This is the "Databases" page of the "African Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African Studies  

Last Updated: Nov 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/africanstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Catalogues

 

Subject Specific Databases

20th century African-American poetry contains works by more than 100 poets, including Audre Lorde, Langston Hughes, Rita Dove, and emerging poets. Biographical profiles accompany each poet's work.

African-American poetry providesthe full text of almost 3,000 poems written between 1760 and 1900.

African writers series was established in 1962, with the aim of publishing works by black African authors for a general readership in newly independent African nations. It went on to become the principal publishing outlet for new African writing, covering mainly fiction, but also non-fiction, poetry and drama; all the major African authors of the post-independence period were published in the AWS, alongside new editions of classic earlier texts, important political writings, and new works by generations of young authors from the 1960s to the early 21st century.

Empire online. Section V, Race, class, imperialism and colonialism, 1607-2007 is part of Empire online, the electronic collection of material reproduced from manuscripts and printed sources reflecting the development of the British Empire. The material in this section reflects the shift in attitudes from the early colonial period to decolonisation, including attitudes towards and of indigenous cultures.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports 1941-1996 The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence"--Readex

JSTOR provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

Nineteenth century collections online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location. The archives of Europe and Africa: commerce, Christianity, civilization and conquest provides an in-depth look into the motivations, activities, and results of the European conquest of Africa in the nineteenth century.

Slavery, abolition and social justice, 1490-2007 documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

South Africa: the making of U.S. Policy, 1962-1989 is one of the sub unit inside the Digital National Security Archive database. These documents provides a contemporary record of changing U.S. responses to historical events in South Africa from 1962 to 1989, spanning from the arrest of Nelson Mandela to his release.

 

E-News Databases

AllAfrica.com posts over 1000 stories daily in English and French, as well offering a 900,000-article searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). This database aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources.

Factiva provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. 

ProQuest newspapers. International newsstand provides a collection of more than 700 of the world's top newspapers and wire feeds.

To view a complete list of E-News Collection, please click here.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip