This is the "Articles" page of the "Urban Planning" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Urban Planning  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/urbanplanning Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Top Journals in Urban Studies

Rank Journal title Impact factor
1 Landscape and urban planning 3.654
2 Journal of urban planning and development 2.246
3 Journal of urban economics 2.121
4 European urban and regional studies 2.078
5 Cities 2.051
6 Habitat international 2.029
7 Urban forestry & urban greening 2.006
8 Urban studies 1.934
9 International journal of urban and regional research 1.868
10 Journal of planning literature 1.765
11 Housing policy debate 1.540
12 Environment and urbanization 1.515
13 Urban geography 1.322
14 Housing studies 1.309
15 The Journal of urban technology 1.234
16 Journal of the American Planning Association 1.143
17 City & Community 1.079
18 European planning studies 1.056
19 Journal of planning education and research 1.051
20 Journal of housing economics 1.035
21 Housing, theory and society 1.024
22 Regional science and urban economics 1.024
23 Economic development quarterly 1.000
24 Journal of contemporary ethnography 1.000
25 Urban affairs review 0.933
26 International regional science review 0.917
27 Urban policy and research 0.896
28 Journal of urban affairs 0.889
29 Real estate economics 0.869
30 Urban education 0.869
31 Journal of Housing and the Built Environment 0.810
32 The Journal of real estate finance and economics 0.698
33 Education and urban society 0.444
34 Journal of architectural and planning research 0.359
35 EURE, revista latinoamericana de estudios urbano regionales 0.303
36 Urban design international 0.262
37 Journal of urban history 0.178
38 Open house international 0.149
39 The urban lawyer 0.148

Source: Extracted from ISI Journal Citation Reports, 2015 JCR Social Science Edition

European urban and regional studies
 

Related Databases

LandScan global population database Updated annually, LandScan is a population dataset developed by the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. It uses spatial data and imagery analysis technologies and a multi-variable dasymetric modeling approach to disaggregate census counts within an administrative boundary. It is the finest resolution global population distribution data available and represents an ambient population (average over 24 hours).

OECDiLibrary The publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of three sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, and Statistics. OECD, based in Paris, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres.

Web CEIC data manager Contains macro economic data. Includes national accounts, production and productivity, sales, orders, inventories and shipments, construction and properties, government finance and debt, labour market, consumer, inflation, monetary, interest rates and FOREX, investment, price, tourism, economic surveys, transport and telecommunication, financial and capital market etc. Times-series can be directly retrieved from the database and imported into Excel for quick analysis.

 

Subject Specific Databases

Avery index to architectural periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.

Construction & building abstracts the premier source of civil engineering and building journal abstracts on the web, over 115 top worldwide journals are scanned, covering a wide range of subjects including: civil, structural, mechanical and electrical engineering; architecture; planning; building and the built environment; materials and energy. The total number of articles indexed is over 100,000, dating back to 1985.

Environmental science and pollution management covers abstracts and citations for environmental sciences from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Geobase provides bibliographic information and abstracts for development studies, earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography from almost 2,000 international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications. The years cover from 1980 to present.

GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. It collects scholarly, government and general-interest titles.

ICONDA : the CIB international construction database the bibliographic database of the International Council for Building Research, Studies, and Documentation (CIB), covers the worldwide literature on all areas of building construction, civil engineering, architecture, and town planning.

PAIS contains journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content on issues in the public debate. From 1972 to present.

Sage journals online A searchable database for abstracts and table of contents of all Sage published journals. Also provide full text access to the subscribed titles. To get articles on urban planning, limit your search to Select from a list of disciplines > Social sciences and humanities > Urban studies and planning.

Sustainability science abstracts explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Coverage includes relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals, summarized materials from conference proceedings and gray literature.

 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more. Also offers full text for over 1,000 journals with many dating back to 1990. Includes coverage of over 1,700 peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR Provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

ProQuest includes periodicals and newspapers articles from over 5,000 publications in various subject disciplines, with many in full text.

ScienceDirect is a database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. It also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines.

 

E-News Databases

Factiva provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.

Hong Kong newspaper clippings online provides full-text image from the original set of newspaper clippings compiled for the Department of Political Science by Dr. Norman Miners. The database comprises more than 150,000 images covering the early 1970s to 1994. Most of the topics are related to politics and government in Hong Kong and materials were primarily gathered from the South China Morning Post and the Hong Kong Standard.

WiseNews is a database of full-text newspaper clippings with search capabilities. Hong Kong newspapers cover 1998 onwards. China, Taiwan and Macau's newspapers cover from 2000.

To view a complete list of E-News Collection, please click here.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip