Last Updated: Jan 4, 2015
- A dictionary of construction, surveying, and civil engineering
An A to Z of construction, surveying, and civil engineering terms covering all core aspects, this book provides a one-stop reference for construction students and professionals.
- A dictionary of space exploration
Includes feature entries, biographies of astronauts and scientists who have helped to push the frontiers of space exploration, and definitions of space industry jargon, such as cherry picker and burp firing. Essential reading for anyone with an interest in astronomy and space travel." "Features: over 2,000 entries and over 50 diagrams and photographs cover all aspects of space exploration; contains over 250 links to websites, for further reading; includes biographies of influential astronauts and scientists; detailed chronology charts every space mission.
- Electrical engineering dictionary
Offers the most complete, up-to-date, and authoritative electrical engineering lexicon available, and adds more than 1500 additional terms, bringing the coverage to more than 11,000 total terms.
- Encyclopedia of materials, parts, and finishes
Brings together in one concise volume the most up-to-date information on materials, forms and parts, finishes, and processes utilized in the industry. There is not a book currently on the market that incorporates so much materials information in one volume. The coverage of materials usage extends from military and aerospace materials to commercial (aircraft, automotive, electronics) and basic materials (wood, rubber, etc.).
- Encyclopedia of multimedia technology and networking
Provides hundreds of contributions from over 200 distinguished international experts, covering the most important issues, concepts, trends, and technologies in multimedia technology. This must-have reference contains over 1,300 terms, definitions, and concepts, providing the deepest level of understanding of the field of multimedia technology and networking for academicians, researchers, and professionals worldwide.
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Polymers
Contains more than 7,500 polymeric material terms, including the names of chemicals, processes, formulae, and analytical methods that are used frequently in the polymer and engineering fields. In view of the evolving partnership between physical and life sciences, this title includes an appendix of biochemical and microbiological terms. Each succinct entry offers a broadly accessible definition as well as cross-references to related terms.
- The encyclopedia of materials : science and technology
Contains approximately 1800 articles covering all areas of materials science. Subject area covered: structural Materials (metals, ceramics, composites etc.), functional materials (electronic, optical, magnetic materials etc.), structural Phenomena (fatigue, fracture, wear etc.), functional phenomena (magnetism, superconductivity, electrontransport, uminescence etc), polymers, materials chemistry, general and fundamental material science.
- The Oxford encyclopedia of maritime history
Covers the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today. Over nine hundred articles written by leading historians examine all aspects of maritime history, including naval history, shipbuilding, biographies of major figures, navigation and scientific instrumentation, maritime art and literature, commerce and economics, and international law.
5/F, Main Library, University of Hong Kong,
Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong.
Phone: (852) 2219-4748Send Email