Home
This is the "Images" page of the "Architecture, General Subject Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Architecture, General Subject Guides   Tags: architecture  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/archi Print Guide RSS Updates

Images Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Open Access Resources

Architecture.com : for the Royal Institute of British Architects is the website of the professional association of architects in the United Kingdom along with international members. Includes information on buildings with images, Sterling Prize, exhibitions, events and also directories of architects.

Cities/ buildings database is a searchable database archive of thousands of architectural photographs, depicting structures from all over the world.

Flickr Commons is a great way to find digital images of buildings and architecture especially there are more and more participating institutions. Getty Research Institute, the British Library and the Library of Congress are only a few of them in the list.

Photo collection (via MMIS, Hong Kong Public Libraries) includes old photos of Hong Kong covering historic buildings and street scenes dating back to the mid-19th century.

RIBApix provides images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects. It covers world architecture of all periods with subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts.

The great buildings collection is a gateway to architecture from around the world and across history. It documents hundreds of buildings and leading architects with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, plus commentaries, bibliographies, and web links, for famous designers and structures of all kinds."

 

Related Subject Headings

 

Library Subscribed Resources

ARTstor, a searchable database of more than 700,000 digital images covers many time periods and cultures, in the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

How to search

Go to Advanced Search and limit your search by geographical location, time period and/or by classification. The following classifiction might be useful for getting images related to architecture:

  • Architecture and City Planning
  • Decorative Arts, Utilitarian Objects and Interior Design
  • Garden and landscape

 

Oxford Art Online provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.

Pidgeon digital is the online version of the Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. This continuing archive, to which new talks are being added regularly, is a unique library of contemporary attitudes. Started in 1979 by Monica Pidgeon.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip