In-depth reference materialsLooking for concise informationOpera and Musical
DisciplinaryJournal articles in ChineseInterdisciplinary
Listening and Viewing OnlineCDs / DVDs
Introduction to Arts Administration
Film Music
Music and the Mind
World Music
Beethoven facsimiles
Brahms facsimiles
Novels & biographical novels about Music & Musicians
Topics in Western Music History I
Fundamentals of Tonal Music
Jazz: History and Appreciation
Popular Music
The Opera
Rare Scores
Schubert facsimiles
Mozart facsimiles
Topics in Western Music History III
e-books
e-journalse-journals with BrowZine
GuQin
GuQin BooksGuQin ScoresAudiovisual materials
This is the "Popular Music" page of the "MUSIC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUSIC   Tags: music  

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Popular Music Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

   Brabazon, Tara. 

   Popular music: topics, trends & trajectories.

   Los Angeles: Sage, 2012.

   Call number: Music 781.64 B79  

 

 

 

    Frith, Simon, Will Straw, and John Street.

   The Cambridge companion to pop and rock.

   New York: Cambridge University Press, 2001.

   Call number: Music 781.64 C17 F91 & ebook

     

 

 

   Longhurst, Brian.

   Popular music and society.

   Cambridge, UK: Polity, 2007.

   Call number: Music 781.64 L85 p8

 

 

     

   McQuinn, Julie. 

    Popular music and multimedia.

   Burlington, VT: Ashgate, 2011.

   Call number: Music 781.64154 P83 M

   

 

 

    Middleton, Richard.

    Reading pop: approaches to textual analysis in popular music.

    Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1999.

    Call number: Music 781.64 R287 M6

 

 

     

    Mitchell, Tony.

    Popular music and local identity: rock, pop, and rap in Europe and Oceania.

    London: Leicester University Press, 1996.

    Call number: Music 781.63 M68 p8

 

     

  

    Moore, Allan F.

    Analyzing popular music.

    Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2003.

    Call number: Music 781.64 A53 M8  & ebook

 

     

  

    Starr, Larry, and Christopher Alan Waterman.

    American popular music: the rock years.

    New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.

    Call number: Music 781.660973 S79

 

     

 

    Whiteley, Sheila, Andy Bennett, and Stan Hawkins.

    Music, space and place: popular music and cultural identity

    Aldershot, Hants, England: Ashgate, 2004.

    Call number: Music 781.6409 M98 W59

     

     

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Online access Print@ Music Library, Library Use Only

Grove Music Online

comprises New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), which provide scholarly articles and biographies. These are considered the most authoritative reference materials for its full-text scholarly writings and bibliographies.

 

 New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001)
 
 29 volumes
 
 Call number: MuR 780.3 G88
 
 Location: at the back of the Reserve Collection
 New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002)
 
 Call number: MuR 781.6503 N532 k
 
 3 volumes
 
 Location: Reference Collection 

 

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music provides full-length scholarly articles of the following continents.

            Volume 1 Africa 

            Volume 2 South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean

            Volume 3 The United States and Canada

            Volume 4 Southeast Asia

            Volume 5 South Asia: the Indian subcontinent

            Volume 6 The Middle East

            Volume 7 East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea

            Volume 8 Europe

            Volume 9 Australia and the Pacific Islands

            Volume 10 The world's music: general perspectives and reference tools

Call number: MuR 780.9 G23 N4

Location: Reference Collection

For the accompanying CDs of musical examples, search at Find@HKUL

 

Encyclopedia of Popular Music features topics of jazz, rap and techno. Entries of biographies and groups include record labels, release dates and a 5-star album rating system for reference.

Call number: MuR 781.6403 E56

10 volumes 

Location: Reference Collection

 

Online databases

Music Periodicals Database

Strengths

Content coverage

How to get full-text

articles and citations?

 

  • Scholarly full-text articles
  • 1st choice, if looking for popular music or world music
  • You can search and browse the contents of a specific journal, e.g. The Journal of the American Musicological Society (1948- ).

 

 

  • Click on the following icons on result pages for full-text articles.
     
     
     
  • Below icon allows you to choose your desired citation styles, e.g. Chicago or APA.      

     

Year coverage: 1874-present

allows you to track down full-text articles at HKU Libraries

 

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Online

Strengths

Content coverage

How to get full text

articles and citations?

 

  • Features citations, abstracts, scholarly articles, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and reviews.
  • Languages include English, European and others

 

  • You can also search a specific journal. Type a journal title in the box of Publication. All results related to the journal will be displayed in result pages.

 

 

 

  

 

Click on the following icons on result pages for full-text articles.     

 

Below icon leads you to choose your desired citation styles, e.g. Chicago or APA.      

Year coverage: 1967-present  

 allows you to track down full-text articles at HKU Libraries

 

Music Index Online

Strengths

Content coverage

How to get full-text

articles and citations?

 

  • Contains full-text articles, book reviews, obituaries and magazines
  • Good for non-scholarly articles 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click on the following icons on result pages for full-text articles.    

 

 

Below icon leads you to choose your desired citation styles, e.g. Chicago or APA.      

Year coverage: 1970-present

 allows you to track down full-text articles at HKU Libraries

 

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Online and Music Index Online are provided by the same vendor. You can search these two databases simultaneously.

The route: Choose Databases > Select either one > OK

 

Journals

   Asian music "is publishing all aspects of the performing arts of Asia and their cultural context." 

