Scopus
  2. Click on the "Author Search" tab.
  3. Enter the last name and the initials. E.g. "Ho" as last name, "J.C.M." as initial. Please also tick the checkbox for "Show exact matches".
  4. You may then see a list of authors with variant name formats. For the above example, you will find two author records. If you refer to the record which belongs to this author, and click on the "Details" link, you will find the citation analysis data, including the number of publications, times cited, h-index. E.g. For this author, there are 28 publications receiving 191 citations and the h-index is 9.

Note: As there may be publications by other authors with the same name, or variant forms of the same name, perhaps there are two things that you may wish to do at this stage:

  • To make sure that entries under variant author names are included in the analysis: Click open "Find unmatched authors" and check if there are other forms of this name. If there are entries that refer to this author, tick the checkbox against the entry. Then, click on the "Group with author" button. These publications will then be added to perform an aggregate analysis.
  • To make sure that all documents included have been written by this author and not by someone else under the same name: Click on the number against "Document". Go through the list and mark those which belong to this author. After this, click on the "Citation Tracker" button. A new analysis will be performed, and you will get a new figure for "Cited By' and h-index.

For more information, please contact your Faculty Librarian.

Your Science and Engineering Faculties Librarian

Profile Image
Nancy Chan
Contact Info
5/F, Main Library, University of Hong Kong,
Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong.
Phone: (852) 2219-4748
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip