In-depth reference materialsLooking for concise informationOpera and Musical
DisciplinaryJournal articles in ChineseInterdisciplinary
Listening and Viewing OnlineCDs / DVDs
Introduction to Arts Administration
Film Music
Music and the Mind
World Music
Beethoven facsimiles
Brahms facsimiles
Novels & biographical novels about Music & Musicians
Topics in Western Music History I
Fundamentals of Tonal Music
Jazz: History and Appreciation
Popular Music
The Opera
Rare Scores
Schubert facsimiles
Mozart facsimiles
Bartók, Béla 1888-1945Debussy, Claude 1862-1918Falla, Manuel de 1876-1946Mahler, Gustav 1860-1911Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus 1756-1791Porter, Cole 1891-1964Puccini, Giacomo 1858-1924Schoenberg, Arnold 1874-1951Shostakovich, Dmitri 1906-1975Sondheim, Stephen 1930-Strauss, Richard 1864-1949Weill, Kurt 1900-1950
Topics in Western Music History III
Exhibition - musical notationsMusic and TranslationMusic and CalligraphySinging in the Music Library
e-journalse-journals with BrowZine
GuqinGuqin BooksGuqin ScoresAudiovisual materials
This is the "Mozart facsimiles" page of the "MUSIC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUSIC   Tags: music  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Mozart facsimiles Print Page

Mozart facsimiles

Die Zauberflöte: eine deutsche oper in zwei aufzügen, KV620.

Kassel: Bärenreiter,1979.

Call Number: MuR 782.1 M93 z3 B score  

Introduction by Karl-Heinz Köhler (translated by George Baurley)

“Reproduction of the score, as was customary in those times, was by means of handwritten copies.The first printed score dates from 1814. …That original is now reproduced in facsimile in its complete form for the first time.”  ~ Karl-Heinz Köhler

The Mozart violin concerti: a facsimile edition of the autographs.

New York: Raven Press,1986.

Call Number: MuR 785.671 M93 c6v score

Autographs include Concerto No. 1 in B Flat, K. 207; Concerto No. 2 in D, K.211; Concerto No. 3 in G,

K.216; Concerto No. 4 in D, K.218; Concerto No. 5 in A, K.219; Adagio in E, K. 261; and Rondo in B Flat, K. 261a.

Mozart and the Violin by Gabriel Banat, p7-18.

Introduction to the autographs by Gabriel Banat, p19-28.  

“Today’s musicians face serious problems in their efforts to play 18th century music true to the original intentions of the composer….Subsequent generations of editors aggravated these problems with errors or willful alterations of the original.” ~ Gabriel Banat 

Piano concerto no. 26 in D major, K.537: Coronation: the autograph score.

New York: Pierpont Morgan Library in association with Dover Publications,1991.

Call Number: MuR 784.262 M93 c7 T score

Introduction by Alan Tyson

“The “CORONATION” was one of Mozart’s last piano concertos, the penultimate one that he wrote. … … The   manuscript also reveals Mozart’s late decision to add to the score two trumpets in D and two timpani in D and A in the first movement and the finale. Although every leaf of the autograph has twelve staves, it is clear that through much of its composition Mozart needed only ten staves, writing his score on staves 2-11 of each page and leaving staves 1 and 12 blank. ” ~ Alan Tyson   

Così fan tutte, ossia, La scuola degli amanti : K. 588 : facsimile of the autograph score

Los Altos, Calif. : Packard Humanities Institute, 2007.                                                                                                    

Kassel : Distributed in conjunction with Bärenreiter

Call Number: MuR 782.1 M93 c8 P1  v.1 score ; v. 2 score; commentary                                                                      

Volume 1. Act 1  /  Volume 2. Act 2  /   Volume 3. Commentary

Preface by Geleitwort

‘Toying with the Emotions: Da Ponte's and Mozart's school of lovers’ by Norbert Miller

‘Musicological introduction’ by John A. Rice

‘First version of the libretto for the Vienna premiere on 26 January 1790 (Italian). Illustrations.

Note on the autograph and watermarks.

Gathering structure and contents of the autograph.

In English and German

Eine kleine Nachtmusik: KV 525. Kassel: Bärenreiter-Verlag.

Kassel : Bärenreiter-Verlag, 2013.

Call Number: MuR 785.71951856 M93 k6  score  

Introduction by Wolfgang Rehm (translated by William Buchanan)

“Arrangement of the seven uncut leaves, in loose order and without any signs of binding, … … . On the first page of the manuscript, Mozart gave no title for the work, nor did he supply a date or indicate his authorship.” ~  Wolfgang Rehm

Klavierkonzert c-Moll, KV 491: Autograph, Royal College of Music, London.

Kassel: Bärenreiter, 2014.

Call Number: MuR 784.262186 M93 c7 K491 score

Preface by Colin Lawson

Introduction & Critical Notes by Robert D. Levin

“…the C-minor concerto is unique in presenting a visual image as disturbed as the emotional content of the work  itself. … In this case of K.491, the disorderly notation primarily affects the solo keyboard part, in which  considerable amount of the concerto is sketched and later overwritten; as the facsimile reveals, the piano part frequently overflows into the stave above, …” ~ Robert D. Levin 

Violinkonzert A-Dur, KV 219 = Concerto di violino : Faksimile nach dem Autograph aus den Sammlungen der Musikabteilung der Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. = Facsimile of the autograph from the collections of the Music Division, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

Laaber: Laaber Verlag, 2016.

Call Number: MuR 784.272 M93 c7 K219 

In English and German

Introduction by Stefan Drees

Translated by William Buchanan 

 “The autograph of Mozart’s Violin concerto in A major KV 219 published in the present facsimile edition, kept in the Music Division of the Library of Congress in Washington D.C. under the signature ML30.8b .M8 K.219 case, consists of 46 leaves (fol. 1 to 46) with 92 inscribed pages. …” ~ Stefan Drees

 Sinfonie Nr. 38 KV 504 ("Prager" Sinfonie): Faksimile nach dem Autograph der Biblioteka Jagiellonska Krakow. 

Laaber: Laaber Verlag, 2016.

Call Number: MuR 784.2184 M93 s9 K504  

In English and German

Introduction by Ulrich Konrad

Translated by William Buchanan

“… the autograph’s whereabouts remained a mystery for decades. In 1848, the manuscript found itself in the possession of the Moravian singer and collector of musicalia, Franz Hauser, at the time active at the Royal Conservatory in Munich. He appears to have passed it on to the Augsburg bookseller Fidelis Butsch, in whose hands it can be shown to have been in 1851. Ten year later, Franz Liszt in Weimar had the pleasure of keeping this valuable possession before the autography entered the collection of the Royal Library in Berlin…”   ~ Ulrich Konrad

Klavierkonzert Es-Dur KV 271: “Jenamy”: Faksimile nach dem Autograph der Biblioteka Jagiellońska Kraków

Laaber: Figaro-Verlag, 2017.  

Call Number: MuR 786.2186 M93 c7 K271 

The Piano Concerto No. 9 “Jenamy” in E-flat major

In English and German

Introduction by Ulrich Konrad

Translated by William Buchanan

 “Mozart kept the autography of the “Jenamy” concerto in his collection of manuscripts throughout his life. It was part of his estate, and came to Leipzig for a short time towards the end of the 18thcentury when the publishers … …”



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791)

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians via Grove Music Online

The Oxford Dictionary of Music 


Loading  Loading...