   ~ Print: v.1 (1969)-v.21 (1990) v.22 (1991)-v.36 (2005); v.37, no.1 (2006); v.38 (2007)-Summer- Fall 2014 v.45 no.2 

   ~ Online: via IIMP FullText Vol. 34, no. 1 (fall 2002/winter 2003)-v.37, no. 2 (summer-fall 2006); v.39, no.1 (winter-spring 2008) Delay 12                   months

                  via JSTOR v.1 (1968) up to 5 years back from latest issue published 

                  via ProQuest  v.34, no.1 (fall 2002/2003) Delay 1 year

 

   Ethno-musicology “features scholarly articles representing theoretical perspectives and research in ethnomusicology and related fields,    as well as book, sound recording, film, video, and multimedia reviews.”

 

    ~ Print: v.1 (1953) –

   

    ~ Online: via ProQuest v.42, no.2 (1998)-v.45, no.3 (2001)

 

                   via IIMP FullText v.42, no.3 (fall 1998)-v.47, no. 3 (fall 2003)

 

      via JSTOR v.1 (1953) up to 4 years back from latest issue published

 

 

   Journal of the American Musicological Society (JAMS) “covers from historical musicology, critical theory, music analysis, iconography    and organology, to performance practice, aesthetics and hermeneutics, ethnomusicology, gender and sexuality, popular music and    cultural studies.”

   ~ Print: v.1 (1948)- v.54 (2001); v.56 (2003)-v.60 (2007)

   ~ Online: via JSTOR v.1 (1948)-

                   via ProQuest v.54, no.3 (2001)-v.65, no.3 (2012)

                   via IIMP FullText Vol.1, no.1 (spring 1948)-v.48, no.3 (fall 1995); v.54, no.3 (fall 2001)-v.65, no.3 (fall 2012)

 

   Journal of Popular Music Studies “features work on popular music in its historical, cultural, aesthetic, and political registers. The journal is    also concerned with such issues as popular music’s intersections with other arts, its relationships with old and new media, and its status    as a field of research and critical writing.”

   ~ Print: v.14 (2002); v.15, no.2 (2002)-v.20 (2008)

   ~ Online: v.21 (2009)-

 

 

 

   Popular music "is an international multi-disciplinary journal covering all aspects of the subject - from the formation of social group    identities through popular music, to the workings of the global music industry, to how particular pieces of music are put together. The    journal includes all  kinds of popular music, whether rap or rai, jazz or rock, from any historical era and any geographical location."

   ~ Print: v.1 (1981)-v.6 (1987); v.10 (1991)-v.27 (2008)

   ~ Online: via Cambridge Journals Online v.19, no.1 (Jan 2000)-

                   via JSTOR v.1 (1981) up to 5 years back from latest issue published

                   via IIMP FullText v.20 (2001)-

                                                via ProQuest v.20, no.1 (2001)- Delay 1 year

 

Popular music history "publishes original historical and historiographical research that draws on the wide range of disciplines and intellectual trajectories that have contributed to the establishment of popular music studies as a recognized academic enterprise."

~ Online: via v.1, no.1 (April 2004) - Delay 3 months

 

Popular Musicology Online (PMO) "is a refereed academic journal with an international advisory panel of leading popular musicologists. Intended for all scholars of popular music, whatever their discipline, PMO offers its readers a stimulating window on some of the most pioneering work taking place in the fastest growing area of music research."

~ Online: via Open access journal

 

   Popular music and society "covers music of any genre, time period, or geographic location and use any methodology or approach."

   ~ Print: v.20, no.3 (1996)-v.29 (2006); v.30, no.3 (2007)-v.30, no.5 (2007); v.31, no.2 (2008)-v.31, no.5 (2008)

   ~ Online: via ProQuest v.20, no.4 (1996)-v.30, no.5 (2007)

                   via Academic Premier v.20, no.4 (winter 1996) - Delay 6 months

                   via IIMP FullText v.20, no.4 (winter 1996)-v.30, no.5 (Dec. 2007)

                   via Taylor & Francis ejournals v.1 (1971)-v.31 (2008)

                                                via Factiva Jan. 1997-Apr. 2000

 

 

e-News

  
Wisenews provides full-text newspaper clippings of music events and performances in Hong Kong, Macau and the Mainland China since 1998, in English and Chinese.  
 
ProQuest newspapers. International newsstand is a collection of more than 700 of the world's top newspapers and wire feeds.

 

 

Theses & Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I (since 1861) is the most comprehensive source of its kind. It offers abstracts, citations and 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Digital Dissertation Consortium (since 2001) provides abstracts, citations and full-text dissertations.

 

Listening and Viewing Online

Naxos Music Library has classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.

Contemporary world music highlights the sounds of all regions from every continent.

Jazz music library features albums of jazz artists and ensembles.

 

How to cite your sources

When you cite resources properly, readers can follow your thoughts and your meticulous research work is shown as well. There are some citation styles and you may wish to seek your professor’s preference before getting started. Once you have chosen a style, it is important to be consistent.

  

    The MLA style manual. 
   
   Call number: Music 808.027 A17
 
   Location: Music Library
   
  An online version is here for quick reference. 

 

 

How to cite Videos and YouTube in MLA style (from Boise State University)  

 

   The Chicago Manual of Style, 16thed.

   Call number: MuR 808.0270973 C53

   For an online version, the Quick Guide features two basic documentation systems:
   1. notes & bibliography
   2. author-date.

 

 

 

   Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6thed.

   Call number: MuR 808.06615 P9 

   An online version is here for quick reference.

   

   

   

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip