In-depth reference materialsLooking for concise informationOpera and Musical
DisciplinaryJournal articles in ChineseInterdisciplinary
Listening and Viewing OnlineCDs / DVDs
Introduction to Arts Administration
Film Music
Music and the Mind
World Music
Beethoven facsimiles
Brahms facsimiles
Novels & biographical novels about Music & Musicians
Topics in Western Music History I
Fundamentals of Tonal Music
Jazz: History and Appreciation
Popular Music
The Opera
Rare Scores
Schubert facsimiles
Mozart facsimiles
Bartók, Béla 1888-1945Debussy, Claude 1862-1918Falla, Manuel de 1876-1946Mahler, Gustav 1860-1911Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus 1756-1791Porter, Cole 1891-1964Puccini, Giacomo 1858-1924Schoenberg, Arnold 1874-1951Shostakovich, Dmitri 1906-1975Sondheim, Stephen 1930-Strauss, Richard 1864-1949Weill, Kurt 1900-1950
Topics in Western Music History III
Exhibition - musical notationsMusic and TranslationMusic and CalligraphySinging in the Music Library
e-books
e-journalse-journals with BrowZine
GuqinGuqin BooksGuqin ScoresAudiovisual materials
This is the "Guqin" page of the "MUSIC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUSIC   Tags: music  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Guqin Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to GuQin

Guqin, a seven-string zither, is an important cultural heritage of China. It is regarded as the sole instrument for the literati to nurture its personality in ancient Chinese society. The Music Library has a fine collection of guqin books, scores, CDs and DVDs. 

 

Journal articles

English

Asian Music

~ Print 1969-1990 in Storage

           1990- in Music Library, Music Serials [S 780. A83 M9]

~ Online coverage: via JSTOR 1968 up to 5 years back from latest is issued

                            published

                            via IIMP FullText Vol. 34, no. 1 (fall 2002/winter 2003)-
                            v.37, no. 2 (summer-fall 2006) ; v.39, no.1 (winter-spring

                            2008) Delay 12 months

                            via ProQuest 2002- delay 1 year

 

Musical Quarterly

~ Print 1915-1957 Index in Storage

           1953-55; 1982-1990 in Storage

           1991-2006 in Music Library, Music Serials [S 780 M98 Q2]

~ Online coverage: via JSTOR 1915-1999

                            via Oxford Journals 1996-

 

British Journal of Ethnomusicology

~ Print 2000-2003 in Music Library, Music Serials [S 780.89 B86 J8 E]

~ Online coverage: via JSTOR 1992-2003

 

Ethnomusicology Forum

~ Print 2004-2009 in Music Library, Music Serials [S 780.89 B86 J8 E]

~ Online coverage: via Academic Premier 2004- delay 12 months

                            via JSTOR 2004 up to 5 years back from latest issue

                            published

                            via Taylor & Francis ejournals 1997-

 

Yearbook for Traditional Music

~ Print 1969-1990 in Storage

           1991-2008 in Music Library, Music Serials [S 780 Y3 T7]

~ Online coverage: via JSTOR 1981 up to 4 years back from latest issue

                            published

                            via IIMP FullText 2001-

 

Ethnomusicology

~ Print 1953-1990 in Storage

           1991- in Music Library, Music Serials [S 780 E84]

~ Online coverage: via ProQuest 1998-2001 

                            via JSTOR 1953 up to 4 years back from latest issue

                            published

                            via IIMP FullText 1998-2003

 

CHIME

~ Print 1990-2005 in Music Library, Music Serials [S 780.951 C53]

 

Chinese

 Looking for journal articles in Chinese...

 

 

Theses & Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I (since 1861) is the most comprehensive source of its kind. It offers abstracts, citations and 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

 

Digital Dissertation Consortium (since 2001) provides abstracts, citations and full-text dissertations.

 

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

English

   Grove Music Online comprises New Grove Dictionary
   of Music & Musicians (2001), New Grove Dictionary of
   Opera (1992) and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002),
   which provide scholarly articles and biographies. These
   are considered the most authoritative reference materials

   for its full-text scholarly writings and bibliographies.

    New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001)

    See Volume 5: China

    Call number: MuR 780.3 G88

                                    Location: at the back of the Reserve Collection

 

   The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music provides

   full-length scholarly articles.

   See Volume 7: East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea

   Lib Use Only: Call number: MuR 780.9 G23 N4

   For loan: Call number: Music 780.9 G23 N4

   For the accompanying CDs of musical examples, search
   at Find@HKUL



Chinese

   Zhongguo da bai ke quan shu zong bian ji wei yuan hui.

   Zhongguo da bai ke quan shu. Yin yue, wu dao.

   Beijing: Zhongguo dabaike quanshu chubanshe, 1992.

   Call number: [R] AE17 .C48 and ebook 







   Zhongguo yi shu yan jiu yuan.

   Zhongguo yin yue ci dian. Xu bian.

   Beijing: Renmin yinyue chubanshe, 1992.

   Call number: [音R] ML101.C5 C8 1992 and ebook






   Zhongguo yi shu yan jiu yuan.

   Zhongguo yin yue ci dian.

   Beijing: Renmin yinyue chubanshe, 1984.

   Cal number: [音R] ML101.C5 C6 1984






 

How to cite your sources

When you cite resources properly, readers can follow your thoughts and your meticulous research work is shown as well. There are some citation styles and you may wish to seek your professor’s preference before getting started. Once you have chosen a style, it is important to be consistent. 

     

   

   The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed.

   Call number: MuR 808.0270973 C53

   For online version, the Quick Guide features two basic documentation systems: 1. notes & bibliography 2. author-date.

 

Other citation styles, e.g. APA, MLA

How to Cite Film, Video and Online Media (from UC Berkeley)

How to Cite Miscellaneous Sources: Music or Sound Recording (from the Yale Writing Center)

 

How to write

  

   Irvine’s writing about music. 3rd ed.

   Call number: MuR 780.72 I72 W9

   Online version

 

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip